Biographical Sketches Ridgway Township and Borough of Ridgway
N. T. ARNOLD, attorney at law, Ridgway, son of W. W. and Margaret Ann Arnold, was born in Allegany county, N. Y., in 1857. In 1858 he was taken by his father to Potter county, Penn., where he was reared and educated in the lower branches. Being desirous of obtaining an education, and his father being in limited circumstances, he taught school to obtain the money to defray his expenses at a higher school, and finally graduated from the normal school at Lock Haven in 1879. He had determined to make law his profession, and accordingly began his studies with B. C. Larrabee, of Coudersport, in 1881, and in 1884 was admitted to the bar. He began the practice at Ridgway, being associated with Dyson Rishell, and later, with W. W. Barbour, formed the present firm of Arnold & Barbour. Mr. Arnold takes great interest in his professional practice, and is also devoted to scientific studies, taking an especial interest in the study of astronomy. He is a Republican in politics, though not an active politician. He married Hannah Thompson, a daughter of Robinson and Cynthia J. Thompson, of Cedar Springs, Clinton Co., Penn., August 24, 1881, and they have two children: Laura (born in 1883) and Paul (born in 1889). Mr. and Mrs. Arnold are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and are among the prominent young people of Ridgway.
WILLIAM W. BARBOUR, attorney at law, Ridgway, was born in Indiana county, Penn., March 20, 1863, a son of William and Elizabeth (Lee) Barbour, of Westmoreland and Lycoming counties, respectively. Mr. Barbour received an academic education in his native county, graduating from the State Normal School in 1883. He then came to Elk county and accepted the position of principal of the high school of Wilcox, which he filled for one year, during which time he was elected professor of mathematics in the Indiana State Normal School, at Indiana, Penn. After enjoying that position one year, he resigned to enter the law office of Rishell & Arnold, of Ridgway, with whom he read law. He was admitted to the bar in 1886, and immediately formed a partnership with Mr; Arnold, remaining in Ridgway until September, 1888, when they purchased the law business of W. W. Ames, of St. Mary's, of which branch Mr. Barbour had charge till his removal to Ridgway, where he now resides. He takes an active part in Republican politics, and was the candidate of that party for district attorney in 1888. In that year he married Helen, daughter of Hon. Horace Little, of Ridgway. Mr. and Mrs. Barbour are members of the Ridgway Presbyterian Church.
J. S. BARDWELL, M. D., Ridgway, was born in Warren county, Penn., February 17, 1834. In his childhood his parents moved to Yates county, N. Y., and later returned to Warren county, Penn., where he was educated and began the study of medicine with his brother, Dr. Richard C. Bardwell. He began his practice in Warren in 1857, but in 1863 removed to Ridgway, where he has since resided. After pursuing a regular practice several years, he attended the Vitipathic Medical College, at Cincinnati, Ohio, from which he graduated in 1883. In his practice he makes use of electricity and magnetic appliances and the application of hot-air vapor baths, and is preeminently successful in the treatment of spinal, heart, rheumatic and asthmatic troubles. In addition to his profession he devotes considerable attention to agriculture and also has a fine dairy. From trees on his land was taken the first bark used for tanning purposes in Ridgway. Dr. Bardwell married, December 22. 1855, Edna O. Seeley, who died October 20, 1883, leaving three children: Addie R. Bardwell, Clarice E. Bardwell and Stoddard William Bardwell. His present wife was Susan Cathbert, whom he married, January 7, 1885.
I. D. BELL, cashier of the Ridgway Bank, was born in Warsaw, Jefferson Co., Penn., in 1862, a son of John and Eleanor Bell. He received a good business education, completing it at the Williamsport Commercial College, Williamsport Penn., where he graduated in the spring of 1883. He was then employed in the general store of John Cuneo, at Brockport, four months, when he was employed as book-keeper in the Ridgway Bank, which position he filled acceptably until December, 1889, when he was elected cashier. He is a good business man, and in addition to attending to his duties in the bank, has been identified with J. H. McEwen & Co., machinists of Ridgway, Penn., since May, 1887, and is also secretary of the New Era Gas Company of the same place. Mr. Bell was married, in 1884, to Miss Ada E. Thompson, daughter of Peter Thompson, of Brandy Camp, Elk county, and they have one child, Cliff Ronald. In politics Mr. Bell is a Republican. He and his wife are members of the First Congregational Church.
P. F. BOGERT, general merchant, Johnsonburg, Quay P.O., was born in Sullivan county, N. Y., December 31, 1844. His parents, Peter J. and Rebecca (Fonda) Bogert, were natives of Fulton county, N. 1, and farmers by occupation. Mr. Bogert was reared in Sullivan county, N. Y., and received but an ordinary education. At the age of twenty-five he engaged in the hotel business at Jeffersonville, Sullivan county, and in 1880 came to Ridgway, Elk Co., Penn., and established the Bogert House, which he conducted for five years. He then took a trip to San Francisco, Cal., and afterward located at Sheffield, Warren Co., Penn. He established his present business in February, 1888, under the firm name of Bogert & McGeehin. In 1870 he married Miss Hannah M., daughter of Peter R. Wood, of Ulster county, N. Y. Mr. Bogert is a member of Sheffield Lodge, No. 969, I. O. O. F., and the Knights of Pythias.
L. A. BRENDELL, groceries and provisions, Ridgway, is a native of Philadelphia, Penn., born in 1851, son of Ludwig and Barbara Brendell, who came to America from Germany in 1850. In his childhood his parents moved to Lock Haven, where he grew to manhood and completed his school days. After reaching his majority, January 22, 1872, he came to Ridgway, opened a grocery and bakery, and here he has built up a good trade. He keeps a full line of staple and fancy groceries, and fresh bakery goods, confectionery, etc. He is also the owner of a fine farm, and keeps constantly on hand fresh dairy goods, butter, cheese, etc. November 19, 1874, Mr. Brendell married Miss Jennie Cuthbert, daughter of A. G. and Ann Cuthbert, who came from Canada, and are of Scotch descent. Mr. Brendell is a Republican in politics, and has served five years as overseer of the poor, his term expiring in the spring of 1889. He is a member of the Ridgway Lodge, No. 969, I. O. O. F. Mrs. Brendell is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
N. M. BROCKWAY, lumberman, P. 0. Oyster, Jefferson county, Penn., was born in Keystone, Perry Co., Penn., January 25, 1829, the second in a family of ten children born to Chauncey and Rhoda (Nichols) Brockway, natives of New York State, who came to Elk county in 1817 and located in Jay township, where they remained until 1820, when they moved to Brandy Camp, Penn., and in 1828 settled in Keystone, where the father built a large mill, and was extensively engaged in lumbering. N. M. Brockway received a practical business education, and has always been prominently identified with the lumber interests of Elk county. He is one of the leading lumbermen, and is regarded, socially, as a promoter of all good causes in the township. He married, October 14, 1848, Miss Catherine, a daughter of David and Betsy (Kriger) Taylor, of Elk county.
A. H. BUCKLAND, merchant miller, Ridgway, is a native of England, born September 15, 1839, and is a son of James and Jane (Gilley) Buckland, also natives of England. His parents dying when he was very young, the subject of our sketch, when four years old, came to the United States to live with an uncle in Camillus, Onondaga Co., N. Y. Here he spent his boyhood days, attending the common schools of the neighborhood, which early education he supplemented by attending night schools in Rochester, N. Y. At the age of eleven years he engaged as clerk in a store in Jordan, N. Y., remaining there but a short time, and then entered a paper-mill at Marcellus Falls, N. Y., in order to learn the trade of paper-making; but this he soon abandoned to enter a grist-mill in the same place, and here he learned the milling trade. Mr. Buck-land has spent all his time since 1858 in the milling business, chiefly in St. Louis, Mo., and other large cities of the West, where he has remodeled and built several large flour-mills. In 1880 he left St. Louis for Olean, N. Y., in which place he built the large roller flouring-mills, now owned by the Acme Milling Company, the original proprietors being Chesbrough & Buckland. In 1883 he came to Ridgway, where he has erected a fine mill, and is doing a large business. Mr. Buckland was married, June 26, 1868, to Miss Mary B. Ray, daughter of William and Margaret (Rowan) Ray, of Sparta, Ill. He has always been a strong temperance man, and now, at fifty, has never tasted beer or liquor of any kind. He is a member of the Congregational Church, and a Republican in politics.
JACOB BUTTERFUSS, harness-maker, Ridgway, a son of Christopher and Catherine (Baker) Butterfuss, natives of Germany, was born in Germany, September 6, 1844. He received his education in his native country, and when twelve years of age, he entered a harness shop as an apprentice, where he served two and one-half years. In 1865 he entered the German army, and served three years. Iii 1868 he came to America, and in 1873, located in Ridgway, where he established his present business. He married, August 4, 1874, Miss Louisa Meffert, of Wilcox, Penn., and they are the parents of two children, Emma J. and Christopher. Mr. Butterfuss is a member of Ridgway Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., also of K. of H., No. 1644.
ROBERT I. CAMPBELL, merchant, Ridgway, was born in Philadelphia, Penn., in 1842, a son of Thomas and Rebecca Campbell, natives of Ireland, who came from County Armagh, in 1840, to the United States, and were here married and located in Philadelphia. In 1850 they moved to Highland township, Elk county, where they both died in 1876. They had a family of seven children: Robert I., James W., Thomas, John, Mary, William and Alexander. Robert I. Campbell began business life as a lumberman, and, being an industrious, economical young man, accumulated considerable money, and in 1872 moved to Ridgway and embarked in the general mercantile business, and is now one of the leading merchants of the borough, his genial, accommodating manner and fair dealing having gained for him a good patronage. He is a Democrat in his political affiliations, and in 1871 was elected a member of the board of county commissioners and served one term. He is a member of. the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge, No. 379; Elk Chapter, No. 240; Orient Council; Knapp Commandery, No. 40, and Bloomsburg Consistory, thirty-second degree.
