PORTAGE TOWNSHIP - ITS ORIGIN - ELEVATION - STREAMS - POPULATION AND ASSESSMENT - FAMILIES RESIDENT IN 1859 - ELECTIONS, 1861.
SIZERVILLE - A HISTORIC PLACE - SALT WORKS - HOTELS - FIRES - CEMETERY ASSOCIATION - CONCLUSION.
JOHN ARTHUR is owner of a foundry and machine shops in Emporium, and of a like establishment in Williamsport, in same State. At present he is residing in the former place, superintending his business. Mr. Arthur was born in Scotland, August 20, 1819, and is a son of William and Elizabeth (McConochy) Arthur, former of whom died in Scotland in 1835. He is the youngest child in the family, and until his twenty-first year lived in Scotland, where he received his education, subsequently learned the blacksmith's trade, and in 1839 came to the United States. He worked for some time in New York and Philadelphia, and then moved into Bradford county, Penn., where he plied his trade until 1865, in which year he went to Williamsport, and there established his foundry, which was a successful venture. Mr. Arthur's stay in Emporium is only temporary, as his son will before long take charge of the shops and foundry, which were built in 1887. Mr. Arthur was married in Bradford county, Penn., in 1842, to Nancy A., daughter of William and Nancy (Smith) Knapp, natives of New York State, and of English origin. Mr. and Mrs. Arthur have four sons and one daughter now living: Elizabeth, wife of C.K. Whiting; William, a blacksmith; Lawrence, John and Oscar, mechanics, the last named of whom superintends the Williamsport foundry. Mr. Arthur has been for fifteen years a trustee of the Presbyterian Church, of which he and his wife are members. In politics he is a Republican, and is now a member of the town council of Williamsport.
HENRY AUCHU, lumber jobber and sawmill superintendent, Emporium, was born in Portneuf county, Canada East, November 16, 1843, and is a son of Peter and Luella (Luckey) Auchu, who were natives of France. He is the eldest of seven children, and was reared in Canada, where he chose his present occupation. Mr. Auchu located in Williamsport, Penn., in 1867, and resided there until 1883, when he came to Emporium, where he has since taken extensive lumber contracts, meeting with merited success. He was married in Williamsport, in 1874, to Cordelia, a native of Williamsport, and daughter of William and Ellen (Treon) Hartman, the former born at Williams-port, and the latter at Muncy, Penn., and the union has been blessed with four children: Jennie, Willie, Hattie and Edna. Mr. Auchu is in politics a Republican, in religion a Catholic, and is counted one of Emporium's best citizens.
G. F. BALCOM, of the firm of Balcom & Lloyd, dealers in general merchandise, Emporium, was born in Calais, Me., June 5, 1847, and is the son of J.E. and Sarah (Beady) Balcom, both, of whom were natives of Nova Scotia, of English descent, and who moved into the State of Maine in 1846; the father was a carpenter and farmer. G.F. Balcom, who is the third in a family of four children, resided with his parents at Calais until he was seventeen years of age, when he left home and came to Cameron county. Mr. Balcom worked at farming and lumbering, and was for ten years with the firm of J.W. Cochran & Brother. In 1884 he started in business as a merchant, an occupation he still continues. Mr. Balcom was married in New York State, March 16, 1884, to Miss Sarah M., daughter of James Fenton, and a native of New York, of English origin. They have one child, George Waldo. In politics Mr. Balcom is a Republican, and served as burgess of Emporium. He is a member of Emporium Lodge, No. 382, F. & A.M., and chapter, and of the I.O.O.F. and A.O.U.W.
EUGENE ORVILLE BARDWELL, M.D., Emporium, was born in Warren county, Penn., March 12, 1854. His father, R.R.C. Bardwell, also a physician, was a native of Yates county, N.Y., and was of Quaker descent. He married Mary Browne, of English and German parentage, and their eldest child was Dr. E.O. Bardwell, the subject of this sketch. There were four other children as issue to this marriage, one of whom died in infancy. The family moved to Penn Yan, N.Y., when Eugene was but three years old, and it was there that he received his early education. At the age of eleven he entered the Penn Yan Academy as a student, and passed the Regent's examination of the State of New York at the age of twelve, an unusually early period in life for one to attempt, let alone pass, this difficult probing into one's knowledge by the faculty of an institution which is noted throughout the State for its high standard of marking in studies. In February, 1879, he completed his course in the medical department of the University of Buffalo, graduating, as the Dean of the College expressed it, cum laude. In April of the same year the Doctor began active practice at Emporium, Penn., where, by his skill, he soon won a large clientage. He was made secretary of Cameron County Medical Society not long after his arrival in Emporium, and in 1880 he was elected coroner by a phenomenal majority, the head of the ticket being defeated. In 1882 the Doctor was sent as a delegate to the Pennsylvania State Medical Society, of which he was made a member. This society made him a member of the State District Board of Censors, and at its next meeting he was elected secretary, a position he held until he left the State. In 1883 he was sent as a delegate to the State Society from Elk County Medical Society, of which he was at the time vice-president. In the year 1884, Dr. Bardwell moved to Moline, Ill., where he practiced until called east by the serious illness of his father. While in Moline, Dr. Bardwell was made a member of the Iowa and Illinois Central Medical Association, of the Rock Island Medical Society, of the Davenport Academy of Natural Sciences, also secretary of the Moline Medical Society, and member of the staff and consulting physician at St. Mary's Hospital in the city of Rock Island. Dr. Bardwell is a member of the American Medical Association, and was appointed as a delegate to the Illinois State Medical Society while in Moline. During the fatal illness of Dr. R.R.C. Bardwell, his son remained in Penn Yan, and while there was made a member of Yates County Medical Society. Upon the death of Dr. Bardwell, Sr., in 1886, the subject of this sketch, at the earnest solicitation of prominent citizens of Emporium, returned to that place, and at once assumed a large and lucrative practice. Politically the Doctor is a Republican, and religiously a pronounced agnostic. On May 5, 1888, he was married to Miss Elizabeth Evans, of Emporium, a daughter of Hiram and Cynthia (Loder) Evans, both natives of this State, and of Quaker descent. The Doctor takes a particularly active interest in the fire department of Emporium. He was the first foreman of the Mountaineer Hose Company, the first uniformed company of the place, and to his skill in organization and drill, much of the department's efficiency is due. He resigned the position of foreman in January, 1889, to accept the place of chief engineer, which he has been compelled to give up owing to press of professional duties. A skillful physician and surgeon, and a live citizen, Dr. E.O. Bardwell is a man of advanced thought and liberal ideas, and is invariably in favor of those things which will inure to the benefit of his borough and county.
F. X. BLUMLE, brewer, Emporium, was born in Zeughaus, Wurtemberg, Germany, September 9, 1848, and is a son of Christian and Annie Mary Blumle, the former a gamekeeper in his native land. The subject of this sketch was the eldest in a family of eight children, and passed his boyhood in Germany, attending school until he was eighteen years old, when he came to America. In this country Mr. Blumle learned the brewing business, and has made that and farming the occupation of his life. He owns a farm of sixty-six acres in Shippen township, Cameron county, where he resides, and has cleared the land completely, it having been but little better than a wilderness in 1876. Mr. Blumle was married, in 1882, to Frances, daughter of Joseph and Annie Mary Sing, and also a native of Germany, the ceremony having been performed by Rev. Meagher, pastor of St. Mark's Church, Emporium. Their children are Anna M., Theresa Mary, Francis J., Helen J. and Agnes. The family Care members of the Catholic Church, Mr. Blumle being treasurer of the C.M.B.A. Politically he is a Democrat.
J. C. BONHAM, superintendent of the tannery at Emporium, is a gentleman well qualified to fill his responsible position. Since he took hold of the tannery the business has been in a flourishing condition. He was born in Campbell, Steuben Co., N.Y., August 1, 1846, and is the son of Charles D. and Mary (Goodwin) Bonham, both of whom were natives of New York State, and of French and English descent, respectively. The elder Mr. Bonham was a farmer and died in 1847. The subject of this sketch was the youngest of four children, and lived with his parents in early life, attending the Steuben schools and seminary, and for a time was a clerk in a store. It was in the year 1874 that he came to Emporium, and here he worked in different capacities in the tannery until 1878, when he was given his present position. He is interested with others in the coal trade, but devotes his time to the tannery. He was married in Steuben county, N.Y., in 1869, to Miss Clarrissa, daughter of Edward and Charlotte (Wall) Jessop. She is a native of New York and of English descent. Their children are Emma L. and Guy D. Mr. and Mrs. Bonham are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which he is a trustee. He belongs to the Select Knights, A.O.U.W.
HENRY L BURNS, capitalist and lumber dealer, Emporium, was born in Lancaster county, Penn., where he received his education and his first start in the lumber business, which has formed the main occupation of his life. Mr. Burns has met with good fortune in his lumber ventures, and has successfully speculated in other lines. He owns considerable real estate in Emporium, and in the county generally. In politics Mr. Burns is a Democrat, and he is a Master Mason.
C. L. BUTLER, carriage manufacturer, Emporium, was born in New Brunswick June 6, 1855; and is a son of Thomas Butler, a farmer. He is the eldest of eight children, and attended the common schools in his native place, where he also learned the carriage-making trade. Coming to the United States in 1884, Mr. Butler settled at Emporium, where he has since followed his trade, devoting most of his time, however, to repairing carriages. He was married at this place in 1886 to Helena, daughter of William and Catherine (Krug) Lewis, and of German descent. Mrs. Butler's father died in the Union army during the Civil war. Mr. Butler is a Republican. He attends with his wife, the Catholic Church, and is a member of the C.M.B.A.
J. M. CARD, dentist, Emporium, although not a pioneer of the place, has done much to improve the borough, having erected a substantial brick block and a number of other buildings. He was born in Orleans county, N.Y., November 9, 1854, and is a son of E.H. and Maria (Olds) Card, who were of English and Scotch descent, and natives of Massachusetts and New York, respectively. The father, who was a drover and shipper of cattle, died in 1860. Dr. Card is the second in a family of three children, and was reared in New York State, where he received his early education, afterward going to Kingston, Canada, where he studied dentistry, in which profession he graduated at the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario, at Toronto, in 1875. The Doctor has made dentistry his chief occupation in life, although at present controlling a notion store, where he carries a first-class line of goods. He has been a resident of Emporium since 1886, is a Republican in politics, a member of the Knights of Pythias and of the borough council. Dr. Card was married in Niagara county, N.Y., to Miss A. Griswold, a native of the State of New York, of English descent, a daughter of William and Sylvia (Nelson) Griswold, and they have two children, Florence and Jay M. Mr. and Mrs. Card attend the Methodist Episcopal Church.
J. W. COCHRAN, ex-associate judge, and one of the best known citizens of Emporium, is senior member of the firm of J.W. Cochran & Bro., extensive lumber dealers; also a member of the lumber firm of Payne, Cochran & Co., of Williamsport, Penn., and of the banking firm of Cochran, Payne & McCormick, Williamsport; also of the wholesale and retail firm of J.O. Brookbank & Co., of Driftwood, Penn. He was born in New Brunswick, Canada, August 3, 1842, and is the second eldest in the family of seven children of James and Mary (More), Cochran, who were of Scotch-Irish lineage, and the greater portion of whose lives were spent at Calais, Me., where the childhood and youth of their family were spent, and where they attended school. Judge Cochran moved to Williamsport, Penn., in 1862, where he worked by the month for a couple of years; then in 1866 he came to Cameron county, and here, in company with his brother, J. Henry, he embarked in the lumber business. The firm of J.W. Cochran & Bro. have taken more pine lumber from the mountains of Pennsylvania than any other firm, and they have employed as many as five and six hundred, men in their different lumber establishments. Judge Cochran has done much toward the improvement of Emporium, and has been eminently successful in business. He was married at Calais, Me., to Sarah A. Balcom, a native of that town, a daughter of James E. and Sarah A. (Beady) Balcom, former of whom was of English descent, latter of Yankee stock. To this union have been born six children, four of whom are now living: Joseph E., Mary E., Carrie E. and Percival Max. The Judge, in politics, is a Republican, and was a delegate to the Republican National Convention, in 1888, that nominated Benjamin Harrison. He has served as associate judge, county commissioner and school director. Judge Cochran attends the Episcopal Church, of which he is a vestryman. He is a Knight Templar.
BERNARD COYLE, proprietor of the Commercial House, Emporium, was born in Wyoming county, Penn., September 30, 1840, and is a son of Michael and Mary (Donohoe) Coyle, natives of Ireland. The father was a builder and railroad contractor, and died in Pennsylvania, leaving a family of ten children, all of whom are living. Bernard Coyle is the third child, and received his early education in the district schools of Wyoming county. At the age of twenty-two he bought an interest in a manufactory of shingles in Lycoming and Centre counties, and continued in this business until 1870, when he went into a hotel enterprise in the latter county, and there continued until 1885, when he came to Emporium and carried on his former occupation of hotel keeping. Mr. Coyle was married in 1864, at Williamsport, Penn., to Lena M., daughter of Peter and Sarah (Callahan) Cole, and of Scotch-Irish descent. Their children are Mary E., wife of Charles Seger, a merchant; John M. and George B., hotel clerks; Ella S. and Maggie B., who live at home. Mr. Coyle has served as vice-president of the C.M.B.A., and his family are members of the same association.
I. L. CRAVEN, lumberman, Emporium, was born in Lycoming county, Penn., December 16, 1830, a son of. Joseph and Sarah Craven, natives of New Jersey. He was educated in his native county and at Painted Post, N.Y., and after leaving school worked in a saw-mill until twenty years of age, when he came to Cameron county, Penn., where, two years later, he was employed by Mersean, More & Co., as overseer of their mills, and in 1879 entered the employ of F.H. Goodyear as overseer of his mills in Cameron and Potter counties. He has been prosperous, and now has a pleasant home in Emporium. He is a prominent man in his township, and has served ten years as justice of the peace. Mr. Craven was married August 30, 1856, to Miss Mary J. Taggart, of Emporium, daughter of George and Sarah Taggart, and they have had a family of four children: Olive I., at home; George A., who died aged sixteen years; Sarah A., wife of Daniel Goodwin, of Buffalo, N.Y.; and I.L., Jr., at home. Mr. Craven and his family are members of the Presbyterian Church.
J. M. DAVISON, merchant at Emporium, was born in Chambersburg, Penn., April 7, 1848, and is a son of H.B. and Esther E. (Schaubel) Davison, who were of Scotch-Irish and German descent, respectively, and natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. Davison, Sr., was a merchant and justice of the peace at Chambersburg for many years, dying there in 1880. His widow now lives at Emporium with her son, J.M. Davison, whose name heads this sketch. Mr. Davison, who is the third of four surviving children, received his education at the academy at Chambersburg. Learning the drug business, he followed it as a clerk for a period of ten years, when ill health caused him to change his occupation. Mr. Davison has been in Emporium since 1873, a period of sixteen years, four years of which time he was engaged in clerking; the past twelve years he has been engaged in business for himself, ten years in the stationery business, and two years in the coal trade, as the firm of J.M. Davison & Co. In politics Mr. Davison is a Republican, but is inclined to vote for men of principle rather than party. He is president of the Mountaineer Hose Company, and for eight years was the deputy postmaster at Emporium.
E. C. DAVISON, agent of the Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad at Emporium, was born in Chambersburg, Penn., May 30, 1855, and is a son of Hugh B. and Esther E. (Schaubel) Davison, who were natives of Franklin and Lancaster counties, Penn., and of Scotch-Irish and German-French descent, respectively. The father, a merchant and justice of the peace at Chambersburg, died there in 1880, leaving a widow and five children - four sons and one daughter. The youngest son is E.C. Davison, who attended the common schools in his native town, and afterward learned the printer's trade in the office of the Public Opinion, a newspaper at Chambersburg. He followed his trade and the occupation of bookkeeping for several years, coming to Emporium in 1878, where he was a clerk in the railroad office until 1880, at which time he was appointed the railroad company's agent, an office he has since held. Mr. Davison was married at Chambersburg, in 1879, to Carrie A., daughter of D.S. and Rebecca A. (Koontz) Fahnestoch, of Chambersburg. She is of German origin, and a member of the Reformed Church. They have two children: Ralph and Mary. Mr. Davison is a Republican in politics and a member of the school board.
HERBERT DAY, treasurer of the Emporium Tanning Company, Emporium, was born in Painted Post, Steuben Co., N.Y., July 21, 1860, and is a. son of John and Abbie (Lindley) Day, who were natives of Webster, Mass. The father, who for some years practiced law in Painted Post, Steuben Co., N.Y., now resides in Boston, whither he moved in 1886, after a residence with his family in Emporium of eighteen years. Herbert Day, who is the second son in a family of six children, was reared in his native county, attending there the common schools, and subsequently going to Lock Haven Normal School. Mr. Day was employed (with the exception of two years, when he was teller of the First National Bank at Emporium, and five months as book-keeper for J.O. Brookbank & Co., merchants, Driftwood, Penn.) from 1882 to 1886 as bookkeeper for the tanning company, and in 1888 he was made the company's treasurer. He was married at the home of the bride's parents, Friendship, N.Y., February 22, 1886, to Myrtle Kate, daughter of John and Rachel (Horner) Lord. Mrs. Day was born in Friendship, Allegany Co., N.Y., November 22, 1863. She is a member of the Baptist Church. Her parents reside at Friendship, N.Y., Mr. Lord being employed as bridge inspector on the New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad. Mr. and Mrs. Day have one child, Ethel Blanche. Mr. Day is a Republican, and a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Emporium.
W. H. DELONG, M.D., Emporium. The gentleman of whom this sketch is written, is the oldest practicing physician in Emporium, where he has a large clientage. He was born in Washington county, N.Y., July 17, 1840, and is the son of Daniel and Anna (Coon) DeLong, former of Irish and German stock, and latter of English. Both parents were natives of New York, the father, a farmer by occupation, dying in Herkimer county, that State, in 1875. It was in this county that the Doctor was brought up and received his earliest school training. His medical studies were prosecuted at Albany, N.Y., where he graduated, after a full course, in 1867. At the outbreak of the Civil war, Dr. DeLong enlisted in Company C, Eighteenth New York Volunteer Infantry, and served upon detached duties as a non-commissioned officer of the medical staff of the Tenth, Eighteenth and Twenty-fourth Army Corps, and while thus engaged he was wounded slightly in the left leg. At the expiration of his enlistment he returned to New York, and there resided until his removal to Pennsylvania, in 1868. It was not until 1873 that he made his home in Emporium, where he opened a drug store, and at the same time began the practice of his profession. His duties, however, as a physician soon occupying all his time, he relinquished his store. Since his graduation, Dr. DeLong has taken a special medical course. He is devotedly attached to his profession; is a member and ex-president of the Cameron County Medical Society, and belongs also to the State and American Medical Associations. He is surgeon of the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad, and United States examining surgeon and president of the Board of Pension Examiners, also holding the office of examiner for the E.A.U. In politics Dr. DeLong is a Republican, and in religion an Episcopalian, holding in that church the position of senior warden. He was married, January 27, 1867, to Miss Cordelia Maurer, a native of New York State, and of German descent.
REV. D. H. DENISON, pastor of the First Baptist Church in Emporium, was born in Chautauqua county, N.Y., April 12, 1848, and is a son of Harvey and Polly (Kline) Denison, natives of Vermont and. Pennsylvania, and of English and German origin, respectively. The father was a farmer, and with him the son lived until his eighteenth year, receiving such education as the graded school in the neighboring village afforded. This education has since been supplemented by instruction under private tutors, and by careful application to study on his part. Rev. D.H. Denison was married, in 1869, to Ellen, daughter of John and Rebeckah (Haugh) Messenger, and of German origin. They have had six children, of whom four survive: John Harvey, Guy K., Roy Ernest and Charles. Mr. Denison was converted in November, 1871, at Mayville, N.Y., and there united with the Methodist Church. He subsequently, after careful study of the Scriptures, was led to change his views regarding the ordinance of baptism, and severed his connection with the aforesaid church. He became the pastor of the First Baptist Church of Spartansburg, Penn., in 1881, continuing in that relation one year when he was called to the pastorate of the First Baptist Church of Townville, Penn. He served this .church very acceptably till 1884, when he received an unanimous call to become the pastor of the First Baptist Church of Jamestown, Penn., where he remained till he was called to his present field in Emporium, Penn., in 1888. He is a conscientious student, and his work as a Christian minister has been characterized by success.
JAMES S. DOUGLAS, merchant, Emporium, has made mercantile pursuits a success, a result that is largely due to his diligence and determination. He is courteous and obliging in his dealings, and carries one of the best assorted stocks in the county. Mr. Douglas was born in Lycoming county, Penn., August 24, 1857, and is a son of John and Phoebe (Tackaberry) Douglas, who were natives, respectively, of Ireland and Pennsylvania. The father was of Scotch parentage, a farmer by occupation, and died in Lycoming county; the mother was of Irish parentage, and also died in Lycoming county. James S. is the youngest but one of six children, and was reared upon a farm, attending the common schools, and finally the State Normal Institution. He taught for a time, and subsequently was engaged as a clerk in a dry goods store in Williamsport, Penn., coming to Emporium, Cameron county, in 1877, where he superintended a store for D.E. Olmsted, of Williamsport, for the space of three years. Mr. Douglas then went into business as a member of the firm of Edgcomb, Douglas & Co., but in 1885 the partnership was dissolved, and he has since been alone. He is ably assisted in his occupation by his wife, whose maiden name was Lena E. Youngs, a daughter of Matthew Youngs, of Ulysses, Potter Co., Penn., and whom he married in Emporium, August 13, 1881. They have one child, James Donald. Mr. and Mrs. Douglas are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the former having been a steward of the church, for two years. He is also assistant superintendent of the Sunday school. Mr. Douglas is not a politician, but votes the Republican ticket.
HENRY EDGCOMB, merchant, Emporium, was born at Hollis, Me., March 17, 1828, and is a son of James and Joanna (Davis) Edgcomb, both of whom were natives of Maine, and of English descent, the father by occupation a lumberman and farmer; they had a family of eight children, of whom the subject of this sketch is the eldest. Henry Edgcomb attended the common schools in his native State, and afterward went into the lumber business which occupied his attention until he was about fifty years of age. He came to Pennsylvania in 1864, and to Emporium in 1869, where he dealt in lumber until 1880, when he commenced mercantile pursuits, and has since met with success. Mr. Edgcomb was married in Maine, to Lucretia T., daughter of John Babcock, and of English descent. Their children were Clara (deceased), who was the wife of one Mullen, of Buffalo, N.Y., and Edith. Mrs. Edgcomb is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. Edgcomb is a Republican in politics, and is a Master Mason.
C. C. FAY, proprietor of the St. Charles Hotel, Emporium, was born in Essex county, N.Y., November 5, 1825. He was a son of Artemus and Susannah (White) Fay, who were natives of Vermont, and of English and Welsh descent, respectively. His father was a blacksmith and farmer, and died in the town of Saranac, in Clinton Co., Minn., in June, 1846. The gentleman of whom we are writing was the fifth in a family of eight children, and spent his early life on the farm. He attended the common schools, and when about eighteen years old he started in life for himself by working at whatever he could get to do. In 1856 he first embarked in the hotel business, and in 1859 he came to Cameron County, Penn., and opened a house in Emporium. For some time he was also interested in a sawmill, and in 1872 he built the St. Charles Hotel, which he now manages. Farming also claims his attention, and he possesses two hundred and fifty acres of land, seventy-five being cleared. Mr. Fay married, in 1849, Christina Vanornum, daughter of Edward Vanornum, and of German lineage. They have had three children, one of whom, Lida B., is now living. Mrs. Fay is a member of the Baptist Church. In politics Mr. Fay is a Republican, and has been a school director and a member of the town council.