HIRAM CARMAN, one of the leading lumber manufacturers of Elk county, and whose post-office address is Carman (the town of that name being named in his honor), is a native of Grove, a beautiful rural town in the county of Allegany, N. Y. He is a son of Edmund and Lois (Bailey) Carman, worthy farming people of that county, and prominent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the father, a native of Cayuga county, N. Y., and the mother of Vermont. The subject of the present writing was reared and educated in Allegany and Livingston counties, N. Y., and in 1854 he came to Elk county, locating at Wilcox, where for several years he was engaged in the lumber business. In 1858 he moved to Spring Creek township, and has since been engaged in manufacturing lumber, being a member of the firm of W. H. Hyde & Co., and also of the Portland Lumber Company. In 1856 Mr. Car-man married Miss Elizabeth, daughter of Ira Westcott, of Onondaga county, N. Y., and they have seven children: Lucy, Flora, H. Alonzo (married to Miss Alice Rumbough, of Clarion county, who bore him one child, Roland), Carrie, Ira Edmund, W. W. and Harry. Mr. Carman is an influential and active member of the Republican party, and served with marked ability as county commissioner six years, from 1881 to 1887. He is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., and Knapp Commandery, No. 40, K. T. He and his family are members of the Episcopal Church.
BURR E. CARTWRIGHT. Although a resident of little more than a decade in that portion of the State of Pennsylvania, of which this work chiefly treats, the gentleman, whose name heads this biographical record, has attained to a pre-eminence second to none among the business men (particularly in the lumbering industry) of this region; and this enviable position is not the issue of fortuitous circumstances, but the result of a life of close business application, piloted by an active mind largely endowed with nature's best and most useful faculties.
Burr E. Cartwright is a native of Buffalo, N. Y., born October 26, 1850. a son of Edward and Elmira (Hotchkiss) Cartwright, residents of near Buffalo, former a native of Wales, and latter of Connecticut. The subject of our sketch attended the common schools until fifteen years of age, at which time he entered the Hethcote school, where he remained until his nineteenth year. The first commercial experience of Mr. Cartwright was in the lumber business in Buffalo, when, in 1879, he removed to Ridgway, Elk Co., Penn., as purchasing agent, in the lumber trade, for the firm of Scatchard & Son, in whose employ he remained until 1881. In that year he and W. W. Mattison formed a partnership in the lumber business, which organization resolved itself, in 1883, into the Ridgway Lumber Company, the several members thereof being Burr E. Cartwright, D. C. Oyster, Alfred Short and W. W. Mattison. In the fall of 1885 Mr. Mattison retired from the firm, W. H. Horton taking his place. In the following year Mr. Cartwright and Mr. Horton withdrew from the Ridgway Lumber Company, and entered into a co-partnership in contracting with the Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company, to cut the lumber and peel the bark on 8,000 acres. In 1888 Mr. Cartwright purchased Mr. Horton's interest in this enterprise, keeping, however, intact the former contract, made under the firm name of Horton & Cartwright. In order to fulfill this contract. Mr. Cartwright has in operation three saw-mills, having a capacity of 200,000 feet per day. He also operates a shingle and planing-mill at Horton City, a place located near the Mead Run school-house, and in the carrying on of the enormous business, 500 men are constantly employed. He has, in all, seventeen miles of standard-gauge railroad in operation, equipped with five locomotives and fifty logging cars. In the spring of 1889, Mr. Cartwright completed a contract with the Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company, for the building of one hundred dwellings at Mead Run. He owns and carries on two general stores, doing an aggregate business of $15,000 per month - one store being located at Horton City for the convenience of his own men, the other, an outside enterprise, being at Mead Run. The Horton City saw-mills are, perhaps, the best equipped mills in the eastern part of Pennsylvania, being provided with circular and gang saws; lath mills are attached, with the latest improved labor-saving appliances, the whole being lighted by electricity. The daily shipments of bark and lumber from the several stations along Mr. Cartwright's line, amount to twenty-five cars. Thus, in his management of his gigantic lumber and bark interests and contracts, together with the necessary saw-mills, adjuncts and appointments; in the conducting of his mammoth stores, and the directing of his army of employees, it may be said of Mr. Burr E. Cartwright, that he stands in the front rank among the lumbermen of Pennsylvania, and, perhaps, of the entire Union.
In addition to the above-mentioned enterprises, Mr. Cartwright has, since the writing of this sketch, organized the Brock Coal Company (capital $50,000), of which he is president. It is their intention to fully equip these mines (which are located at Brockwayville, Jefferson Co., Penn.) with electrical mining machinery, and they expect to have a daily output of 1,000 tons. They will commence shipping coal about May 1, 1890.
In 1874 Mr. Cartwright was married to Miss Sophia Rouse, of Gaines, Mich., who survived her wedding but ten months, and one son was born to them, Morgan Rouse, now attending Deveaux College, Suspension Bridge, N. Y. In 1877 Mr. Cartwright took for his second wife Miss Alice Jane Higham, who has borne him one daughter: Orrel Higham. Mrs. Cartwright attends the Congregational Church. Mr. Cartwright, who is one of the most active workers in the Republican party, served three years as chairman of the Republican county committee; in the fall of 1888 be was named as the choice of Elk county for congress, and at the congressional conference held at DuBois he was tendered the nomination, but owing to his vast business engagements, the constituency had, reluctantly, to accept his refusal. He is a member of the F. & A. M., Elk Lodge, No. 379; of Elk Chapter, No. 230, R. A. M.; of Knapp Commandery, No. 40, K. T., and of Bloomsburg Consistory.
E. F. CUMMINGS, station agent for the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad at Johnsonburg, was born in New Bethlehem, Penn., January 17, 1858, the only son of S. M. and Mary A. (Space) Cummings, natives of Pennsylvania. He was educated in his native town, and when twelve years of age was employed in a store as clerk. When he was eighteen years of age he became station agent for the Allegheny Valley Railroad, and in 1881 went to Ceres, Penn., where he had charge of an office for the Bradford, Eldred & Cuba Railroad. In 1860 Mr. Cummings came to Johnsonburg, where he is station agent for the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad Company. He married, December 17, 1884, Miss Mary, daughter of L. T. and R. C. T. (Fuller) Moore, early settlers in Cameron county, and they are the parents of one child, Eleanor.
D. B. DAY, M: D., Ridgway, was born at Union, Broome Co., N. Y., March 16, 1847, and is a son of Augustus and Judith C. (Otto) Day, the former a native of Broome county, N. Y., and the latter of McKean county, Penn. In his boyhood his parents moved to McKean county, Penn., where he completed his literary education, and began the study of medicine with Dr. Clark, of Brockwayville, in 1874. He later attended lectures at the Eclectic Medical Institute of Cincinnati, Ohio, where he graduated in 1877. Dr. Day first located at Kane, but in the fall of 1877 he moved to Ridgway, where he now has a good practice. In the course of his medical experience, he has prepared several formulas, which he is placing before the public in a more extensive way than could be done in a local practice, and these are already giving him a wide reputation. He purchased the property known as the "Hyde House," which he has fitted up as a comfortable resort for invalids, and in the building adjoining is his drug store and laboratory. He has been very successful in his practice, and is well known throughout this part of the State. The Doctor married, in 1872, Miss Lucy A. Schram, daughter of W. H. Schram, of Ridgway, and they have two children - Edith and Grace. In politics Dr. Day is a Democrat.