JOSHUA PITT FELT, Emporium. As a living example of what a life of energy, indomitable perseverance and thorough business integrity can accomplish, the gentleman whose name heads this biographical memoir stands prominent among the worthy and progressive citizens of his adopted town and county. Mr. Felt is the eldest son of Eli Felt, a former influential citizen and well-known lumber merchant and capitalist of Emporium, who came to the place (which was then in McKean county, and called Shippen) in 1849. Eli Felt was, a native of Smyrna, Chenango Co., N.Y., born April 3, 1819, and on April 13, 1842, he was married in that town to Olive Talcott, a lady of English descent. The children born to this union were as follows: Joshua Pitt (the subject proper of this sketch), DeWitt (born June 2, 1847), Ida Adelaide (born June 23, 1850), Bessie Sarissa (born July 3, 1852), Olive Julia, born February 16, 1854), Eli Talcott (born June 8, - 1856) and Charles Henry (born November 8, 1860). After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Felt lived one year in Smyrna, and then moved to Big Flats, Chemung, Co., N.Y., where he carried on a lumber business, thence moving after a five years' residence to Dansville, Livingston Co., N.Y., and from there after a sojourn of one year to Shippen, now Emporium, where he engaged very extensively in the lumber business as narrated above. Here Mr. Felt built several houses, a large block of stores, and the first hotel in the place, known as the "Emporium House." In 1861 he removed to Philadelphia, in 1870 to Warrenton, N.C., and in 1880, to Raleigh, same State, where he departed this life, February 5, 1885. Joshua P. Felt was born in Big Flats, Chemung Co., N.Y., December 7, 1844, and when five years of age was brought by his parents to the town, in the growth of commercial and social progress of which he was destined to become a leading factor. He received a limited education at the schools of the place, and when seventeen years of age (in 1861) he accompanied his parents to Philadelphia, but soon thereafter returned to Emporium, and started out to earn his own living. At the age of nineteen, we find him in the capacity of contractor on the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad, at that time building, and a little later as the owner of the only hardware store in the county. His parents, however, induced him to sell this business and take an interest in, and the general management of, the, manufacture and introduction of a proprietary medicine, with headquarters at Philadelphia. This business proving distasteful to him, Mr. Felt withdrew from it, and in 1869 returned to Emporium, where he became interested in an extensive general merchandise store, and in a lumbering and milling business. The firm with which he at this time became connected did a very large and lucrative trade, but unfortunately made heavy purchases of real estate, considering such necessary for the further expansion of their business. Making only small payments thereon, the firm found themselves unable to contend against the great national panic of 1873, and had to succumb, the crash swallowing up all Mr. Felt's capital, and leaving him without a dollar in the world, and a wife and two small children to be cared for. But Mr. Felt was not one of those men who sit and bewail their loss, but cheerfully he went to work to redress his reverses. In the spring of 1874, we find him filling the position of manager of the "Emporium Mills," at that time a small country gristmill, which he soon had running to its fullest capacity, night and day, supplying the increasing demand for flour and feed. In 1877 he was present at the convention held in Buffalo of the National Millers' Association, of which he had become a member. In 1878 he bought an interest in an oil well then being drilled in the McKean county district, this State, which led to the development of a very large and paying territory. Mr. Felt, however, gave only a portion of his time to his oil interests, and in the course of about two years he sold out at a handsome profit. Realizing that it was necessary for the success of the grist-mill that it should be remodeled to conform to the most modern system, Mr. Felt purchased the property, in 1880, on favorable terms, and immediately commenced the work of enlarging and changing its methods to what was then known as "the gradual reduction system." This was followed, in 1883, by another enlarging of the premises and remodeling to "the full-roller system," which has proved a success in every way; and Mr. Felt takes great pride in being possessor of one of the most complete modern roller mills in Western Pennsylvania. Aside from his extensive milling plant, of which he is sole owner, Mr. Felt has one of the pleasantest homes in Emporium; has a fine winter residence and large full bearing orange grove in Emporia, Florida, besides a plantation of 1,500 acres (bought as an investment) in North Carolina. In the general prosperity of the borough of Emporium, Mr. Felt has taken an active part, being one of the first in organizing the water company, and being a director of and stockholder in the same. He assisted in starting the First National Bank, of which he is one of the principal stockholders and a director; took special and active interest in getting the "Cameron Iron & Coal Company" and the "Mankey Furniture Company" located in Emporium. He is a stockholder in the last named enterprise, and a director in the Pennsylvania "Millers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company." Mr. Felt was married May 24, 1869, to Alice E. Homer, and the names and dates of the birth of their children are as follows: Carl Lee (February 23, 1870), Jay Paul (July 26, 1872), Leon Rex (April 11, 1885), and Floyd Pitt (May 31, 1888). Mr. Felt is past master of Emporium Lodge, F. & A.M., and has a handsome regalia, presented to him by his lodge on the occasion of his retirement from the chair. He is past high priest of Emporium chapter, a member of Knapp Commandery, K.T., of Ridgway, Penn., of Adoniram Council, Williamsport, Penn., and of Caldwell Consistory Thirty-second degree, Scottish Rite, Bloomsburg, Penn.
DEWITT FELT, miller, Emporium, has spent the greater part of his life in that borough, his father, who died in 1885, having been, one of the pioneer settlers here, and having done in his lifetime a great deal to advance the interests of the place. The mother of DeWitt was Olive (Talcott) Felt, of English descent, and a native of New York State. His father, Eli Felt, was by occupation a lumberman, and his family consisted of seven children - three daughters and four sons. The subject of this sketch is the second son, and was born in Dansville, N.Y., June 2, 1847. The rudiments of his education were obtained in the schools of Emporium, afterward completed by a course at Freeland Academy. After leaving school, Mr. Felt began life as a farmer, but not liking the occupation, he turned his attention to milling, for his father erected a mill in 1855, and his son has now rebuilt it. Since going into the mill Mr. Felt has thoroughly mastered the details of the business, and is at present the managing miller arid general superintendent of operations. He was married in the State of Delaware, September 16, 1867, to Eliza, daughter of David Stayton, a lady of English descent, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The union has been blessed with two children: Rena O. and Guy S. Mr. Felt's politics are Democratic.
CHARLES HENRY FELT, bookkeeper at the Felt Roller Mills, Emporium, was born in Emporium, Cameron Co., Penn., November 8, 1860. He is a son of Eli and Olive (Talcott) Felt, the former of whom was a pioneer lumberman, and one of the first to make permanent improvements in Emporium.. Mr. Felt is the youngest of seven children, and until he was nineteen years of age he lived in Philadelphia and in North Carolina. He attended school in Philadelphia and North Carolina, and afterward a business college in New York, where he graduated as a bookkeeper in 1880. At New Hartford, N.Y., in 1885, he married Anna M., a native of Norwich, N.Y., and a daughter of C.H. and Sarah M. (Steere) Williamson, of Utica, N.Y., and has two children: Frank Eli and Charles Williamson. Mrs. Felt is of English descent, and a member of the Presbyterian Church, while her husband is a Baptist, being a trustee of the church and a teacher in the Sunday school. In politics he is a Democrat. He is a member and treasurer of the Emporium Legion, No. 30, Select Knights, and financier of Emporium Lodge, No. 163, A.O.U.W.
J. A. FISHER, blacksmith, Emporium, was born in Indiana county, Penn., November 25, 1859, and is a son of S.B. and Maria (McGaughey) Fisher, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German origin. The subject of this sketch, who is the eldest of seven children, was reared on his father's farm, attending the common schools, and early in life learned the blacksmith's trade, an occupation he has since followed. Mr. Fisher came to Emporium in 1882, and being a first-class workman, has controlled a flourishing business of his own since 1885. He was married, in 1885, to Ida M. daughter of James Pearsall, and of English descent. They have one child. Mr. Fisher has passed all of the chairs in the A.O.U.W., and is a member of the Select Knights and the I.O.O.F. In politics he is a Republican.
H. E. FORTNEY, proprietor of livery stable, Emporium, was born in Clinton county, Penn., May 14, 1860, a son of William and Rosanna (Baldwin) Fortney, natives of Germany. He was given a good business education in his native county, remaining there until 1887, when he came to Cameron county, where he engaged in the lumber business, and July 16, 1888, he bought the livery stable in Emporium, where he is now located. He keeps a number of fine carriage horses, and is prepared to furnish any style of outfit desired, either for pleasure or business. Mr. Fortney was married September 29, 1880, to Miss Mary E. Smith, daughter of R.F. and Jennie (Richey) Smith, of Clinton county, Penn., and they have two children: Ray and Rosa.
THOMAS GALLAGHER, ticket and freight agent for the Pennsylvania Railroad at Emporium, was born in Chester county, Penn., May 3, 1849, and is a son of John and Hannah (Lynch) Gallagher, natives of Ireland, former of whom was a farmer, and spent many years of his life in Pennsylvania, where he died in August, 1887. There were seven children in this family, five of whom are still living, the subject of this sketch being the youngest of the survivors. He lived upon the farm with his parents, and attended the common schools until he was eighteen years old, since which time he has been connected with the railroad. From 1866 to 1870 Mr. Gallagher was a clerk at Renovo, Penn., in the latter year acting as extra division agent, but was soon promoted to agent at Kane station, a position he held until his transfer, in 1873, to Emporium. Mr. Gallagher is a courteous official, and highly respected. He was married in 1883, in Emporium, to Nancy, sister of Dr. DeLong, of Emporium, and daughter of Daniel and Anna (Coon) DeLong, all natives of New York. In politics Mr. Gallagher is a Democrat.
A. C. GOODWIN, farmer, P.O. Emporium, was born in New Hampshire, March 19, 1834, a son of Aaron and Nancy Goodwin, also natives of New Hampshire, who came to Cameron county, Penn., in 1850, and located in Shippen township, but in 1853 moved to Cattaraugus county, N.Y. He assisted his father in clearing the land, and worked on the farm until 1855, when he began working for himself. He was energetic, becoming a successful farmer, and in 1882 he bought the farm in Rich Valley where he now lives. Mr. Goodwin was married February 28, 1855, to Miss. Susan A. Lewis, a native of Shippen township, and a daughter of William and Sarah Lewis, natives of New Jersey, and early settlers of Cameron county. Mr. and Mrs. Goodwin have had six children, four of whom are, living: Albert D.; Anna, wife of Delmont Adams, of Emporium; Nellie M., wife of P.A. Peterson, of Pittsburgh, and Mark A. Mary F. and Eugenia D. are deceased. Mrs. Goodwin's grandfather, William Lewis, Sr., rowed the boat that carried Hamilton and Burr across the Hudson river, in 1805, to fight their famous duel, and the oars he used are now in a museum in Chicago, Ill.
C. B. GOULD, Emporium, editor of the Cameron County Press, a newspaper in the best sense of the word, was born in Cherry Valley, N.Y., July 24, 1826, the youngest in the family of nine children of Cornelius and Mary (Tenant) Gould, who were natives of Otsego county, N.Y., and of English and German origin, respectively. The subject of our sketch, after attending the common schools in his native county, went to the city of Utica, and there learned the trade of printer. Here he worked as a compositor until 1848, when he moved to DeRuyter, N.Y., and there began the publication of the Central New Yorker. Subsequently he went to Homer, same State, and engaged as publisher of the Homer Whig. Binghamton, N.Y., was next the scene of his labors, and while there he acted as reporter for and business manager of The Republican until the year 1866, when he left for Emporium, Penn., and here established the Cameron County Press, as shown in the general chapter on the press. In politics Mr. Gould is an ardent Republican, taking an active interest in the management of the party in his county, and has a wide acquaintance throughout the State with public men of all parties. In national politics he always had the good will and, confidence of Grant, Conklin, Logan, Simon Cameron and other public men, having held the position of special agent of the post-office department under President Grant. When he ties to a man, politically, he stays by him; he is a hard fighter in political campaigns, and has assisted in elevating many men to prominent positions, both State and national. In social life Mr. Gould is very pleasant and jovial, and has always labored for the best advancement of society, and the up building of Emporium and Cameron county; and too much credit cannot be given him for the advancement of the county seat of Cameron. Always on the lookout for some plan to promote the interests of Emporium, he strongly advocated and assisted most effectually in securing the location of the extensive furnace works at Emporium, also the Mankey Furniture Company, and battled for years for the excellent water system now in operation. He is a zealous guardian of justice, as evidenced by his efforts to bring the murderer of Drum to the bar. To him is largely due the arrest of the alleged criminal, for, from the day of finding the body of the murdered man to the close of the trial, he left nothing undone toward fixing the guilt where it belonged - his training in the postal service fitting him well for such a duty to the community. In his declining years Mr. Gould has the good will of all, and, as a measure of this good will, was commissioned postmaster of Emporium in 1889. He was married at Utica, N.Y., to Miss Mary A., daughter of Lyman Scranton, a native of Otsego county, then Empire State. Mr. and Mrs. Gould have four children: Ella, wife of H.H. Mullin (clerk of the county commissioners); A.D. Gould, an editor, residing at Eldred, Penn.; Jennie and Mary. The family are all members of the English Protestant Episcopal Church and of the Sunday school, of which Mr. Gould was for many years superintendent.
E. H. GREGORY, inspector of lumber, and farmer, P.O. Buekwalter, was born in Sullivan county, N.Y., April 18, 1856, a son of Hamlin and Emily Gregory, natives also of Sullivan county. He was given good educational advantages, and was thus prepared to enter upon the duties of life. He came to Cameron county in April, 1876, and entered the employ of J.B. Buckwalter and the Arthurs Coal & Lumber Company as inspector, and proved himself a reliable man to his employers. In 1880 he bought eighty acres of wild land on Lot 4954, Shippen township, Cameron county, which he has brought under a good state of cultivation, having erected on it good buildings, and now has a pleasant home. In 1882 Mr. Gregory was elected supervisor of Shippen township, and made an efficient officer. He is a member of Emporium Lodge No. 984, I.O.O.F. Mr. Gregory was married September 23, 1879, to Miss Hattie Morrison, daughter of B.S. and Alvira A. Morrison, of Shippen township, and they have two children: Bertha and Myrtle. Mr. Gregory in politics is a Republican.
S. S. HACKET, This gentleman, who is the largest tax-payer in Emporium, Cameron Co., Penn., and is a lumberman, editor, and a very successful business man, was born in Steuben county, N.Y., March 2, 1828, and is the son of Seth and Electa (Kise) Hacket, who were natives of New York, and of Scotch and German origin, respectively. Mr. Hacket, Sr., was a farmer, and his son, of whom we are writing, was the fourth in a family of eight children. His parents came into Pennsylvania, and settled in Liberty township, McKean county, when he was but twelve years of age. He received a common-school education, and has made farming and lumbering the main business of his life. He has many friends in his, own and McKean counties, who have known him all his life as a most industrious man. He has resided in Emporium since 1857, and has done much to build up the borough. He established the Emporium Independent in 1866, and has erected a number of substantial buildings, also an extensive sawmill. In politics he is a Democrat, has been a member of the school board, and has held nearly all of the offices within the gift of the borough. In the year 1869 he married Phoebe L. Williams, born in Wellsville, N.Y., of English lineage. They have eight children: Herbert and Delbert, farmers; Ada, who married Houser, a mechanic; S.J., a successful merchant; A.D., foreman in the mill; T.N., master mechanic in the mill; L.T., a clerk, and Nellie, married to Walter Danforth.
S. J. HACKET, proprietor of a general store at Emporium, is the son of S.S. Hacket, and is the fifth in a family of eight children. Mr. Hacket was born in Emporium, February 13, 1856, and entering his father's store when quite young, he remained there as a clerk until 1875, when he embarked, in his present business, and has met with success. He married, in July, 1888, Miss Ella Smith, of Portville, in the State of New York. Mr. Hacket is in politics a Democrat, and was appointed postmaster at East Emporium. He is a trustee of the A.O.U.W., and treasurer of the K. & L. His wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
CLARK HARRINGTON, associate judge of Cameron county, Emporium, was born in Otsego county, N.Y., June 5, 1824, and is a son of Rufus and Sarah (Elsworth) Harrington, natives of Vermont and New York, respectively. The father was a captain in the American army during the war of 1812, and throughout the remainder of his life was a farmer; he died in Otsego county in 1866. Judge Harrington is the third in a family of five children, and received his early schooling in Cooperstown, N.Y., where he served an apprenticeship to and learned the machinist's trade. He came to Emporium in 1854, and for a time worked as a sawyer in a sawmill, but his main business has been that of a contracting and manufacturing lumberman. The Judge was married, May 11, 1845, in Steuben county, N.Y., to Elizabeth, daughter of Simeon and Annis (Kider) Hurd, the former a native of New Haven, Conn., and the latter of Yates county, N.Y., and both of English descent. Mr. and Mrs. Harrington have five children: Alice, wife of Amandus Doll; Helen, widow of Alpha Stephens; Delphene, widow of James Webb; Dutta, wife of Delos Dolliver, and Clarence, by trade a sawyer, and married to Jennie Millon. Mrs. Harrington is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Judge Harrington is a Democrat, and has held his present office since 1885; he is a Knight Templar, and a chapter member of the Masonic fraternity.
FRANKLIN HAUSLER, ex-sheriff of Cameron county, Emporium, was born in Clearfield county, Penn., May 20, 1840, and is a son of N.S. and Mary A. (Bailey) Hausler, who were natives, respectively, of New Jersey and Pennsylvania, and were of. German and French origin. The father was a farmer until his death, which occurred in 1884. Franklin Hausler is the fourth of seven children, only two of whom are now living. He was reared in that portion of McKean county which now forms a part of Cameron county, there attended the public school, and lived upon the home farm until he enlisted, in 1861, in Company G, 84th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. Mr. Hausler was shot in the left ankle at the battle of Winchester, March 23, 1862, and suffered severely from the wound until 1883, when he had the foot amputated, since when he has enjoyed good health. He has resided in Emporium since 1879, and for the last three years has been a dealer in flour and feed. Mr. Hausler was married in Cameron county, Penn., in 1864, to Miss R.E., a native of McKean county, Penn., and daughter of Philip and Hannah Lewis, natives of New York and Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Hausler have one child, Alton E. In politics a Republican, Mr. Hausler served as tax collector during the years 1871, 1882 and 1883, and in the last-named year was elected county treasurer. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., the A.O.U.W., is prominently connected with the G.A.R., and he and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
R. P. HEILMAN, M.D., druggist, Emporium, was born near Williamsport, Lycoming Co., Penn., December 14, 1850, and is a son of John and Sarah (Ulsh) Heilman, both natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin. Mr. Heilman's father was a farmer and manufacturer, and is now residing at Williamsport. He was twice married, and had a family of five children, the subject of this sketch being by his first marriage. Dr. Heilman was reared upon the farm, and until 1865 attended the common schools, when the family moved to Williamsport, where he again entered school and subsequently went to college, from which he graduated in 1874, second in a class of ten, and then entered Jefferson Medical College, in Philadelphia, completing his course in 1876 and receiving his degree of M.D. He took a special medical course in the same, and then went to Driftwood, same State, and in the following year came to Emporium, where he opened a drug store in connection with his practice. He served one term as president of Elk County Medical Association, and is a member of the County, State and American Medical Societies. Dr. Heilman has made his own way in the world, and to enable him to secure his own education he taught others in early life, and was occupied variously as clerk, bookkeeper, chore-boy, milk-peddler, and book agent; this last occupation yielding him the best returns for his labor. In 1.878 he was married, in Williamsport, to Alfaretta, daughter of Nathan and Marilda Ball. Mr. Ball was a carriage manufacturer in Wellsville, N.Y., and the family is of German origin. Mrs. Heilman died in January, 1889. The children were Lillian O., F. Vernon, John B., Fred B., Stella Edith, and Edna M. (deceased.). Mr. Heilman was a Lutheran and his wife was a Baptist, but after coming to Emporium they united with the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is a trustee. He is a member of the I.O.O.F, Select Knights (Ancient Order of United Workmen) and of the Knights of the Maccabees. He has been member of the town council, and has been burgess, and twice coroner of the county; politically he is a Republican.
JOHN P. HERTIG, car carpenter at Emporium, was born at Lock Haven, Penn., August 27, 1857, and is a son of John and Elizabeth (Jenks) Hertig, natives of Switzerland. They came to the United States when in their youth, and settled in Clinton county, Penn., moving from there to Emporium in 1867, where they still reside. The subject of this sketch, who is the second in a family of five children, was reared in Emporium, and worked for a time in the planing-mill. In 1876 he went with his parents to Switzerland, where he learned the baker's trade, serving a three-years apprenticeship, and then returned to America in 1880. Since then he has been in the employ of the Western New York & Pennsylvania Railroad as carpenter. Mr. Hertig was married, in 1884, to Elizabeth, daughter of Absalom Shade, and of Scotch-Irish descent. Their children are Verena May, Ida E. and Alma A. Mr. and Mrs. Hertig are members of the Presbyterian Church; in politics he is a Republican, and has been for four years one of the ward assessors in Emporium.
JOHN J. HINKLE, clerk at the Warner House, Emporium, was born in Wrightsville, Warren Co. Penn., September 27, 1859, a son of Philip and Mary Hinkle, natives of Germany. His parents being in limited circumstances, he was obliged to work when but twelve years old to assist in his own maintenance. He learned the shoemaker's trade, and then opened a shop in Warren, Penn., continuing in business there until 1883, when he sold out and went to Ridgway, where he entered the employ of Dickinson Bros., as general superintendent of their lumber business. In 1885 he built a skating rink at Ridgway, which he subsequently sold to Company H, Sixteenth Regiment, P.N.G., for their headquarters. March 10, 1888, he removed to Emporium, and has since been employed as clerk at the Warner House. Mr. Hinkle was married February 8, 1888, to Miss Lizzie Warner, daughter of Riley and Rachel Warner, of Emporium.
I. A. HIRSCH, jeweler, Emporium, was born in Germany, October 6, 1822, and is the son of A. and Fannie (Teller) Hirsch, both of whom were born and died in Germany. The subject of this sketch is the fourth in a family of nine children, and passed his early life in his native land, where he attended the common schools, and learned the trade of a jeweler. Upon attaining his majority he was drafted into the regular army, and served until the expiration of his time, when he went to work at his trade. Mr. Hirsch came to America in 1854, and located first in New York City, but subsequently moved to Salem, N.Y., and from there, in 1869, to Roseville, Penn., where he stayed until his removal to Emporium in 1873. In the latter place he established his present business, which is one comprising first-class workmanship and an excellent stock. Mr. Hirsch was married in Germany, March 22, 1853, to Miss Johana Hirsch, and they have had five children: Alfred, a carpenter; Hettie, wife of Harry S. Ness; Herman, a jeweler, with his father; Emma and Theodore. Mr. Hirsch is a Democrat, and is a director of the poor board. He is a member of the F. & A.M., and Chapter, of the Equitable Aid Union and of the German Harugari Society.
JAMES HOBSON, farmer, P.O. Buckwalter, was born in Yorkshire, England, November 11, 1848, a son of Jonas and Rebecca Hobson. He was educated in his native country, and there learned the mason's trade, at which he worked till September, 1869, and the same year came to the United States, locating in Cameron county, Penn., October 9. Here he remained nearly five years, and then returned to England, and August 3, 1874, was there married to Miss Mary Victoria Cousens, of Yorkshire, near Huddersfield, a daughter of John and Hannah Cousens. He returned with his wife to Cameron county, and in May 18th, bought 118 acres of land in Shippen township, which he has improved and made a pleasant home, and he is one of the prosperous farmers of the township. There were three children born to Mr. and Mrs. Hobson, viz.: William Howard, Jonas Arthur and Florence May, all deceased. Mr. Hobson has held the office of supervisor of Shippen township, two terms. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics he is a Republican.
I. K. HOCKLEY is a member of the firm of Hockley, Bonham & Day, merchants, Emporium, and is manager of the store and coal yard controlled by the firm. He was born in Reading, Penn., December 27, 1852, and is the son of C.L. and Elizabeth (Keyser) Hockley, natives of Montgomery county, same State, and of German origin. The senior Mr. Hockley was a farmer, and now resides in Northumberland county, Penn. The subject of this sketch is the fourth in a family of nine children, eight of whom are still living, and was reared upon a farm in Limestone township, Montour Co., Penn., where he attended the common, and in later years the normal, schools of Lycoming county, Penn. Mr. Hockley was a teacher for nineteen years, and, coming to Emporium in 1875, he taught the high school, continuing here for twelve years, and it was largely through his exertions that Emporium has to-day educational institutions so superior. He was a successful instructor, and since he ceased teaching has been equally fortunate in business. Mr. Hockley was married in Emporium in 1877, to Deborah S., a native of Howard, Centre Co., Penn., and daughter of Rodney and Ellen (Patterson) Logan, of English and Irish descent, and they have two children: Ada E. and Charles A. Mr. Hockley is a member of the German Reformed Church, while his wife is a Presbyterian. A Democrat in politics, Mr. Hockley served one term as deputy sheriff of Cameron county, two terms as borough auditor and two terms as county auditor. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., the Select Knights (A.O.U.W.) and the German Harugari Society, and is the treasurer of the Emporium Board of Trade.