WILLIAM L. DEVINE, Rolfe, superintendent for Henry, Bayard & Co., lumbermen, was born in the town of Liberty, Sullivan Co., N. Y., September 24, 1852, and is a son of George and Catherine (Travis) Devine, both natives of the county named above. His father was a millwright by trade, but principally followed farming as a vocation. The subject of these lines is also a millwright by trade. In 1869 he moved to Williamsport, Penn., remained there several years, and in 1882 came to Rolfe, where he has ever since held his present position. In October, 1876, Mr. Devine married Miss Alfaretta M., only daughter of William P. Myers, of Lebanon Lake, Sullivan Co., N. Y., and to this union have been born children as follows: Maggie Louise (born at Gilman's Depot, Sullivan Co., N. Y., January 16, 1878), Maud J. (born April 30, 1880, at the same place, where, at the time, Mr. Devine was superintendent of mills for the late W. W. Gilman, then of No. 10 Ferry street, New York City) and Clara J. (born in Rolfe, Penn., November 6, 1885). Mr. and Mrs. Devine also adopted, in their early marriage days, a little girl, Mamie E. Fahrenkrug now a young lady and still a member of the family. Mr. Devine is a member of Ridgway Lodge, No. 369, F. & A. M., and also of the lodge of the I. O. O. F. at Ridgway. He belongs to no church, although he liberally contributes toward the spread of the gospel and the support of the church generally, as is evidenced by the bell that hangs in the belfry of the Methodist Episcopal Church edifice at Rolfe, which was placed there through his generosity; the beautiful new school building, comprising four rooms, was also erected within the past year, through his untiring zeal and energy, at a cost of $2,500. This school at present is taught by three instructors, viz.: W. F. McCloskey, of Caledonia, Penn., principal; Miss Kate O'Conner, of Ridgway in the intermediate department, and Miss Mame Schoening, also of Ridgway, in the primary department. These departments make use, at present, of three rooms, but, as they are now over- crowded with pupils the fourth room will be called into requisition within a year. In politics Mr. Devine is a Republican; he has served as school director of Ridgway township, and since 1884 has been postmaster at Rolfe. Mrs. Devine and children are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
GEORGE DICKINSON (deceased) was a son of Charles Frederick and (Abigail) Dickinson, and was born November 24, 1807, in Goshen, Litchfield Co., Conn., where he was reared and educated until he was twelve years of age, after which time he resided in Ontario, Cattaraugus and Allegany counties, N. Y., until his coming to Ridgway in 1834. Here .he engaged in the lumbering and mercantile businesses, in which he was eminently successful, and resided here continuously until the day of his death. In 1838 he was united in marriage to Miss A. E. Goff, with whom he had five children, all boys, three of whom are living. After twenty-one years of wedded happiness, his wife died in 1859, and for eight years he bore the burdens of life alone, when he married Esther Jane Thayer, daughter of David Thayer. George Dickinson was in many respects a remarkable man. Though never robust, physically, he was an untiring worker, and accomplished more in his long and active life than many who were blessed with a much stronger physical organization. Mentally, however, he was strong and vigorous. His mind was of a judicial cast, and if he had been trained in the law, would have made an able judge. He was quick to perceive and prompt to act, and when his judgment was once formed, it was practically unchangeable. He had a high sense of honor, and in the various walks of life was ever zealous in the advocacy of the right and the condemnation of the wrong. His integrity was unsullied, and he leaves behind him a reputation that is a priceless legacy to those who bear his name. He was a life-long and consistent Democrat, and so conspicuous was his ability and so excellent his judgment, that he was frequently called upon by his fellow-citizens to accept positions of public trust, including those of school director, county commissioner and associate judge, in each and all of which he reflected credit alike upon himself and his constituency. He was emphatically a lover of his country and her institutions, and always took a lively interest in public affairs. In short, he was a good man and a useful citizen, and his death creates a vacuum in the community that will not soon be filled. He died, after suffering from pneumonia for twenty-six days, and his remains were followed to the tomb by a large concourse of mourning friends and relatives.
G. F. DICKINSON, lumberman, Ridgway, and the senior partner of the firm of Dickinson Brothers, was born in Ridgway, June 14, 1840, and was there reared and educated. After the finishing of his education, he employed himself in farming and lumbering, afterward associating himself with a brother in the latter business. November 25, 1869, he married Miss Elizabeth Callahan, daughter of Jeremiah and Margurite Callahan, and is now the father of three sons: George, born September 12, 1871; Charles Frederick, born April 17, 1875, and Daniel S., born December 25, 1883. Mr. Dickinson is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., and Knapp Commandery, No. 40. His politics are Democratic.
GEORGE R. DIXON, attorney at law, Ridgway, was born in the town of Neversink, Sullivan Co., N. Y., July 23, 1848, and is a son of Henry and Catherine Dixon, natives of the county of Dutchess, State of New York. His parents dying when he was thirteen years of age, young Dixon found a home with Dr. J. L. Lamoree, of Grahamsville, N. Y., with whom he resided, working for board and clothes, and attending the village school until about eighteen years of age. June 20, 1868, he graduated from the Monticello (New York) Academy, and in the fall of the same year he entered Rutgers College Grammar School, at New Brunswick, N. J. In the fall of 1869 he entered the freshman class of Rutgers College, graduating with the degree of A. B. in June, 1873, the same institution conferring on him the degree of M. A., in June, 1876. While in college he supported himself largely by giving special lessons in English to Japanese students, who were sent to the institution by order of the government of Japan. In September, 1873, Mr. Dixon came to Ridgway, where he was principal of the schools for two years. In May, 1875, he was elected county superintendent of the schools of Elk county, which position he held four terms, or twelve years in succession. Mr. Dixon began the study of law with Rufus Lucore, Esq., at Ridgway, and spent some considerable time like-wise in the law office of George A. Rathbun, also of Ridgway, and May 30, 1878 while still superintendent of schools, he was admitted to practice in the courts of Elk county. On December 4, 1884, he purchased the Elk Democrat, of which weekly paper he is still the editor and proprietor. Mr. Dixon combines law practice and journalism as a business, writing not only for his own journal, but also as a frequent contributor to the New York, Philadelphia and Pittsburgh daily papers. While in school work, he attended educational conventions quite extensively as an instructor and lecturer, and became well known as such throughout the State. In 1876 he published a complete history of public-school education in Elk county, from its earliest settlements to date. Mr. Dixon is an elder in the Presbyterian Church at Ridgway. In politics he is a Democrat, and has several times been chairman of the Democratic county committee of Elk county. He is also prominent in Freemasonry, and in 1889 filled the chair of worshipful master of Elk Lodge, No. 379, at Ridgway. Mr. Dixon was married in September, 1871, to Miss Louise Eaton, daughter of the late Horace Eaton, of Ellenville, N. Y., and to this union have been born three children: Mabel, Helen and Clark.
BYRON F. ELY, the well-known lumberman of Ridgway, is a native of the State of New York, born in Rushford, Allegany county, July 7, 1821. His early life was spent in the town of his birth, where he obtained the rudiments of an education. Becoming discontented with the narrow limits of an obscure village, young Ely, on a certain drizzly March morning in 1835, then in his fifteenth year, packed all his earthly possessions into a small valise, and went forth to fight the world single-handed. He first went to Olean, N. Y., then a great port of arrivals and departures, and here engaged to assist in running a lumber raft down the Allegheny river as far as Pittsburgh. He became so enamored with this sort of adventurous life that he at once decided to take up the occupation as his own. On leaving Pittsburgh, he wended his way back up the river as far as Red Bank and with his father, M. D. L. Ely, who had purchased a farm there, worked at agricultural employment during the summer. In the fall of the same year, he followed lumbering at Balltown, and in May, 1836, he again rafted lumber down the Allegheny to Pittsburgh. In June, following, Mr. Ely, with his father, came to Ridgway, where he found employment with Hughes & Dickinson, lumberers, and at other similar work, until about the year 1847, when he formed a partnership with David S. Luther, in the lumbering business. In 1852 Mr. Ely bought a one-third interest in the Whistletown mill property of Post & Palmeter, with whom he was interested in the extensive manufacture of lumber. In 1855 he entered into an arrangement with Charles and Isaac Horton, under the firm name of Horton, Ely & Co., and at the same place this new firm carried on business until 1862 or 1863. In 1858, however, Mr. Ely bought property in Ridgway whither he removed, and in June, 1860, he went to Portland, this county, having contracted with Breedin & Co., of Louisville, to cut and put in the pine from 1,200 acres of their Portland lands. Here he was urging business with all his zeal, and fortune seemed to be smiling on him, when he was caught by the sweeping deluge of September 21, 1861, and all his interest both at Portland and Whistletown was carried away. Nothing daunted, however, Mr. Ely entered into a partnership with D. D. Cook (still of Ridgway), which continued, until July 22, 1870, when he sold his interest to Mr. Cook, and returned to Ridgway with a competency. He then purchased of Souther & Willis the property where he is now located, and owns from all his several purchases about 2,000 acres of land. In 1873 he built his present extensive saw-mill about one-half of a mile east of Ridgway. This mill gives employment to some twenty-two men, has a capacity of about 5,000,000 feet per annum, and is fully equipped with all modern improvements, the shipping capacity being in the neighborhood of 80,000 feet per day. The residences occupied by Mr. Ely and his sons, with those of his men, together with all the attendant buildings of the establishment, make a village of no mean proportions. Mr. Ely was married at Ridgway, February 28, 1847, to Helen, daughter of Zebulon Warner, a well-known citizen of Elk county, and three sons and two daughters were horn to this union, as follows: Frank (married to a daughter of L. S. Garritt, of Ridgway), and Lewis, who have been in partnership with their father since January 1, 1884, under firm name of Ely & Sons; Fred, a law student; Mollie, wife of H. S. Thayer, a lumber merchant of Ridgway, and Carrie.
JOHN FOLEY, proprietor of the Johnsonburg House, P. O. Quay, was born in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., June 9, 1854. His parents were John and Bridget (McCarty) Foley, natives of Ireland, but now residing in Chautauqua county, N. Y., the former a farmer by occupation. Mr. Foley followed farming, lumbering, etc., and in 1872 came to Elk county, Penn., and has since resided at Ridgway, Whistletown and Johnsonburg, purchasing his present hotel in September, 1887. In 1882 he married Miss Lizzie Wank, of Rasselas, Penn., and they have one child, Lizzie. Mr. Foley is a supporter of the Democratic party, and a member of the Roman Catholic Church.
J. D. FULLERTON, dentist, Ridgway, a son of Alexander and Catherine (Chandler) Fullerton, natives of Pennsylvania, was born in Brookville, Penn., April 15, 1847. He received a practical business education in Brookville, and resided with his parents until 1868, when he began the study of his profession with D. B. Lowry, of Brookville, Penn., and remained with him until 1873. He married, March 13, 1872, Miss Caroline, a daughter of Jacob and Caroline Linsenbigler, of Rural Village, Penn., and soon after his marriage came to Ridgway, where he commenced the practice of dentistry, and is now enjoying a fine lucrative practice. He is a member of the Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., and Elk Chapter, No. 230.
PETER GAINOR, ex-sheriff of Elk county, Ridgway, was born at Buffalo, N. Y., in 1846, son of Peter and Ellen (Foley) Gainor, natives of Ireland. When a child he accompanied his parents to Allegany county, N. Y., and from there to McKean county, Penn. He was given good educational advantages, and after leaving school engaged in the lumber business; in 1869 he moved to Elk county and located in Spring Creek township, where he continued to follow the lumber business until 1886, when he was elected sheriff of Elk county and removed to Ridgway. He has been an active worker in the ranks of the Democratic party, and filled the position of sheriff in an acceptable manner until the expiration of his term of office, January 6, 1890, having had the confidence of both his constituents and the opposing party in politics. In 1880 Mr. Gainor married Miss Kate Davison, a daughter of Daniel Davison, and they have a family of six children, as follows: James A. Gainor, aged nine years; Nellie M. Gainor, aged seven years; Peter P. Gainor, aged five years; Katie M. Gainor, aged three years; Frank C. Gainor, aged two years; Bessie Irene Gainor, aged nine months. Mr. and Mrs. Gainor are members of the Catholic Church.
J. K. GARDNER, lumberman, was born in Ridgway township, Elk county, Penn., January 28, 1848, and is a son of Nelson and Mary (Morey) Gardner, natives of Steuben county, N. Y., who came to Elk county in 1845, settling on the farm where the father yet lives. Nelson Gardner was by occupation a hunter, and he paid for his farm with the proceeds of the chase. The subject of these lines spent his boyhood days with his parents on the farm until 1868, when he embarked in the lumber business, which he has since followed. May 1, 1871, he married Miss Ophelia M., daughter of Otis B. and Caroline (Nichols) Fitch, who came from Cattaraugus county, N. Y., to Port Allegany, McKean county, Penn., being among the early settlers. Mr. and Mrs. J. K. Gardner are parents of two children: Ella M. and Earl. The parents are members of the Congregational Church at Ridgway. In politics Mr. Gardner is a Democrat, having twice been elected commissioner of Elk county, and serving from January 1, 1882, until January 1, 1888. He is now the managing partner of the firm of Hall, Gardner & Co., lumbermen, doing business at Hallton, Elk county. This firm was organized in 1882 as Hall & Gardner, and did business until August 1, 1889, when Mr. W. H. Hyde, of Ridgway borough, became a member, and the firm name was changed to Hall, Gardner & Co. Mr. Gardner's house is in Ridgway borough, where he has lived since 1885.
JAMES L. GILLIS was born in Hebron, Washington Co., N. Y., in 1792. The educational advantages were meager then as compared to the present day, and the common school was all that he was privileged to enjoy, and that only for three months in the year. In 1808 his parents moved to Argyle, N. Y., and there he served an apprenticeship of three years at the tanner's trade. Immediately after the declaration of war between the United States and Great Britain, in 1812, he enlisted in the mounted dragoons, commanded by Capt. C. V. Boughton. This was an independent company, which served as escort to Gen. Hull, who was afterward superseded by Gen. Van Rensselaer. When the regiment went into winter quarters, he again enlisted, this time in the regiment commanded by Col. Stone, and during this year was at Fort George with Gen. McClure. After the abandonment of this fort, and before the burning of Newark, Canada, Mr. Gillis was taken sick and was sent to Batavia, N. Y. In the meantime Buffalo, Lewiston, Youngstown, Black Rock and Manchester were captured and burned, and in the winter of 1813 - 14 the company of Capt. Boughton was paid off and discharged. In the spring of 1814 Mr. Gillis again enlisted for one year, and during the following summer participated in the battles at Chippewa and Lundy's Lane. At the last-named battle his horse was shot from under him and he was wounded. August 7, 1814, he had charge of sixteen men, who were sent on a foraging expedition, but they were surprised, four men being killed and nine, including Mr. Gillis, captured and confined at Toronto, Kingston, Prescott and Montreal. November 14, 1814, he, with twenty.five others, was put on board the transport boat "Stately," which was about to sail for England, but Mr. Gillis and five others escaped in a boat, landing near the city of Quebec. After wandering in the woods three days, they came upon the cabin of a Frenchman, who agreed to conduct them to a place of safety. He put them into a darkened room, and went to the reconnoitre, returning after considerable time, and when the door was opened, they found the house surrounded by British soldiers. They were taken to Halifax and there kept until the spring of 1815, when the treaty of peace was signed. After the war Mr. Gillis lived at Victor, N. Y., for some time, and then worked with his brothers, Enon and Samuel, at tanning and shoemaking. In 1822 he moved to Elk (then in Jefferson) county and located sixteen miles from any neighbor and seventy from any post-office. He cleared up what is now the Montmorenci farm, and built a saw- and grist-mill, and became the first extensive lumber manufacturer in this region. He was appointed associate judge of Jefferson and Franklin counties, and held the office two terms. In 1840 he was elected to the Pennsylvania legislature, and served three years in the house and three years in the senate. In 1856 he was elected a member of congress from his district. He was an intimate friend of James Buchanan, and was a delegate to the convention that nominated him for the presidency. He was appointed Indian agent for the Pawnees in 1859, which was the last office he held. In 1862 he went to Iowa and lived with his son until the tragic death of the latter, and finally came to his death at Mount Pleasant, Iowa, in July, 1881. The long and notable career of James L. Gillis is an example to young men of to-day. He was a foremost actor in the stirring scenes of life, and was one of the pioneers of the now thriving county of Elk. He was married, in 1816, to Mary Ridgway, of Philadelphia, who died in 1826, leaving three children: Ridgway B., Charles B. and Jeannette C. (now Mrs. Hauk). In 1828 he married Miss Berry, of New York, who died in 1855, leaving seven children: B. W., a journalist of Richmond, Va.; Claudius V., of Kane, Penn.; James H., commodore, U. S. N.; Robert S., of Iowa; Mrs. Porter, Mrs. Noxom and Mrs. Whiting. Mr. Gillis' father, Robert Gillis, was born in Boston, Mass., in 1740, three days after the landing of his Scotch parents. He spent his young manhood as a sailor on coasting vessels running from Boston to New Orleans and other American seaports. He married Jerusha Clark, of New Hampshire, and they reared a family of five children, all of whom passed the age of four score, and one son, John, lived to be ninety-three years old. The first wife died, and Robert then married Sarah Stewart, by whom there were six children: Enos, who died aged sixty-seven; Samuel, aged eighty-four; James L., aged eighty-nine; Thomas, born June 10, 1794, is still living; Elizabeth, wife of Elisha Ingersoll, died aged fifty-five years, and Hugh.
E. T. GRANT, tanner, Ridgway was born at Liberty, Sullivan Co., N. Y., in 1853, a son of Hon. H. V. Grant. He was reared in his native county, and was given good educational advantages, graduating from Monticello Academy in 1868. Coming to Ridgway in 1869, he entered the employ of the Ridgway Tanning Company, and has since been connected with same. He was married in 1876 and has two children - one son and one daughter. Mr. Grant is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M. He is a Democrat in politics, and an active worker for the interests of his party. He is a member of Mill Creek Rod and Gun Club, which owns ten miles of Mill Creek, a stream that furnishes the best fishing ground in the State. They have an elegantly fitted up club-house, furnished with all necessary accoutrements for pleasure seekers, and have a special policeman employed to guard the stream. The club is incorporated, and will soon become the greatest pleasure club in the State.
L. S. GUTH, jeweler, Ridgway, was born at Callensburgh, Clarion Co., Penn., in 1853, son of Leopold and Theresa (Loll) Guth, the former a native of Freiburg, Baden, Germany, and the latter born and reared in Alsace. In his childhood the parents of our subject moved to Clarion, the county-seat, and there he was reared and educated. When fifteen years of age, he began learning the jeweler's trade of his father, working with him until twenty years old, when he went to Fryburgh and engaged in business for himself, but remained there only a short time, removing to Petersburg and from there to Petrolia, Butler Co., Penn. Later he went to Denver Col., where he lived six years, and then returned to Pennsylvania, and has since lived in Ridgway, where he now has a good business, and is numbered among the substantial men of Ridgway. September 29, 1886, at the Church of the Immaculate Conception, Clarion. Penn., Mr. Guth married Mary A. Meisinger, daughter of John and Anna (Gruber) Meisinger, both of Bavaria, and they have two children, Elizabeth and William. Mr. and Mrs. Guth are members of the Catholic Church. In politics he is a Democrat, adhering firmly to the principles of that party, and has just ended his term as burgess of the borough of Ridgway.
J. H. HAGERTY, merchant, Ridgway, was born in Hollidaysburg, Penn., January 20, 1838, the second son born to James G. and Hannah (Mohney) Hagerty, natives of Pennsylvania. He received a business education in the district schools of Blair county, Penn., and lived at home until he was thirteen years of age, when he was employed as clerk in a general store in Mount Pleasant, Penn., remaining until he was nineteen, when he came to Ridgway, and engaged in the lumber business. Mr. Hagerty was married, July 16, 1866, to Miss A. E., daughter of David and Sarah (Stewart) Thayer, natives of New York State, who were among the early settlers of Ridgway, and built the Thayer House. Mr. and Mrs. Hagerty are the parents of two children: May (deceased) and Rena, at home. In 1867 Mr. Hagerty opened a general store in Ridgway, and in 1869 was appointed postmaster, serving until 1887. In 1884 he started a shoe-store, in which business he still continues. He has held various borough offices, and is one of the leading business men of Ridgway. He is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. M., also a member of No. 1644, K. of H., Ridgway, Penn. Mr. Hagerty is a thorough Republican and was a delegate to the Republican National Convention that met in Chicago in 1888, and nominated the Harrison and Morton ticket. In June, 1889, Mr. Hagerty was reappointed postmaster of Ridgway, and is now doing active duty in his old position.