M. T. HOGAN, grocer, Emporium, has been a resident of the place since 1862, when he came here and worked at the lumber business for Dodge & Co., being employed at the same time as superintendent of their farm and other lands, comprising several thousand acres. In 1872 Mr. Hogan entered the mercantile occupation in company with Mr. Tulis; but their store being destroyed by fire in 1875, he began dealing in groceries, and was again burned out in 1884. He pluckily resumed business, however, and has since met with, success. Mr. Hogan was born in Susquehanna county, Penn., September 24, 1842, and is the son of Martin and Mary (Holtz) Hogan. The father, who was a blacksmith in early life and later a farmer, died at Silver Lake, Penn.; the mother died in Ireland. The subject of these lines is the sixth in a family of ten children, all of whom attained their majority, though but six are now living. Mr. Hogan received a good education, and although learning no trade, was foreman for a time in a sawmill. He was married in Cameron county, Penn., to Mary, daughter of Cornelius and Jane Powell, of Emporium; she was born in New York, and is of Irish descent. Mr. and Mrs. Hogan have three children: Celia, Nellie and Julia. The members of the family are Catholic. In politics Mr. Hogan is a Democrat, and has held most of the offices in the borough, serving as burgess and school director, and is at present a member of the town council.
C. B. HOWARD, post-office Emporium, manufacturer of lumber and lumberman at Williamsport, Penn., was born in Yorkshire, England, September 1, 1819, a son of John and Hannah Howard. When he was twelve years old he was hired to herd sheep, and followed this occupation until he was twenty-one years old, when he went into a woolen factory and learned the trade of a cloth maker, continuing in that business until 1852, when he came to the United States, and located at Williamsport, Penn., whore he bought and ran a sawmill. In 1865, with his brother, he came to Cameron county (having in 1864 bought 2,000 acres of land in Shippen township), where they bought in 1882 7,000 acres more in same township, and built a large mill at Emporium in 1883. In 1887 the brothers divided their business, C.B. Howard remaining at Emporium, and his brother taking the mill at Williamsport. Mr. Howard then admitted his Sons as partners in the business, the firm name being C.B. Howard & Sons. They do an immense business, manufacturing 100,000 feet of lumber, 20,000 lath and 10,000 pickets per day. Mr. Howard was married in June, 1850, to Miss Lydia Taylor, who died in 1852, and in 1855 he married Miss Lesita Morris, of Lycoming county, Penn. He has three sons - George, by his first wife, and William and Josiah, by his second wife, all living at Emporium.
J. C. JOHNSON, attorney at law, Emporium, and one of the leading members of the bar of his district, was born at Lisle, Broome Co., N.Y., September 20, 1838. He entered the College of Literature, Science and Art of the University of Michigan, in 1857, and graduated there from in 1861. On September 29, 1862, he was commissioned captain of Company K, 149th P.V.I., serving with this company as a part of the first corps of the army of the Potomac; was captured at Gettysburg, and held as a prisoner by the Confederacy until March, 1865. On returning to the North he resumed his studies, and graduated from the law school of his alma mater in 1863. In July of that year he was admitted to the bar, and, locating at Emporium, soon won that place in public estimation to which his legal training and military experiences entitled him.
F. H. KAUPP was born in Pittsburgh, Penn., December 1, 1868, a son of John and Elizabeth Kaupp, natives of Germany, who came to the United States in their young days, and settled in Pittsburgh, about 1864. The subject of this sketch was given good educational advantages, and when fourteen years of age he entered the office of the Arthurs Coal & Lumber Co. Three years later he was sent to their mill at Swissmont, Penn., as assistant to their superintendent, Mr. Alfred Truman, and is still employed by them at their present establishment in Cameron county. Mr. Kaupp is also bookkeeper for Mr. Truman in his several enterprises, is gifted with capital business ability, and is regarded as one of the promising young men of Cameron county. Mr. Kaupp was married June 4, 1889, to Miss Ella, Mr. Truman's eldest daughter, and resides at Truman, while his parents still remain in Pittsburgh. The religion of the family is Presbyterian.
JOHN W. KRINER, sheriff of Cameron county, Emporium, was born in Lancaster county, Penn., March 11, 1845, and is the son of John and Hettie (Wilder) Kriner, who are natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. Kriner is the seventh in a family of eleven children, and attended school in early life in his native county, also there learning the carpenter's trade, which has formed his chief occupation. He came to Emporium in 1863, and in 1868 he here married. Hattie, a native of Lewisburg, Penn., and daughter of Stephen and Eliza Search, of German origin. Mr. Kriner is a Republican, and was elected sheriff in 1887, an office he still holds; he was once a member of the town council. He is a Knight Templar.
M. M. LABRABEE, merchant, Emporium, was born at Almond, Allegany Co., N.Y., December 7, 1842, and is a son of Willett and Rosanna (Smith) Larrabee, natives of Massachusetts and of English descent. The father was an attorney, and died in New York State in 1864. The subject of this sketch was the youngest in a family of nine children, and received his early school training in his native State, where he was also employed as a clerk, until 1862, when he enlisted in the One Hundred and Ninth New York Volunteer Infantry, and was made second sergeant of Company F. Mr. Larrabee took part in the battle of Spotsylvania, and at the Wilderness was so severely wounded that he was discharged. He returned home; and in 1867 came to Emporium, where he embarked in mercantile trade, in which he is still actively engaged. Mr. Larrabee was married in Pennsylvania in 1871, to Georgiana, daughter of B.S. and Mary Ann (Myrch) Mayo; she is a Methodist Episcopalian, and of English descent. Their children are Marion, Don M. and Clifton Sage. Mr. Larrabee is a Republican, and has been a justice of the peace and a member of the borough council. He is adjutant of D.W. Taggart Post, No. 241, G.A.R., and is a Royal Arch Mason.
F. D. LEET, attorney at law, Emporium, was born in Tompkins county, N.Y., July 19, 1842, and is the son of Samuel and Sarah (Douglass) Loot, former a native of Connecticut, latter of New York, and both of Scotch origin. The senior Mr. Leet was a farmer, and died in Pennsylvania in 1876. The subject of this sketch, the youngest of four children, attended school in New York State until he was thirteen years old, when he removed with his parents to Pennsylvania, and, after taking a thorough academic course, he entered the State normal school at Edinboro, pursuing a strictly classical course. Mr. Leet studied law at Albany, N.Y., graduating in 1866, since which time he has practiced in Emporium, Penn. He made his own way through school and through the world, and has taught in all grades of instruction, from the common to the normal school. In 1886 he opened a general store, which he still controls, and which, connected with other interests, has grown into a large and extensive business. Mr. Loot is one of Emporium's most useful, substantial men, whose liberality would cause him to be greatly missed if lost to Emporium, as he is one of the most liberal in every public enterprise as well as generous and benevolent. A Republican in politics, Mr. Leet held for nine years the office of district attorney for Cameron county. He was married in 1866, in Potter county, to Alice L., daughter of Amos Raymond, who, with his wife, Rhoda (Daniels), was a native of Connecticut, and they were both of English descent. Mr. F.D. Loot has been an elder in the Presbyterian Church, of which he and his wife have been members for over twenty years, and for ten years Mr. Leet has been superintendent of the Sunday school. Mr. and Mrs. Leet have had four children, the eldest one, Amos Raymond, dying in 1880; the living are Grace E., Iva Bell and Eva Dell, the last two named being twins.
I. H. LEGGETT, farmer, P.O. Emporium, was born at Portage, N.Y., June 18, 1836, a son of Eli and Catherine Leggett, natives of New Brunswick, Canada. In 1837 his parents moved to Elk county, Penn., and settled at Caledonia. They had a family of eight children: Leroy L., in Dallas, Tex.; I.H., our subject; Minerva, wife of Samuel Logue, in Wisconsin; Emery, in Wisconsin; Elvira (deceased wife of Thomas Logue); Charles L., in Wisconsin; Reuben (deceased), and Charlotte, also in Wisconsin. I.H. Leggett worked for his father until twenty-one years old, and then worked in the lumber camps until 1870, when he bought a farm on West creek, Shippen township, Cameron county, where he has since lived. Mr. Leggett was married at Smethport in May, 1870, to Miss C.R. Hackett, daughter of M.K. and Sarah Hackett, of Smethport, Penn., and they have three children: Pearl, Coral and, Harry. Mr. Leggett is a Methodist in religion, and in politics a Republican.
WILLIAM F. LLOYD, a member of the firm of Balcomn & Lloyd, dealers in general merchandise at Emporium, was born in Columbia, Lancaster Co., Penn., February 9, 1834, and is the son of Wesley and Eve Anna (Wier) Lloyd, who were natives of Pennsylvania and of Irish descent. The father was a hatter by trade, and lived until 1840. William F. is the eldest of three children, and attended school in his native county, since which period he has been employed as a clerk and bookkeeper for a great portion of the time, being for eight years in the post-office at Columbia, and for ten years in a bank. Coming to Emporium in 1874, he entered the employ of H.C. Olmsted, and in 1882 he formed the partnership given above. Mr. Lloyd was married in 1854 to Susan, daughter of Morris and Delilah Clark, natives of Lancaster county. She died in 1877, leaving five children, namely: T.B., prothonotary of Cameron county; Alice, wife of Dr. Free; H.S., a merchant; W.P., a telegraph operator at Buffalo, and Mabel. Mr. Lloyd is a member, trustee and steward of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and superintends the Sunday school. He is a past grand of the I.O.O.F., and is a Knight Templar.
T. B. LLOYD, prothonotary of Cameron county, Emporium, was born in Columbia, Penn., May 29, 1858, and is the son of W.F. and Susan (Clark) Lloyd, both of whom were natives of Pennsylvania, the father being at present a prominent merchant at Emporium. T.B. Lloyd is the eldest son, and received his education in York and Lancaster counties, and in Emporium. Mr. Lloyd began to learn the jeweler's trade, but left it to accept the position of deputy-prothonotary of the county, in 1879. He was elected prothonotary in 1882, and has held that position ever since in connection with the offices of register and recorder. Mr. Lloyd was married in Wrightsville, York Co., Penn., December 28, 1882, to Miss Mary E., daughter of L.E. Budding, and three children are the fruit of the marriage: Fred B., Grace S. and Myrtle C. Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is trustee and steward. Mr. Lloyd is also a member and past officer of the I.O.O.F. and the A.O.U.W., and has served five years as secretary of the council of Emporium, he is also corresponding secretary of the board of trade, and treasurer of the local board of the National Savings and Loan Association of Rochester, N.Y. In politics he is a Republican.
JOHN D. LOGAN, agent for the Adams Express Company at Emporium, was born in Centre county, Penn., in December, 1853, and is the son of Roby and Ellen (Patton) Logan, the former a native of Ireland and the latter in Huntingdon county, Penn. The father served in the Union army as a teamster. The subject of this sketch, who is the seventh in a family of twelve children, lived upon a farm in his native county until he was ten years of age, when he removed to his sister's in Clinton county same State, and there attended the common schools. Early in life he learned telegraphy, which he followed as an occupation for five years. In 1875 he commenced his present business at Emporium, and for eleven years has, in connection with his other work, been a Western Union Telegraph operator. Mr. Logan married, in 1876, Jennie L., daughter of the late John M. and Marion B. Judd, of Emporium, natives of New York State, and of English and Irish descent, respectively. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Logan are Charles T. and Mary E. Mr. Logan is a Democrat and a Royal Arch Mason, and he and wife are members of the Protestant Episcopal Church.
R. J. LONG, manager of Alfred Truman's general store at Truman, is a native of Pennsylvania, and was born in Brookville, October 14, 1868, a son of J.C. and Mary Long. He was reared in his native village, and was given good educational advantages, preparing him for the business of life. After leaving school he was given a situation in the general store of Alfred Truman, at Truman, and is now employed in the capacity of manager. Mr. Long is an energetic young man, and has by his attention to trusts imposed upon him gained the confidence of his employer. He is one of the rising young men of Truman, of which place he has been a resident about three years. His parents still reside at Brookville.