W. S. HAMBLEN, attorney at law, Ridgway, was born in Standish, Cumberland Co., Me., February 15, 1839, a son of I. and Lydia A. Hamblen. In November, 1840, the parents moved to Lovell, Oxford county, where our subject resided until August, 1850. He was educated in the common schools of Lovell, and the academies at Fryeburgh and Waterville, Me., graduating from the latter school in 1859. He was a hard student, and his close attention to his studies so undermined his health that he was obliged to give up a college course, and leaving school, he entered the employ of a lumber company, in Cambria county, Penn., as manager, remaining with them from 1859 to 1865. In 1865 he removed to Elk county, and engaged successfully in the manufacture of shooks, which he shipped in large lots to Philadelphia, from where they were exported to Cuba, and returned to the United States filled with sugar and molasses. The insurrection in Cuba led to the relinquishment of this business by him in 1872. As he was located a long distance from an attorney, it became necessary for him to understand the law of contracts, etc., and this led him to read Blackstone, Kent, Greenleaf and all necessary text books on contracts, bills and notes. This he did for his own benefit, but on locating at Ridgway, in 1870, was advised to enter the profession, and in 1874 was registered as a law student, and in 1876 was admitted to the bar, from which time he has been a thorough reliable and responsible lawyer. He was instrumental in organizing the Elk county Republican committee in 1867, and was its chairman until 1872, when he refused to act in that capacity, as he was identified that year with the Greeley movement. He has been prominent in politics as a reformer, and has given his support to many enterprises of public benefit. Mr. Hamblen married Miss Annette D., daughter of Martin P. and Hannah Ayers, of Conneaut, Ohio. They have one son, named Lynne Ayers Hamblen, and also had a son and daughter who died in infancy.
P. B. HAMILTON, wagon manufacturer, Ridgway, is a native of Mercer county, Penn., born February 22, 1847. He was reared on a farm, and in his youth learned the wagon-maker's trade. He was employed at the Conklin Wagon Factory, at Olean, N. Y., until 1883, when he moved to Ridgway, and engaged in the manufacture of wagons until 1886, when he became associated with D. C. Oyster, under the firm name of D. B. Hamilton & Co., which partnership was continued until January 1, 1889, when the company was changed to a corporation, under the name of the Hamilton Wagon Company (limited), the stockholders being D. C. Oyster, W. H. Osterhout and D. B. Hamilton, with D. C. Oyster, president, and D. B. Hamilton, secretary and treasurer. The Hamilton Wagon Company are on a sound financial footing, and give employment to twenty-five or thirty men. Their wagons have a reputation for durability, and the demand is greater than the supply. They take special pains in the selection of the wood used in their manufacture, and their wagons find a ready sale in the home market. Mr. Hamilton gives his entire time to the management of his business, and although interested in the welfare of the city has no time to devote to the cares of public office. He casts his suffrage with the Republican party. Mr. Hamilton married Miss Flora E. McCrea, and they have one daughter. They are members of the Congregational Church.
W. C. HEALY, Ridgway, was born at Romeo, Macomb Co., Mich., in 1824, .a son of Freeborn and Polly (Chandler) Healy. His father was a native of Wyoming county, N. Y., where he was married, and in 1819 moved to Michigan, where he died August 29, 1825. The mother died in January, 1839. W. C. Healy was reared in Michigan, and educated at the common schools. After the death of his mother he came to Pennsylvania, and in 1848 located at Ridgway, in Elk county, where, for three years, he was employed in a mercantile house, and then, for eight years, was engaged in lumbering, and later was in the mercantile business. In 1856 he was elected sheriff of Elk county, and 'served one term, and for a number of years has served as justice of the peace. He is one of the prominent, citizens of the county, a Democrat in politics, and 'takes an active interest in local affairs. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge, No. 379, Elk Chapter, No. 230, and Knapp Commandery, No. 40. Mr. Healy married, New Year's Eve, 1853. Martha A., daughter of Caleb Dill, a pioneer of Elk county, and they have two children: Mattie E. and Claude H. They are members of the Episcopal Church.
W. S. HORTON, son of Isaac and Sarah (Sherwood) Horton, was born in Horton township, Elk Co., Penn., in 1853. His grandfather, Isaac Horton, came from the Eastern States in a very early day, and located in what is now Horton township, where he engaged in farming and dealing in lumber, clearing his farm of timber. He subsequently moved to Ridgway, where he died. His children were: Lovisa, wife of Col. Wilcox; Minerva, wife of J. W. Taylor; Charles, who was one of the first prothonotaries of the county; Isaac; Alvira; Hezekiah; Amanda,.wife of Jerome Powell, and Matilda, wife of Col. Fred Schoening. Minerva, Alvira, Hezekiah and Matilda are the only ones living. Isaac was born at Brandy Camp, Horton township, and passed his life in Elk county, engaged in farming and lumbering. He was elected treasurer of the county, and moved to Ridgway, but died near Erie. He married Sarah Sherwood, who now lives at North East, Erie county. They had eight children: Loren C.; Emma, wife of John Collins; Helen, wife of Alfred Short; W. S.; Lucy; Milton C., a banker of Missouri; Ida, wife of Lester Chase, of Buffalo, and Walter. W. S. Horton was reared in Elk county, completing his education at Williamsport, and then engaged in the lumber business until twenty-two' years of age, when he was appointed clerk in the prothonotary' s office, filling that position from 1878 till 1884. In the meantime, from 1880 to 1883, he served also as deputy sheriff of the county, and in 1884 was elected prothonotary, and was re-elected in 1887. He is an active worker in the Democratic party, and is also active in all public affairs. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge No 379, Ridgway Chapter, No. 230, and Knapp Commandery, No. 40. Mr. Horton married Ella Bennett in September, 1878, and they have three children: Isaac, aged eight; Ralph W., aged six, and Clara, aged four.
JACOB V. HOUK (deceased). Fourteen years ago, on January 26, 1876, there passed to his heavenly rest, after enduring excruciating sufferings, which he bore with characteristic Christian resignation, the universally respected citizen whose name heads this biographical memoir. The career of the deceased in his lifetime was one remarkable for its struggles and triumphs - a career adorned and made conspicuous by his liberality, public-spiritedness and zeal in the cause of right, though his earthly pilgrimage was one of trial, tumult and suffering. Mr. Houk was born, October 18, 1822, at Slippery Rock, Butler Co., Penn., in the vicinity in which he continued to reside until his twenty-fourth year, engaged in farming and such other labor as offered to him the best inducements. He then removed to New Brighton, Beaver county, where he followed lumbering for about a year and a half, after which he went to Tidioute, Warren Co., Penn., and here also worked at similar business for about a year, when he found his way to Beech Bottom, Elk county, where he took a contract to run round timber for the Blake company. After a time he went to Lawrence county, and once more went to farming for about a year, at which time he again sought the wilds of Elk county. At Beech Bottom he found employment as an efficient all- around man, both in the woods and in the mill, with Cobb & Rulofson, and then, in a year or two, moved to Bear creek, where he built and operated a railroad for moving lumber from the places of skidding to the streams. While thus employed he became united in marriage, July 2, 1857, with Miss Jeannette C. Gulls, daughter of Judge James L. Gillis, one of the foremost pioneers of Elk county. To this union was born, September 9, 1859, one son, James L. Gillis Hauk, who died June 30, 1863. Mr. Houk, after marriage, took up his residence in Ridgway, and in connection with Judge James L. and Charles Gillis, built a section of the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad. This accomplished, he then formed a copartnership with J. S. Hyde in a lumbering business, at Mead Run, under the firm name of Hyde & Houk, but at the expiration of a year and a half he disposed of his interest in the Mead Run property to William Reed, and in conjunction with Charles McVeah purchased the mercantile business in Ridgway of Coyne & Burroughs, the title of the firm being Houk & McVeah. Subsequently Mr. Hauk bought out his partner's interest in the concern, and continued the business in his own right for a period of years, when the store passed into the hands of B. S. & C. V. Gillis. Mr. Hauk's next venture was in the flour and feed business, in copartnership with J. S. Hyde and J. K. Whitmore, the firm being known as Hyde, Houk & Whitmore, from which, several years later, he withdrew, repurchasing the store from C. V. Gillis, which remained in. his possession until his death. In the meantime he was engaged in other enterprises, most prominent of which was the planing-mill of J. V. Houk & Co. A man of large and vigorous frame, Mr. Hauk was almost a giant in strength and endurance, and up to about four years prior to his decease was comparatively free from the many ills that flesh is heir to. Having been appointed receiver for L. F. & H. M. Powers, who had been lumbering at Belmont mill, on Spring creek, he entered upon the discharge of his duties with the vigor and earnestness which characterized his whole life, and in so doing exposed himself to many hardships. On one occasion, while running logs, he was struck by a handspike and knocked into the stream. He then, without changing his clothes, walked to Ridgway, a distance of twenty miles, through mud and slush. Through this he took a heavy cold, and from that time on he never enjoyed a single day of perfect health. In 1871 Mr. Houk was chosen one of the associate judges of the county, and often during the period of his illness was he found upon the bench, intent on the conscientious discharge of his duties, when he should have been in his room seeking to repair his shattered health. As a man, Mr. Hauk was brave, true and honest, realizing that "an honest man is the noblest work of God," and so lived as to be entitled to that exalted position among men. As a friend he was ever true, often discommoding himself to relieve the necessities of those around him, and as a husband he was uniformly kind and devoted.
C. L. KELLOGG, dentist, Ridgway, was born in Canada, September 24, 1843, the third son in a family of nine children, born to Ira and Rebecca (Vinton) Kellogg, natives of New York State. His father was a dentist, and under his tutorship Mr. Kellogg became proficient in his chosen profession. In 1882 he came to Ridgway, where he has established a lucrative practice, and is one of the popular business men in the town. Mr. Kellogg married. September 24, 1874, Miss Ada T. Kellogg, of Canada, and they are the parents of two children: Etta M. and Nina E.
JOHN R. KIME, clerk, Ridgway, was born in Muffin county, Penn., August 12, 1836, the eldest son in a family of six children born to G. W. and Ellen (Logan) Kime, natives of Pennsylvania. When he was nineteen years of age he went west, where he remained five years. September 22, 1861, he enlisted in the service of his country, and was assigned to Company I, Seventh Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers, serving three months; then reenlisted, this time in Company K, Forty-ninth Regiment, and was commissioned first lieutenant, serving three years. Mr. Kime married, September 22, 1861 (the day of his enlistment), Miss L. J. Hesser, a daughter of John and Sally (Ross) Hesser, of McVeytown, Penn., and they have been blessed with five children: Clyde (deputy recorder), H. M. (merchant at Ridgway), Bruce (book-keeper for Hyde, Murphy & Co.), Daisy and Ed (clerk for Osterhout & Campbell). In 1871 Mr. Kime came to Ridgway, and engaged as clerk for Powell & Kime, with whom he worked for seven years, and since 1878, has been in the employ of W. H. Hyde & Co. In 1885 he was elected chief burgess of Ridgway, and served one year. In 1887 he was elected associate judge of Elk county. He is highly respected by his fellow citizens, and is one of the leading men in the township.
R. V. KIME, clerk, Ridgway, is a son of G. W. and Ellen (Logan) Kime, natives of Pennsylvania. They were the parents of six children, R. V. being the second son. He was born in McVeytown, Penn., September 29, 1839, and was reared and educated in his native town. When thirteen years of age, he commenced clerking in a store in McVeytown; in 1859 he moved to Elk county, and in 1863 came to Ridgway, and in company with J. Powell, opened a mercantile business; this partnership existed until 1887, when they dissolved, Mr. Rime acting as clerk for his former partner. Mr. Kime married, October 5, 1861, Miss Olive A. Horton, of Chautauqua county, N. Y., and they have four children: George C., Ellen L., Maud B. and Claude V. Mr. Kime has been prominently identified with the interests of the township, and has held various borough offices. ' -
M. S. KLINE, cashier of the Elk County Bank, Ridgway, is a native of Clarion county, Penn., born in 1853. He is a son of Aaron and Elizabeth (Wiant) Kline. Aaron Kline is a native of Northampton county, Penn., but is now a resident of Clarion county, and was county commissioner there several years ago. Mrs. Elizabeth (Wiant) Kline's parents were natives of Bucks county, Penn. This lady died January 4, 1890, aged fifty-five years. M. S. Kline, the subject of these lines, was reared and educated in his native county, and choosing the profession of law after leaving school, in 1874, went into the office of Hall & McCauley, as clerk and student. In 1878 he was admitted to the bar, and same year he began' the practice of his profession at Ridgway. Soon thereafter he was appointed cashier in the store of W. H. Hyde & Co., with whom he remained until 1880, when he was appointed book-keeper and clerk in the Elk County Bank, being promoted in 1881 to cashier, a position be has since held. He also represents several life, fire and accident insurance companies, operating largely through the northern part of the State. He is a stockholder in the Ridgway Light & Heat Company, and is its treasurer. He takes an active interest in local affairs, aiding with his influence and means every project to materially advance the prosperity of the community. He has served as deputy sheriff of the county, and for fourteen years has been a notary public, and is now holding that office. Mr. Kline is not a politician, in the sense of being an office seeker, although he does all in his power to further the interests of the Democratic party, and in 1888 he was a delegate to the State convention. Mr. Kline was married September 2, 1880, to Carrie V., daughter of D. S. Luther, a pioneer of Ridgway, and they have had four children, two of whom, Frederick Luther (aged seven years) and Hugh Earl (aged four years) are now living.
JOHN LARSON, merchant, Ridgway, was born in Sweden, January 10, 1866. He spent his boyhood days with his parents, and in. 1883 immigrated to America, settling in Ridgway, Penn., where he worked as a laborer for W. H. Hyde & Co., completing his education as he could, in his spare hours. In 1887 he, in company with August Anderson, bought the stock of goods owned by E. K. Gresh, and they have since conducted a fine mercantile trade. Mr. Larson married, May 1, 1889, Miss Carrie, a daughter of P. C. Julin, of Ridgway, Penn.
L. J. A. LESSER, dealer in rubber stamps, etc., Ridgway, was born in Warren county, Penn., December 21, 1863, a son of Philip and Caroline (Leonhart) Lesser, natives of Sundhausen, Alsace, Germany. They were married in 1862, and with their parents settled in and about Warren, where are now many of their descendants. Philip Lesser is a blacksmith, who moved to Ridgway in 1868, and first occupied the house on Centre street, now owned by E. E. Willard; then he lived in a house on South street, now owned by B. E. Wilcox, afterward building a home of his own on Centre street, directly opposite the place he first occupied. Mr. and Mrs. Lesser have four sons living, viz.: L. J. A., Charles Edward, Franklin Theodore and Leonard Luther.
L. J. A. Lesser was reared in the faith of the Lutheran Church, of which his parents are members, and was confirmed April 15, 1881, by Rev. John Sander, A. M., then pastor of the First Evangelical Lutheran Church at Ridgway, of which church Mr. Lesser is still an active member. For five years he was superintendent of the Sunday-school; in 1886 was elected a member of the church council, and is now the teacher of the Bible class in the Sunday-school. He attended different select schools, and was one of a class of four, which was graduated from the Ridgway High School, May 30, 1882, the graduating feature being introduced after he left school, and he returning to receive this additional honor. In October, 1880, Mr. Lesser obtained a situation as clerk in the store at Brockport, owned by the Keystone Lumber Company, and after remaining there for two months, returned home and was immediately employed by the Northwestern Mining & Exchange Company of Dagus Mines, as an agent at the Daguscahonda Railroad terminus, remaining here one month, when he was transferred to the central office at Dagus Mines, where he remained one year, when he returned to Ridgway for the purpose of graduating, as already referred to. August 15, 1882, he became engaged in the manufacture and sale of proprietary medicines for D. B. Day, of Ridgway, in whose employ he has since remained. Mr. Lesser married, June 7, 1888, Miss Annie, a daughter of George and Mary Ann Truman, of Sigel, Penn., and they have one child, Clyde Truman Lesser, born July 13, 1889. March 18, 1886, he was initiated in Ridgway Lodge, No. 969, I. O. O. F., and has served as trustee for more than three years consecutively, being the present secretary; has passed all honors in the subordinate lodge, and is a member of the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania, having been representative to-the same. In March, 1888, he joined Ridgway Council, No. 1081, Royal Arcanum; he was also a member and secretary of the Laurel Hook and Ladder Company, from its organization to its abandonment. Mr. Lesser is an ardent Republican, and was corresponding secretary for the "Harrison and Morton Club," that performed such effective campaign work in 1888. He established his present rubber stamp and stencil business in 1881, and has a fine and growing trade in the manufacture and sale of these goods.
HORACE LITTLE, real-estate agent, surveyor, etc., Ridgway, was born in New Hampshire, September 17, 1832, and is a son of Richard and Mary C. (Pillsbury) Little, natives of New Hampshire and Massachusetts, respectively. He was educated in his native State, and when twenty years of age came to Ridgway, engaging with his brother as a surveyor. The latter died in 1863, since which time Horace has been engaged in the sale of real estate, mineral mines, etc. He married, May 30, 1857, Miss Lucy, a daughter of Joseph W. and M. W. (Horton) Taylor, early settlers in Elk county. Mr. and Mrs. Little are the parents of five children: Arthur B., surveyor; May M., music teacher; Helen, wife of W. W. Barbour, attorney at Ridgway, Penn.; Benjamin, surveyor; Jeanette, in Westmoreland county, Penn., and Louise V., at home. Mr. Little has held the office of county surveyor, and was one of the first jury commissioners elected in Elk county.
SAMUEL LOWRY, superintendent for Wilson, Kistler & Co., Rolfe Tannery, P. O. Rolfe, was born in Clinton county, Penn., December 24, 1843. His parents, Jacob and Matilda (Moore) Lowry, were natives of Lancaster county, Penn. His father is a millwright by trade, but is now engaged in farming in Clinton county. Mr. Lowry received a good education, and learned the tanning business with Kistler Brothers at Lock Haven, Penn. In 1882 he came to Rolfe, and has since had the entire charge of the Rolfe tannery, and under his management their business has grown from a capacity of 150 hides per week to 1,360 per week. He is also interested in the furniture business at Johnsonburg, Penn., in partnership with Dr. H. H. Smith. Mr. Lowry was. married in 1867 to Miss A. B., daughter of Andrew Gibb, a native of Scotland. They have three children: Andrew, Stewart and May. In 1.862 Mr. Lowry enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Thirty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, served nine months, and in March, 1864, he re-enlisted in Company K, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served until the close of the war. He is a member of Wilcox Lodge, No. 571, F. & A. M., also of John S. Bitner Post, No. 122, G. A. B., of Lock Haven, Penn. He is a member of the Republican party, and has held the office of school director. He and wife are members of the English Lutheran Church, of Lock Haven, Penn.