HENRY G. LYON, farmer, P.O. Emporium, is a son of Alanson and Elizabeth Lyon, and was born in New Jersey, January 9, 1845. He remained at home until eighteen years of age, working on the farm for his father, and in 1863 he came to Pennsylvania, where he worked in the lumber woods of Cameron and Elk counties until 1870, when he bought 127 acres of land, which was the homestead of the Spangler family, and he now has one of the best farms in Shippen township. Mr. Lyon married, in 1870, Miss Mary E. Spangler, daughter of Christian and Rachel Spangler, and they have a family of four children: Fannie J., Arthur W., George B. and Floyd E. Mr. Lyon is a member of Emporium Lodge, No. 163, A.O.U.W.
DUNCAN SAMUEL McDONALD, proprietor of bottling works, Emporium, a son of Samuel and Annie K. McDonald, natives of Scotland, was born in Canada, February 2, 1828. He was educated at the district schools of his native place, and worked in the lumber woods till 1855, when he came to Clinton county, Penn. In 1862 he moved to Cameron county and commenced lumbering, following same till 1868, in which year he took up his residence in Emporium and opened a hotel. In 1880 he commenced his present beer bottling business, and has met with well-merited success. September 2, 1862, Mr. McDonald married Miss Caroline Heck, of Lock Haven, Penn., and by her has a family of eight children: Samuel, proprietor of the Central Hotel, Emporium; Annie, married to William McDonald, of Emporium; Mary, married to Moses Minard, also of Emporium; John, at home (he had both legs cut off by the cars in 1876), and Dora, Lena, Charles and Lizzie, all at home. Mr. and Mrs. McDonald are members of the Roman Catholic Church; her parents belonging to the Lutheran Church. Our subject was elected burgess of Emporium in 1872.
A. A. McDONALD, proprietor of wholesale liquor store, Emporium, was born in Canada, June 10, 1851, a son of Angus and Mary McDonald, also natives of Canada, of Scotch descent. He remained in his native province until sixteen years of age, when he came to the United States, and worked in the lumber woods of Michigan and other of the Western States. In 1871 he came to Cameron county, Penn., where he worked for a lumber firm two years; then hired to a Mr. Cummings to tend bar. After one year he came to Emporium, where he was employed to tend bar for D.S. McDonald. In 1874 he opened a saloon for himself in Emporium, which he conducted until 1886, when he closed it up and opened a wholesale liquor store. March 5, 1875, Mr. McDonald married Miss Nellie McCray, daughter of Daniel and Sarah McCray, and they have three children: Maggie, Sarah and Christina. Mr. McDonald has served as a member of the borough council of Emporium.
R. R. McQUAY, This gentleman, who is the owner of a general store at Emporium, is a native of Northumberland county, Penn., the date of his birth being November 4, 1852. His parents, William and Caroline (Smith) McQuay, were born in this State, of English and Scotch descent, and had eleven children, of whom the subject of this sketch is the tenth. Mr. McQuay, Sr., was killed fighting for his country in the war for the Union. His son, of whom we are writing, was educated in his native county, also at the State normal, school at Shippensburg, and after graduation he taught for some time. In 1879 he came to Emporium, where he was employed as a teacher in the common schools for seven terms. At Turbotville, Northumberland county, in 1880, he married Lydia E., a native of that place and daughter of Michael C. and Louisa Welsh, of Holland-Dutch descent. Mr. and Mrs. McQuay have three children: Lora Ellen, Carrie Louise and Russell M. Mr. McQuay is an elder in the Presbyterian Church, and secretary and treasurer of the Sunday school. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., the A.O.U.W., being secretary of the Select Knights. His politics are Republican.
GEORGE METZGER, Jr., proprietor of jewelry store, Emporium, one of the largest of the kind in Cameron county, was born in Emporium, Cameron county, Penn., January 30, 1865, and is the son of George and Lora (Clark) Metzger, natives of New York and Pennsylvania, and of German and English descent, respectively, former of whom is a jeweler in Wilson, N.Y. The subject of this sketch is the third in a family of four children, and was reared in Emporium, where he attended the high school, afterward taking a course at the commercial college in. Williamsport, Penn., and graduating in 1883. He learned the trade of a jeweler in Emporium, and succeeded his father in the store there in 1885. This business was established in pioneer days by the senior Mr. Metzger, and is the oldest house in that line in Emporium. Our subject is a Republican, a member of the I.O.O.F., and for ten years was librarian of the Methodist Episcopal Sunday school.
L. T. MORE, farmer, P.O. Buckwalter, was born in Ticonderoga, N.Y., January 7, 1811, a son of John and Wilhelmina More, former a native of Scotland, and latter of the State of New York. Mr. More remained in his native county, living on the farm with his parents until their death. In 11850 he moved to Cameron county, Penn., and bought 7,000 acres of land in Shippen township, erected a sawmill and began the manufacture of lumber. The floods of 1861 swept away about $100,000 worth of his property in logs and lumber, but he has since been successful, and is now one of the most prosperous citizens of his township. Mr. More was married June 15, 1838, to Miss Sophronia Fuller, of Vermont, who died in 1852. They had a family of five children, but two of whom are living: Helen, wife of J.R. Bond, of Port Deposit, Md.; and William, of Buckwalter, Penn.; Wilbur, Frank and George are deceased. Frank was a soldier in the war of the Rebellion, and was killed at the battle of the Wilderness, May 6, 1864. September 5, 1854, Mr. L.T. More married Miss Charlotte Fuller, of Vermont, and to them were born two children: Mary, wife of Ed. Cummings, and Charles, the latter now deceased. Mrs. More dying in April, 1859, Mr. More married, May 14, 1862, Harriet Kline, daughter of John and Harriet Kline, of Lancaster, Penn., and they have had five children, three of whom are living: Thompson F. (of Johnsonburg, Penn.), Richard C. and Maud; their eldest and youngest born, Harriet and Addie, are deceased. Mr. More has served five years as associate judge of Cameron county, and is a well-known and highly respected citizen.
JOHN K.K. MORRISON, farmer, P.O. Emporium, is a native of Ithaca, N.Y., born October 6, 1822, a son of Jeremiah and Elizabeth Morrison, natives of New York State. He accompanied his parents to Cameron county in 1844, and worked with his father on the farm until his marriage, when he bought 100 acres of land on West creek, which he improved and still makes his home. He is one of the enterprising farmers of Shippen township, and his land is under a high state of cultivation, his building improvements being models of convenience and comfort. Mr. Morrison was married May 27, 1855, in McKean county, Penn., to Miss Celestia Bliss, who was born in Centreville, Elk Co., Penn., a daughter of Thomas and Sally Bliss, natives of New York State. Mr. and Mrs. Morrison have had a family of four children: Celestia E., wife of R.E. Avery, of Sheffield, Warren county; Mary B. (deceased); John. K., and Bessie K. Mr. Morrison is a Methodist in religion, and in politics is a Republican.
B. S. MORRISON, farmer, P.O. Emporium, was born in Ithaca, N.Y., November 22, 1826, a son of Jeremiah and Elizabeth Morrison, natives of Pennsylvania. He attended the schools of Allegany county, N.Y., and in 1844 accompanied his parents to Cameron county, Penn., who located on West creek, where they bought 120 acres of land, which he assisted in clearing and improving, and it is now is pleasant home. Mr. Morrison was married May 30, 1858, in Norwich, McKean Co., Penn., to Miss Alvira A. Easterbrook, a native of Steuben county, N.Y., and daughter of George and Marrilla Easterbrook, also natives of New York State, who moved to McKean county, Penn., in 1854. Mr. and Mrs. Morrison have had a family of six children: Hattie, wife of E. H. Gregory, of Buckwalter, Penn.; Tillie A., deceased; Alice, wife of N.A. Ostrum; and Walter G., Maud and Mabel, at home. Mr. Morrison is the sixth in a family of nine children, the names of the others being as follows: Martha A., wife of James Towner, of Emporium; Lydia B. and Hannah, deceased; John K.; Elizabeth P., wife of James Piersall; Rachel C., wife of Henry Gifford; David J., of Michigan, and R.H., of Beechwood, Penn. Mr. Morrison, with his family, is a member of the Methodist Church, and in politics he is a Republican.
R. H. MORRISON, farmer and lumberman, P.O. Beechwood, was born in Allegany county, N.Y., October 13, 1833, a son of Jeremiah and Elizabeth Morrison. He was eleven years old when his parents moved to Cameron county, Penn., and here he was reared, living with his father until twenty-five years of age. He then worked for his brothers in the sawmill for a time, and in. 1860 engaged in the lumber business on his own account, which he has since continued; he has also given his attention to the work of his farm in Shippen township. Mr. Morrison was married February 6, 1859, to Miss Alzina Bliss, daughter of Thomas and Sally Bliss, of Allegany county, N.Y., and they have had a family of six children: R.M., residing at Beechwood; K.R.M., at Tyler, Clearfield county, Penn.; Emma, wife of J. Rhodes, also of Tyler; Myrtle and Bertie, both at home; and Jennie, deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Morrison are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Morrison has held various township offices, and is a prominent man in the township.
WILLIAM MORRISON, boot and shoe manufacturer, Emporium, was born in Ireland June 4, 1839, and is a son of Thomas Morrison, who was a branch pilot and a fisherman on the coast of Ireland until his death, which occurred in the year of his son William's birth. The subject of this sketch attended the graded schools in his native land until he was ten years of age, when he went to sea, finally crossing the ocean at the age of sixteen and settling at Bristol, Penn., where he learned the trade of a shoemaker. In 1861 he enlisted at Lock Haven, same State, in Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and served as a non-commissioned officer until the expiration of his three years' terms of service, when he returned to Lock Haven, and from there went to Bradford county. Mr. Morrison came to Emporium in 1867, and soon after began the manufacture of boots and shoes, in which he has since been actively engaged. He was married to Miss Eleshia, daughter of James Purcell, and of Irish, descent. They have two children: James T., who is in business with his father, and Ella, wife of H.J. Swain. The family are Episcopalians, and Mr. Morrison is in politics a Republican, having at one time been a member of the town council. He belongs to the G.A.R., the I.O.O.F., and is a Royal Arch Mason.
HENRY H. MULLIN, son of Rev. James and Caroline (Osborne) Mullin, was born at Carlisle, Penn., January 24, 1851. The grandparents of Henry H., Joseph and Ann Mullin, were the first of the family to leave Ireland for the United States, and, arriving here, settled at Mt. Holly Springs, Penn., where Rev. James Mullin was born, August 10, 1826; he moved to Carlisle when a young man, and subsequently to Emporium, where he was pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church for two years. Henry H. Mullin came here with his father in 1867, and entered the Press office, with which office he has since been connected, being associated with Mr. C.B. Gould in the management. He was married August 1, 1883, to Ella M., daughter of C.B. Gould. In 1884 he was elected clerk of the borough of Emporium, and re-elected in 1885, 1886, 1887, 1888, 1889, and in January, 1885, was also chosen clerk to the county commissioners, and now holds the position. He is a charter member of the Odd Fellows lodge, and has served as permanent secretary from that period of organization down to the present time, except the year he presided over the lodge. In 1888 he was chosen member of the Republican State Committee, in recognition of his earnest, well-directed work in the interest of his party. Into his local official life politics do not enter, and this, in conjunction with the excellent manner in which his office is administered, insures him the confidence and good will of citizens of every shade. In all matters relating to the advancement of Emporium, his voice and pen have been always in service, and his zealous efforts have had no small share in drawing to this location the important industries of the town.
FRANK MUNDY, harness maker, Emporium, was born in Schuylkill county, Penn., July 14, 1852, and is a son of Frank and Anna (Calhoun) Mundy, who were natives of this State, and of Scotch-Irish origin. The father, who was a miner, died in 1862, while in the field with the Union army. The subject of this sketch was reared upon the farm in his native county, attending school until 1869, and in the following year he began learning the trade, which has formed his occupation ever since. Mr. Mundy was married in New York, in 1875, to Miss Kate Burns, who is of Scotch lineage, and a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. They have had three children, but only one, William, now survives. Mr. Mundy is a Republican in politics, and a member of the borough council of Emporium. He belongs to the I.O.O.F., and is a master Mason.