CALVIN HUDSON MCCAULEY, attorney at law, Ridgway, the subject of this sketch, was born in Fox township, Elk Co., Penn., July 10, 1850. After receiving such advantages as the common schools of the county afforded, he spent a year at the high school in Painesville, Ohio, and subsequently attended the university at Lewisburg, Penn. In 1869 he commenced the study of the law and was admitted to the bar August 7, 1872, since which time he has devoted his entire time and attention to the practice of his profession. In 1876 he was elected district attorney of Elk county, which office he held for the term of three years. In 1881, upon the incorporation of Ridgway borough, he was elected a member of the borough council, and upon organization of the council was made president, which position he held for three years. In 1888 he was again elected councilman for three years, and upon the organization of the council was again made president. In 1882 he was appointed attorney for the Rochester & Pittsburgh Railroad Company for Elk county, and upon the reorganization of that company, under the name of the Buffalo, Rochester & Pittsburgh Railway Company, was appointed solicitor of the company for the State of Pennsylvania. He has also been counsel for the New York, Lake Erie & Western Railroad Company for several years. December 1, 1889, he was appointed solicitor for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company for the Forty-seventh district, composed of the counties of Elk and Jefferson. Mr. McCauley was married December 25, 1871, at Olean, N. Y., to Juliette A. McGibney, of Olean. As the fruits of such marriage there are children now living as follows: Ruby V. McCauley, Calvin H. McCauley, Jr., and Katharine H. McCauley.
J. H. McEWEN, of the firm of J. H. McEwen & Co., manufacturers of boilers, engines, etc., Ridgway, was born at Angelica, Allegany Co., N. Y., in 1854, and is a son of Duncan S. and Susan P. (Ewing) McEwen, the former of Scotch and the latter of Scotch-Irish parentage. J. H. McEwen attended the Ohio State University at Columbus, where he took a course in engineering, and after leaving school he followed his profession in different parts of the country until 1885, when he came to Ridgway, erected suitable buildings, and began the manufacture of portable and stationary engines, boilers, circular saw-mills and tannery machinery, mill gearing, iron and brass castings, etc. The firm was first known as McEwen Bros. & Co., but in 1889 Mr. McEwen became associated with D. C. Oyster and I. D. Bell, and the name was changed to 4. H. McEwen & Co. This lirm carry on an extensive business, giving employment to about fifty men, and have a wide reputation for the excellency of the work turned out. Mr. McEwen married Miss Jennie Thornton, of Angelica, N. Y., daughter of Henry and Jane (Eager) Thornton, of Irish descent, and they have two children. In politics Mr. McEwen is a Republican. He and wife are members of the Congregational Church.
HUGH McGEEHIN, merchant, Ridgway, is a native of Ireland, born in October, 1840, son of James and Bridget (Connohan) McGeehin. He was reared and educated in his native country, where he remained until 1868, when he came to the United States and located at Ridgway, Penn. His first employment in this country was with the Philadelphia & Erie Railroad Company, but later he engaged in peddling dry goods and notions, in which he was successful. He relinquished this business, however, in January, 1872, and leased his old store building from W. C. Healy, Ridgway, where, in conjunction with a partner, he entered upon a general mercantile business. The lease of this building terminating at the end of three years, the property was purchased from Mr. Healy by the firm. The partnership continued until 1883, and a good and prosperous trade had been done, but in the latter part of 1882, however, Mr. McGeehin, seeing the necessity of making improvements in order to keep pace with the progress of the town, and thinking that his partner might not favor the idea, proposed a dissolution, and, in order to get away from the old stand, which he did not consider to be very desirable, offered his interest in the real estate at so low a figure that his partner promptly accepted the proposition. Mr. McGeehin then erected a new store in what he considered to be a more popular part of the town, and opened it for business in March, 1883, since which time he has been alone, and has carried on a trade second to none in the borough, considering the amount of capital invested. Mr. McGeehin is also a member of the firm of Bogert & McGeehin, at Johnsonburg, Penn., owning one-half interest in by far the leading general store in that prosperous town, it being conducted under the supervision of P. F. Bogert. In addition to his mercantile interests, Mr. McGeehin is also owner and proprietor of the Bogert House at Ridgway, a resort of no mean reputation and one that is conducted on a sound financial basis. This hotel he established in 1880, and leased to P. F. Bogert (his present partner at Johnsonburg), who conducted it for five years, and then went out worth $25,-000 more than when he came in. In 1886 Mr. McGeehin took charge of the establishment, which he now conducts in connection with his other business, and, although a little out of his line, he has been very successful in securing a very large share of the public patronage. In fact, in all his varied enterprises he has exhibited a business ability of no mean order, and he is emphatically a self-made man. Notwithstanding the pressure of his private business affairs, he finds time to devote to the interests of his town and county, and has held several official positions in. the township and borough. In politics he has always been a Democrat, and although not an office seeker, yet he has never been defeated when he allowed his name to be used in connection with local politics. In February, 1877, Mr. McGeehin married Miss Ellen Laughlin, who was born February 4, 1854, a daughter of Lawrence and Catherine (Collins) Laughlin, and to this union have been born four children: James Lawrence, born April 4, 1878; William, born August 28, 1880; Mary Catherine, born September 1, 1882, and died October 12, 1884, and John Hugh, born June 26, 1887. The family are members of the Catholic Church.
J. S. McGINNIS, furniture dealer and undertaker, Ridgway, was born in the County Armagh, Ireland, in 1845, and in 1847 his parents came to the United States, locating in Boston, Mass., where they lived until 1857, in which year they moved to .AJlegany county, N. Y., where they passed the rest of their lives. J. S. lived in Allegany county until 1865, when he came to Ridgway and engaged in the lumber business until 1886, at the same time carrying on a billiard room. In 1886 he opened a furniture and undertaking establishment, and now has a good trade, having one of the best stocks in his line in the city. Mr. McGinnis is a prominent citizen of the county, and has served as deputy sheriff, county commissioner and treasurer. He married Miss Mary K Warner, of Steuben county, N. Y., and they have four children: Fred W., James E., Eva Evangeline and Gertrude Margaret. Mr. McGinnis and his family are members of the Catholic Church; in politics he is a Democrat.
REV. MICHAEL MEAGHER, Ridgway, was born September 5, 1850 in the parish of Templederry, County Tipperary, Ireland, and is a son of Thomas and Mary (Kennedy) Meagher. His preparatory studies for the priesthood were pursued in his native country, and in the fall of 1869 he came to the United States. Here he entered St. Michael's Seminary, at Pittsburgh, Penn., where he studied philosophy and theology, and was otherwise prepared for his sacred calling. December 19, 1872, he was ordained sub-deacon, and January 10, 1873, was ordained deacon at St. Vincent's College, Westmoreland county, Penn., by the late Bishop Domenec, of Pittsburgh. July 6, 1873, he was ordained priest at the cathedral of Erie, Penn., by Bishop Mullen, and was immediately appointed to take temporary charge of the congregation at Tidioute, Penn. December 17, 1873, he was sent as assistant to Corry, Penn., and June 10, 1874 was appointed rector of the united parishes of Ridgway and Emporium. He is still pastor of St. Leo's Church at Ridgway, and St. Mark's Church of Emporium, Penn., and an account of his labors in the two parishes named will be found in the chapter treating of the history of the churches of Ridgway and Emporium.
B. P. MERCER, of Mercer Bros., proprietors of meat market, Ridgway, was born in Howard county, Md., in December, 1851, son of Isaiah and Harriet A. Mercer, who were married in 1839, and were both natives of Howard county, where B. P. Mercer was reared and educated. He learned the blacksmith's trade, also, in his native county, serving an apprenticeship and working at it there until 1875, when he removed to Elk county, Penn., working at his trade until 1876, when he entered into partnership with his brother, W. F. Mercer, in the meat business in Ridgway, under the firm name of Mercer Bros., and they now own one of the finest and best kept retail markets in Western Pennsylvania. They keep constantly on hand a good supply of all kinds of fresh and salt meats, and aim to meet the varied demands of their customers. Mr. Mercer is a Republican in politics. He has held various official positions, performing the duties devolving upon him. in an efficient and satisfactory manner. He is a member of Ridgway Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. MI.; Lodge No. 1644, K. of H., and Lodge No. 40, I.O.O.F.
G. G. MESSENGER, Ridgway, was born at Sheffield, Warren Co., Penn., April 5, 1842, son of George P. and Henrietta Messenger, native Americans. He was given good educational advantages, completing his school days at Meadville, Penn. He began his business life at Ridgway in 1865, opening a drug store, and has built up a good trade, now having one of the best stores in the city. In 1881 Mr. Messenger was elected associate judge of Elk county, and was re-elected at the expiration of his term. In 1887 he was appointed postmaster at Ridgway, which necessitated the resignation of his office. He has been treasurer of the borough a number of years, and in all his official positions has served to the entire satisfaction of his fellow-townsmen. He is a public spirited, enterprising man, and is one of the prosperous citizens of Ridgway. Mr. Messenger married Maggie L., daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Kinnier, natives of Ireland, and they have two children: Joseph D. K. and Twila Mary. Mrs. Messenger is a member of the Reformed Presbyterian Church.
J. W. MORGESTER, merchant, Ridgway, was born in Erie county, N. Y., in 1850, and lived in his native county until twenty years old, receiving a common-school education. His parents are Joab and Polly (Ensign) Morgester, the former a native of Germany, and the latter of Erie county, N. Y. In 1870 he came to Ridgway, where he engaged in the lumber business about eight years, also in the meantime serving as deputy sheriff. In 1878 he embarked in mercantile business, dealing in groceries, crockery, flour and feed, hay, grain, etc., and has built up a good trade, which is constantly increasing. He is a man of good business ability, and by his integrity and fair dealing has gained the confidence of his patrons. Mr. Morgester married, June 6, 1878, at Brookville, Penn., Miss Jennie L., daughter of Henry A. and Caroline (Russell) Parsons, and they have five children: Ethel L.; John W., Jr.; Laura M.; Mayble Tacoma, and Russell Ensign Morgester. Mr. Morgester is a stanch supporter of the principles of the Republican party, and has served as a member of the borough council; is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and of the Knights of Labor. He and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church.