H. C. OLMSTED, a well-known leading Emporium merchant, is a brother of Judge A.G. Olmsted of Potter county, Penn., where he was born October 26, 1846. He is a son of Daniel and Lucy (Scofield) Olmsted, natives of the State of New York, and of English descent. Mr. Olmsted, Sr., was a farmer, and his son, who is the subject of this sketch, is the youngest of his six children. He attended school, living upon the farm until he attained his majority, and continued to make Potter county his home until he was twenty-eight years old, when he came to Emporium, and for one year kept a meat market, afterward adding to it a store, and here for several years he has been engaged solely in mercantile pursuits. He was married, in 1873, to Miss Martha, daughter of Leavitt Cushing, of English descent, and they have seven children: Florence, Lucy, Clara, Herbert, Bert, Myrtle and Vera. Miss Lucy was a member of the first graduating class of Emporium high school, in 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Olmsted are members of the Baptist Church, he being a deacon in same, and superintendent of the Sunday school. Mr. Olmsted usually votes the Republican ticket, and has served four terms on the school board, of which he is now president. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., the A.O.U.W. (Select Knights), and is a past officer in the two organizations. He has been burgess of the borough of Emporium, and owns an interest in four stores in Potter county.
J. F. PARSONS, a successful businessman of Emporium, was born in Muncy, Penn., March 3, 1841, his parents being Joseph and Ann E. (Fribley) Parsons, natives of Pennsylvania and of Irish, German and English descent. In early life his father was a contractor, but later became an attorney, and now resides in Lock Haven. J.F. Parsons, the subject of this sketch, is next to the eldest of seven children, and after receiving an academic course of instruction, he attended an institute at Fort Edward, N.Y. Early in life he entered mercantile trade as a clerk, and was employed as a salesman for ten years, when he started a store for himself. In 1867 he came to Emporium, where he has since carried on a general store, and has dealt extensively in real estate. Mr. Parsons is president of the Water Company, and superintendent of the water-works. He has made his own way in the world. His wife, whose maiden name was Ella A. Freeman, is the daughter of Seneca and Lydia C. Freeman, and is a native of Pennsylvania, of English descent. Mr. Parsons is, politically, a Democrat. He has acted as burgess of. Emporium, as assessor and as a member of the school board.
JAMES PEARSALL, farmer, P.O. Buckwalter, was born in Livingston county, N.Y., January 27, 1822, a son of John and Nancy Pearsall, natives of Connecticut. He lived in his native county until 1844, when he moved to Cameron county, Penn., and bought an interest in a sawmill on West creek, which he operated, and also engaged in farming until March, 1866, when he sold his' property and went to Michigan, where he bought a farm and lived until 1877. He then returned to Cameron county and bought the farm where he now lives in Shippen township. Mr. Pearsall was married January 23, 1848, to Miss Elizabeth P. Morrison, daughter of Jeremiah and Elizabeth Morrison, and they have had a family of five children: Maria, wife of Edwin Close, of Truman, Penn.; Evangeline, wife of O.D. Bishop, of Michigan; George and William, in Michigan, and Charles, at home. Mr. and Mrs. Pearsall are active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
H. L. PEARSALL, superintendent of the Cameron county public schools, Emporium, was born in Sharon township, Potter Co., Penn., in October, 1854, and is a son of Solomon and Rachel (Warner) Pearsall, who were of English descent, and natives, respectively, of New York and Vermont. The father was a pioneer settler of Potter county, where he died in 1874. H.L. Pearsall received his education at the common schools, Erie Academy, and at the State (Pennsylvania) Normal School, where he graduated in 1876. He has devoted his time ever since to teaching, having been employed for three years at Sizerville, Cameron county, and since 1883 has held his present position. He was married, August 13, 1884, to Irene, daughter of J.M. and Elizabeth (Collins) Herrick, and of English and Irish descent. Mr. and Mrs. Pearsall attend the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is a trustee and Sunday school superintendent. They have two children: Beva C. and Arthur H. Mr. Pearsall is a member of the F. & A.M.
GEORGE READ, proprietor of meat market, Buckwalter, was born in London, England, December 4, 1852, a son of Daniel and Eliza Read, who were also natives, of England. He remained with his parents until he was sixteen years of age, attending school and assisting his father, and then began to learn the blacksmith's trade, also, served an apprenticeship at the butcher's trade, at which he worked until 1882, when he came to the united States and located at Emporium, Penn. He worked for F.D. Leet one year, and then removed to Buckwalter, where he opened a meat market, and also bought 100 acres of wild land. Mr. Read was married October 5, 1884, to Miss Nellie Enault, a native of Paris, France. They are members of the Episcopal Church of Emporium.
H. C. ROCKWELL, druggist, Emporium, was born in Pennsylvania, June 8, 1837, and is a son of Hiram and Hannah (Watkins) Rockwell, former a native of New Hampshire, and latter of Vermont, both being of English descent. The subject of this writing passed his early days in Cattaraugus county, N.Y., where he attended school and also learned the millwright's trade, an occupation at which he worked in what is now Cameron county as early as 1856. Mr. Rockwell entered into the drug business at Emporium in 1886, and has met with success. He was married in this county, December 10, 1867, to Margaret, daughter of Benjamin and Mary A. (McCarty) Elliott; she is of Scotch-Irish and English descent, and a member of the Episcopal Church. Mr. and Mrs. Rockwell have one child, Editha A., who is now Mrs. Samuel T. Howard, of Williamsport, Penn. During the war for the Union Mr. Rockwell was in the South, assisting in the construction of military railroads. Politically he is a Republican, and he is a Knight Templar.
ALLEN RUSSELL, farmer, P.O. Emporium, was born at Wyoming county, Penn., January 15, 1830, a son of Albion and Jane Russell, natives of Connecticut. His father dying in 1834, he was reared by his widowed mother, and remained on the farm with her until 1850, when he left home to seek his fortune alone. In 1864 he moved to Cameron county, where he bought seventy acres of wild laud in Shippen township, where he now lives. He has a fine farm, all well improved, and is one of the prosperous men of the township. Mr. Russell was married November 20, 1855, to Miss Frances Jenkins, a daughter of Benjamin and Polly Jenkins, and they have two children: Ada L. and Mary E. (wife of Matthew Leadbetter, of Emporium).
N. SEGER is a prominent businessman of Emporium, having sold wearing apparel of all descriptions at the place for years. He was born in Baden, Germany, July 18, 1836, and is a son of Landolin and Sabina Seger, the former a merchant tailor who had five children, of whom Mr. N. Seger is the second. The subject of these lines received a collegiate education, and learned the tailor's trade in Germany. Coming to America in 1862, he landed at New York, where he worked at his trade until 1865, since when he has been a merchant tailor, establishing, in 1882, his present business in Emporium, at which he has made a marked success. Mr. Seger has been compelled to make his own way in the world, and his prosperity is due entirely to his own earnest efforts. He married Elizabeth Cook, in New York, in 1864; her parents were Adam and Susana Cook, natives of Bavaria, Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Seger have eight children: Charles, Josephine (wife of Joseph Woodley) Henry (a salesman), Rosa, Mary, Emma, Frank and Clara. Mr. Seger, with his family, attends the Catholic Church. He is a Republican, a director of the First National Bank of Emporium, also of the schools and water-works, and at one time was in the town council.
R. SEGER is proprietor of the most extensive merchant tailoring establishment in Emporium, where he does work of the highest order, carries an extensive line of imported goods, and by all means in his power endeavors to satisfy his customers. He was born in Baden, Germany, February 16, 1846, and is a son of Landolin and Sabina Seger, both of Baden. His father was also a merchant tailor, and both parents passed their lives in Germany. The subject of this sketch is the third in a family of five children, and came to New York City in his eighteenth year. Not long after he went to Chambersburg, this State, and after living there for one year, he went to Baltimore, Md., where he worked at his trade until 1869, when he came to Emporium, and after working for others until 1882, he established his present business. Mr. Seger was married in Elk county, Penn., to Miss Elizabeth Cimet, a native of Elk county, Penn., daughter of Adam and Elizabeth Cimet, who were both born in Bavaria, Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Seger have three children: William, Fritz and Edward. The family are members of the Catholic Church, and Mr. Seger is past officer of the C.M.B.A. of Emporium.
S. S. SMITH, physician, Emporium, was born near Kingston, Province of Ontario, Canada, August 12, 1845, and is a son of Hiram and Mary (Leonard), Smith. He was reared and educated in his native country, and began thee study of medicine in the spring of 1866, in the office of Dr. O.K. Knight, of West Brook, Ontario, entered Rush Medical College, Chicago, Ill., same year, and was graduated in July, 1869. He began the practice of his profession in Chicago, in 1868, and September 23, 1869, located at Driftwood, Cameron Co. Penn., where he built up a good business. The Doctor has recently located in Emporium. He married, January 10, 1871, Mary, daughter of Asa Brown of Wyoming county, Penn. Dr. Smith is a member of the Pennsylvania State Medical Society, and of the Cameron County and Elk County Medical Societies. He is a member of the F. & A.M.; was elected coroner of Cameron county, in 1888. In politics he is a Democrat.
JAMES A. SPANGLER, farmer, P.O. Emporium, is a native of Cameron county, Penn., born December 30, 1844, the only son of James W. and Susan Spangler, natives of Pennsylvania. His father died when he was very young, and his mother took her son and returned to her father's house, where he was reared, remaining with them until twenty-two years old. March 22, 1866, he married at Bronson, Mich., Miss Annie Thayer, of Sherwood, Mich., a native of Williams county, Ohio, and daughter of John and Annie Thayer, natives of Vermont. To this union have been born four children - George W., Dora B. (wife of Alonzo Cheesbro, of Emporium), Charles M. and Cora E., the last named being ten years of age and weighing 165 pounds. He lived in Michigan until 1868, when he returned to his native county, and for ten years worked for farmers by the day. In 1878 he bought seventy-six acres of land on Lot 4950, Shippen township, where he has erected a pleasant residence, and now has a good home. He is one of the prominent citizens of the township, and has served two terms as supervisor. Mr. Spangler is a member of Emporium Lodge, No. 163, A.O.U.W., and is a Select Knight of the same order.
L. TAGGART, merchant and lumberman, Emporium, was born in Wharton, Potter Co., Penn., April 6, 1845; a son of George and Sarah Taggart, both natives of Vermont. He was a mere boy when his father died, and he was obliged to assist in the support of the family, remaining with his mother until 1861, when he enlisted in Company G, Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and in 1862 was discharged on account of disability. In August 1864, he again enlisted, this time in Company D, First Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry, and served until the close of the war, when he returned home and for two years ran a dray in Emporium, and then was employed by Stoors, Phelps & Co., as clerk in their general store. A year later he bought their drug department, and continued the drug business until 1879, when he went to Rixford, Penn., and engaged in the production of oil; at the same time he was engaged in the manufacture of lumber in Cameron county, in company with J.R. Buckwalter, but subsequently sold his interest to F.H. Goodyear, of Buffalo, N.Y., and for five years was employed by Mr. Goodyear as superintendent. In 1886 he resigned .his position with Mr. Goodyear, and again embarked in business for himself, in a general mercantile line, and also in the limber trade at Keating Summit and at Austin, Potter Co., Penn. Mr. Taggart was married at Jersey Shore, Penn., November 13, 1872, to Miss Helen M. Cole, a native of Jersey Shore and a daughter of William C. and Sarah Cole, who were of Scotch-Irish descent, and both now deceased. To this union have been born the following children: George Cole, born December 16, 1874; Birdie Leona, born October 16, 1878, and Flossie Fay, born June 23, 1880. In 1880 Mr. Taggart was elected to represent Cameron county in the State legislature, and served two years. He has held various township and borough offices, and for eight years was postmaster of Emporium. He is a member of Emporium Lodge, No. 384, F. & A.M.; Emporium Chapter, No. 227, R.A.M., and Lieut. D.W. Taggart Post, No. 241, G.A.R. Mr. Taggart's parents came to Emporium in 1846, being among the first settlers of the borough. The father held the office of justice of the peace several years. They had a family of eleven children, as follows: Elizabeth, wife of Almeron Nelson, of Coudersport, Penn.; Hollis T., of Emporium; Daniel W., who died of disease while serving in the war of the Rebellion; Samuel D., who was also a soldier in the Rebellion, and died from the effects of wounds received at the battle of Five Forks; Mary J., wife of I.L. Craven; Elliott, deceased; Henderson, who was drowned in the first fork of the Sinnemahoning river; L., the subject of our notice; Annis, the wife of Beldin Burt; A.E., wife of John Wamsley, of Ridgway, Penn., and Flora, wife of James Ryan, of Leadville, Colo. Mr. Taggart is now engaged in the drug trade at Emporium, Penn., as proprietor of the Old Reliable Drug Store.
W. B. THOMPSON, furniture dealer and funeral director, Emporium, was born in Reading, Penn., October 3, 1854, and is a son of C.C. and Catherine (Bodder) Thompson, natives of Pennsylvania and of Dutch origin. W.B. Thompson, who is the eldest of five children, attended the common schools, and in early life was clerk in a clothing store. He came to Emporium in 1876, and worked at farming and lumbering until 1888, when he established his present business, soon proving himself an industrious and energetic man of affairs. Mr. Thompson was married to Sarah, daughter of Edward Cush, and of Irish and English descent. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics he is a Republican, and he is a member of the I.O.O.F.
ALFRED TRUMAN, P.O. Truman, is a native of Nottingham, England, born December 14, 1843, and is a son of Sylvester and Mary Truman. He worked in his father's bobbin and carriage factory, where he learned to run a stationary engine until 1861, when he came to the United States, and settled in Brookville, Jefferson Co., Penn., where he was employed to run a stationary engine at that place. In 1868 he bought a tract of wild land, which he improved; but in 1877, he sold his farm and took a contract to manufacture lumber, which he continued until 1883, when he entered the employ of the Arthurs Coal & Lumber Co., at Swissmont, and a year later was appointed superintendent of their lumber mill, conducting a retail store on his own account at the same time. In 1887 the company's plant was removed to Truman, where he still has charge of the entire business. The mill has a capacity of 60,000 feet of lumber and 20,000 lath daily. Mr. Truman was married July 15, 1865, to Elizabeth Ford, daughter of George and Sarah Ford, who came from England to Jefferson county, Penn., in 1842. Mr. and Mrs. Truman have five children: Ella, Lorrena, Frank, Fred and Ralph. Of these, Fred, a boy nine years old, is frequently engaged to run one of his father's switch engines in the mill yard and on the tram-road. He is remarkable for his ability, and is possibly the youngest engineer living. By perseverance and industry Mr. Truman has accumulated a fortune, and has recently bought an interest in a large lumber operation in Alabama, to which State it is his intention to move as soon as the present operations are completed.
M. C. TULIS, merchant and county commissioner, Emporium, was born in Rome, Oneida Co., N.Y., September 25, 1842, and is a son of John and Mary (Lynch) Tulis, who were natives of the County Mayo, Ireland. M.C. Tulis is the second in a family of four children, and spent his early life in New York State, where he attended the common schools. His first work was as a peddler of Yankee notions. He came to Emporium in 1863, and in 1872 ventured his all in mercantile pursuits. He had the great misfortune to be burned out in 1875, lost everything, and was forced to return to his peddler's pack, with which he was so successful that he was again able to open a store in 1882. He was married in New York State, in 1869, to Miss Anna, daughter of Thomas and Margaret (Feeny) White, and of Irish lineage. Mr. and Mrs. Tulis have two children, John E. and Robert Emmett. The family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Tulis is a Democrat, was elected a county commissioner in 1887, and has filled various offices of trust in the borough of Emporium, in which he resides, and where he enjoys the full confidence and respect of his fellow-citizens.
JAMES T. WALKER, harness maker, of the firm of Mauck & Walker, Emporium, is a native of Armstrong county, Penn., and was born November 18, 1849, a son of Robert and Elizabeth (Lockhart) Walker, who were of English and Scotch descent, respectively. Robert Walker, who still resides in Armstrong county, Penn., is by trade and occupation a carpenter and farmer. James T., the subject of these lines, who is the eldest in a family of twelve children, received his education in the common schools of his native county, and served an apprenticeship at the miller's trade. In 1883 he came to Emporium, and for a long time was employed in the roller flourmills. In 1889, however, he joined Mr. C.E. Mauck in the harness business, and is co-equal with him in carrying on that business under the firm name of Mauck & Walker. In 1884 Mr. Walker married Ida, a native of Armstrong county, Penn., and daughter of Frederick and Love Yockey, of German origin. They have two children: Stella and Frederick. Mr. Walker is a Republican in politics, a master workman in the A.O.U.W., and senior workman of the Select Knights. Mrs. Walker is a member of the Baptist Church.
GEORGE W. WARNER, ex-associate judge of Cameron county, and at present engaged in the lumber business, is a pioneer settler of Emporium, and one who has always taken an active interest in the advancement of the borough and county. He was born in Chenango county, N.Y., November 13, 1827, and is a son of Robert and Priscilla (Bixby) Warner, who were of English origin. In his youth the Judge attended the common schools, and lived upon the farm in his native county. He came to Emporium in 1851, and engaged in farming and lumbering, which have constituted the main business of his life. Judge Warner was married in Emporium, November 10, 1861, to Julia daughter of John and Anise (Taggart) Earl, who were of English descent, and natives, respectively, of New York and Vermont. Judge and Mrs. Warner have one child, Robert B., who is a farmer and lumberman, residing in Emporium. Judge Warner has held many positions of trust, such as member of the school board and of the borough council, justice of the peace, and burgess of Emporium; also served as county treasurer, as associate judge, one term in 1876, and as a member of the legislature in 1887. Mrs. Warner was born near Coudersport. Penn.; she is an active member of the Episcopal Church. Of a family of six sisters still living, five are members of the same church, all earnest Christian mothers.
RILEY WARNER, proprietor of the Warner House, Emporium, was born in the State of New York, March 27, 1828, and is the son of Philip and Mary (Preket) Warner, who were of English and Dutch origin, latter being descended from famous Holland-Dutch stock. The family's history shows them to have been farmers and tillers of the soil for generations. The father of the genial landlord of the Warner House, whom this writing concerns, was a carpenter and contractor as well as a farmer. He lived to be seventy-four years old, and died after bequeathing to the world sixteen children, of whom twelve grew to be men and women. Mr. Riley Warner, who is the third child in the family, spent his early years on the farm, attending at the same time the public schools. When about twenty years old he went to Bradford county, Penn., and there learned the trade of a blacksmith. Subsequently he moved to Wyoming, Penn., where he followed farming for the space of two years, after which the hotel and livery business claimed his attention, and the major portion of his life has been passed in this line of accommodation for the traveling public. For a number of years he controlled a stage line in Wyoming county, from Tunkhannock to Towanda, a distance of forty-three miles, and during the Civil war he was extensively engaged in the buying of government horses. For a time he kept a livery stable at Lock Haven, Penn., but in 1867 he removed to Emporium and bought a small hotel, of which he was proprietor until it was destroyed by fire in 1875. That same year his fellow-citizens elected him sheriff of Cameron county, an office he held for three years, at the end of which time he again embarked in the business of hotel keeping, in which he has been employed until the present day. In 1886 Mr. Warner erected the building which he now occupies for hotel purposes; it is a neat and substantial brick structure, in height four stories, well lighted and well ventilated. He is a model landlord, and his house is first-class in every respect, a fact recognized by commercial travelers, who make it their headquarters while at Emporium. In 1849 Mr. Warner married Rachel L., daughter of Peter O. Dunlap, and of Scotch and German origin. She has borne four children: Norman P., Lulia, Elizabeth N. and Margaret B. In politics Mr. Warner is a Democrat, and, besides the shrievalty, has held the office of school director and member of council. He is a master Mason.
H. H. WEBER, professor in the Emporium schools, of which he is also principal, was born in Centre county, Penn., September 6, 1860, and is a son of Joseph and Rebecca (Hackman) Weber, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German descent. The father combined the occupation of a farmer and merchant. The Professor is the tenth in a family of fourteen children, twelve of whom are living. In his boyhood he lived on the farm, and attended the common and normal schools. When only seventeen years of age he began teaching and since that time this has been his occupation, his fields of labor being principally in the boroughs. Prof. Weber had taught eleven years when he came to Emporium, and the schools are in a flourishing condition under his management. He is a Prohibitionist, a past officer of the Good Templar's, a member of the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania, and of the I.O.O.F.
JOHN M. WEISS, farmer and lumberman, P.O. Beechwood, was born in Williamsport, Penn., August 31, 1861, a son of Martin and Elizabeth Weiss, natives of Germany. In 1878 his parents moved to Beechwood, Cameron county, and bought the farm where they now live. They have a family of five children: Elizabeth, wife of Sylvanus Emery, of Elimsport, Penn.; Mary H., wife of W.H. Harley, of Curwinsville, Penn.; Sophia, wife of Benjamin Sykes, of Curwinsville, Penn.; Dorothy, wife of George Market, of Truman, and John M., the only son. John M. Weiss was given good educational advantages, remaining with his parents until manhood, and has since been engaged in farming and lumbering. He was married, February 14, 1887, to Miss Adelia Benson, a native of Maine. In politics Mr. Weiss is a Democrat.
J. M. WHITE, engineer at the Emporium Rolling Mills, was born in Maine, July 11, 1839, and is a son, of Michael and Catherine (Driscoll) White, the former of whom was born in Ireland, of English parentage, the latter being a native of Maine, and of Irish origin. The subject of these few lines, who was the eldest in a family of four children, received his early education in Maine, and later attended the United States Naval School. At the age of seventeen he went to sea, and. studied engineering. He enjoys the distinction of having been on board the Monitor during the famous fight with the Merrimac, shortly after which he was promoted to full engineer. In 1868 he was married to Isabella Ellis, a native of Iowa, and of English origin, a daughter of Levi Ellis. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. White are Nellie, wife of G.M. Ferris; C.E.; Lewis; Ray B., and J.L.W. Mr. White is a Republican and a member of the town council. He is deputy grand master of the A.O.U.W., and is district commander of and a major in the Select Knights.
J. S. WILEY, Emporium, is one of the associate judges of Cameron county, and one of the most popular men of that locality. He is an extensive manufacturer and dealer in lumber, and a farmer with large landholdings, over 6,000 acres being now in his possession. Judge Wiley's fortune is due entirely to his own exertions, as he was left an orphan when a mere child. He was born in Steuben county, N.Y., January 22, 1837, and is of English and Scotch descent, his father having been Capt. Robert Wiley, and his mother Elizabeth Ellise Wiley. The Judge is the eldest of six children, all of whom are still living. He was reared in New York State, and attended the district schools until he was in his eighteenth year, when he went to work by the month. Mr. Wiley was married July 22, 1863, to Miss Louise Smith, daughter of William and Almira Smith, of Angelica, N.Y., of German and English descent, respectively. Their children are Justina, Grant, Sarah and Charles. Judge Wiley is a Republican; he was elected associate judge in 1886, an office he still holds, and has been for nearly twenty-one years a school director, for about one-half the time serving as president of the board. He is a Knight Templar, and has hosts of friends.
CHARLES ZARPS, blacksmith, Emporium, was born in Germany, April 18, 1830, and is a son of Fred and Christina (Fraley) Zarps, natives of Germany. The subject of these lines was reared on his father's farm, attending the common schools until he was fourteen years old, when he came to the United States, and at Baltimore, Md., he learned the trade of a blacksmith, which he has since made his occupation. Mr. Zarps has been a resident of Emporium for more than a quarter of a century. He was married at Elmira, in 1856, to Mary, daughter of Matthew and Earnstena Haupt, all natives of Germany. Mr. and Mrs. Zarps have two children: Henry, who is in the hardware, dry goods and grocery business with Walker, Howard & Co., Emporium, Penn., and Katie. The family are members of the Presbyterian Church. In politics Mr. Zarps is a Democrat.
Source: Page(s) 920-922, History of Counties of McKean, Elk and Forest, Pennsylvania. Chicago, J.H. Beers & Co., 1890.
Transcribed February 2006 by Nathan Zipfel for the Cameron County Genealogy Project
Published 2006 by the Cameron County Pennsylvania Genealogy Project
Return to Cameron County Home Page
© Cameron County Genealogy Project