A. S. MOTTER, photographer, Ridgway, was born in Mifflin county, Penn., January 5, 1848, is a son of Peter and Sarah (Steele) Motter, natives of Pennsylvania. He remained upon the home farm until 1870, when he came to Indiana county, Penn., where he worked as a laborer. In 1883 he went to Brookville, Penn., where he learned the art of photography, and same year came to Ridgway, where he established himself in business, and is now conducting a fine gallery, with a constantly increasing patronage. Mr. Motter married, May 20, 1870, Miss Sarah Updegraff, of Beaver township, Jefferson Co., Penn., and they are the parents of one child, Nettie.
W. H. OSTERHOUT proprietor of the Eagle Valley Tannery, Ridgway, was born in Wawarsing, Ulster Co., N. Y., August 17, 1832, and is a son of Daniel and Catherine (Boggs) Osterhout, also natives of the county named above. Work upon his father's farm, the manufacture of lumber, peeling of bark and attending school occupied his boyhood and youth until he reached the portal of manhood, in 1853. In. that year he entered the Lackawack Tannery, owned by Henry Bange, of New York City, in which he served an apprenticeship until the spring of 1856, when he proceeded, in company with G. W. Northrup 'and Gilbert Polen, to Canadensis, Penn., there to assist in building a tannery, with a view to taking charge of it, but before its completion he was taken sick and had to return home. He then again entered the Lackawack Tannery, where he completed his trade. He afterward took a course of study at Liberty Normal School, and while there received a proposal from Hon. Jackson S. Schultz, to go to Glenwood, Susquehanna Co., Penn., in order to take charge of the Glenwood Tannery, then owned by Schultz, Eaton & Co., and here, December 26, 1857, began his experience in the management of a tannery. August 17, 1858, Mr. Osterhout married Miss Helen Connine, daughter of Maj. Richard Connine, of Wawarsing; the only child by this union, Florence MI., is the wife of B. F. Overholt, of West Overton, Penn. Mr. Osterhout continued to act as foreman at Glenwood until September, 1862, when, with A. A. Eaton, he purchased the Glenwood tannery, the partnership continuing until April 1, 1864, when Mr. Osterhout purchased Mr. Eaton's interest, transferring the same to Eli Rightmyer. After two years of prosperous business Mr. Osterhout bought Mr. Rightmyer' s interest, and conducted the business alone until February 1, 1870, when he sold the entire establishment to Black, Burhans & Clearwater. In the fall of 1870 the subject of these lines removed to Ridgway, where he bought 135 acres of land from 4. S. Hyde, and built his extensive Eagle Valley Tannery and other buildings, aggregating a model establishment, complete in all its appointments, and famous on that account throughout the tanning world. The bark-mill building has four mills, which have the capacity of grinding sixty cords of hemlock bark per day, or 18,000 cords a year. The leach-house is attached to the mill building, forming with it an L, and contains twenty-eight square leaches, 16 ½ x 18 x 7 1/3 feet. The liquid is pumped from the leaches by force-pumps, driven by a thirty-five-horse-power engine; the cooler-house contains ten coolers fifteen feet square and six feet deep; the boiler-house contains the large furnaces and ten boilers, each twenty-two feet long and four feet in diameter, and here is made all the steam for driving the engines and heating the tannery, store, and Mr. Osterhout's dwelling. The main building comprises the beam-house, handlers, yard, scrub-room and rolling-room, and the machinery used is driven by a sixty-five-horse-power engine. In and about the tannery about 160 men are employed; the capacity of the tannery is 250,000 sides per annum, the daily cost of running this immense business being $2,200, and the capital invested rims up into hundreds of thousands of dollars. Mr. Osterhout attends to many of the details with an accuracy that is astonishing, and as a business man he certainly has few equals. In addition to his immense tannery he has a store, managed by C. E. Holaday, where he carries a stock of general merchandise, his sales amounting to about $70,000 per year. His beautiful residence, which is built in the form of a Greek cross, stands in the center of a handsomely terraced yard, commanding a fine view of the works, of the valley and of Ridgway. The residence of his foreman is a pleasant, home-like house, and on the terrace adjoining is the house of his brother, C. D. Osterhout. On the grounds are also a boarding house and forty tenement homes, arranged along wide streets, lined with handsome shade-trees. The buildings are located at the junction of the Philadelphia & Erie and Ridgway & Clearfield Railroads. The entire cost of constructing the dwellings, store and tannery buildings was about $200.000. In 1870 Mr. Osterhout bought from J. S. Hyde the hemlock bark on 1.700 acres; from J. S. Schultz, 4,000 acres, and from other parties 3,000 acres. He has since bought 5,000 acres and the bark on 12,000 acres, making a total bark acreage of 25,700. Notwithstanding the many cares of the great concern which he manages, Mr. Osterhout has found time to serve the people in various local offices, such as county commissioner, school director and supervisor, and he is one of the trustees of the Warren Insane Asylum. He is a director in the Ridgway Gas & Heat Company, and in the Tanners' Mutual Fire Insurance Company, of Pennsylvania; is also a member of the Hamilton Wagon Company, of the firm of Osterhout & Ely, dealers in lumber, and of the Ridgway Publishing Company. He and his family are members of the Congregational Church; in politics Mr. Osterhout is a Republican. In January, 1889, Mr. Osterhout, in order to diminish his cares and give him time for travel, etc., formed an incorporated company, known as the Eagle Valley Tanning Company, he being its president, Mr. G. W. Childs, treasurer and C. P. Osterhout, secretary.
C. P. OSTERHOUT, secretary of the Eagle Valley Tanning Company, and member of the firm of Osterhout & Campbell, proprietors of the Eagle Valley store, Ridgway, Penn., is a native of Lackawack, Ulster Co., N. Y. was born October 9, 1847, and is a son of Daniel and Catherine (Boggs) Osterhout, natives of Ulster county, N. Y. The subject of our sketch was reared on a farm, and received his primary education at the common schools of his native town, subsequently taking a course at Monticello Academy. Mr. Osterhout has been in the tannery industry most of the time since his first experience in business, and for a period of seven years he was foreman of his brother's Eagle Valley Tannery at Ridgway, and in 1888 he became a stockholder in the new firm, the Eagle Valley Tanning Company, of which, as stated above, he is now secretary, the other officers being W. H. Osterhout, president; J. S. Schultz, vice-president, and G. W. Childs, treasurer. He is likewise a member, as also stated at the head of this sketch, of the firm of Osterhout & Campbell, general merchants. In 1874 Mr. Osterhout was married to Miss Lizzie, daughter of William and Cynthia Parks, and to this union have been born. three children - two daughters: Nellie H. and Florence MI., and one son, William P. The family are members of the Congregational Church. Mr. Osterhout is a member of the F. & A. M., and in politics is a Republican.
D. C. OYSTER, president of the Ridgway bank, was born in Horton township, Elk Co., Penn., in 1840. His father, Daniel Oyster, who was a native of Northumberland county, same State, located, in about 1832, in what is now Horton township, where he engaged in farming, and also erected a saw- and grist-mill. He was postmaster several years, and was so serving at the time of his death, in 1852. His family consisted of three sons, two of whom are living (one having been drowned in Lake Erie in 1884), and. four daughters, all living. D. C. Oyster, the subject of these lines, was given good educational advantages, and after leaving school, he bought the old homestead farm, also became proprietor of a hotel, and was appointed postmaster at Hellen. In 1871 he was elected sheriff of Elk county, and served until 1874; was re-elected in 1877, and served until 1880. He sold the homestead, in 1872, to the Lake Erie & Western Coal & Railroad Company, for $35,000, having moved to Ridgway in 1871. In 1874 he was appointed cashier of the Ridgway Bank, which position be held until January, 1890, when he was elected president. Mr. Oyster has been a member of the council since the organization of the borough, with the exception of one term. He is one of the substantial business men of Ridgway, and is connected with various important enterprises in the borough. He is president of the Hamilton Wagon Company, the Ridgway Publishing Company, the New Era Gas Company, and of the Manhattan Machine & Novelty Company. He was one of the organizers in 1875 of the Ridgway Light & Heat Company, which has proved very successful; is a member of the firm of J. H. McEwen & Co. (machine shops), the Oyster & Short Lumber Company, P. C. Oyster & Co. (lumber), and the Ridgway Lumber Company, which manufactures 20,000,000 feet of lumber annually. Mr. Oyster owns numerous extensive tracts of timber-land, being one of the largest land-owners in Elk county, as well as owner of extensive tracts in the adjacent county of Jefferson. In 1884 he built a fine brick residence on the corner of Court and Center streets, opposite the court-house, which is one of the model residence properties in the city. He has always taken an active interest in public affairs, and his popularity is shown by the fact of his election and re-election to official positions in one of the strongest Democratic counties in the State, although he is a stanch supporter of the Republican party. Mr. Oyster married, July 4, 1867, Mary E., daughter of Frederick Mohney, of Clarion county, and they have two children: Frank B. and Hattie L. The entire family are members of the Congregational Church. Mr. Oyster is a member of the F. & A. M., Ridgway Lodge, No. 379, of Elk Chapter, No. 230, of Knapp Commandery, No. 40, K. of T., and of Bloomsburg (Columbia county) Consistory.
JEROME POWELL, of the firm of J. & E. C. Powell, merchants, Ridgway, was born in the borough and county of Warren, Penn., in 1827, a son of Richard and Margaret M. (Holden) Powell. In 1850 he moved to Ridgway, where he established the Elk County Advocate, continuing its publication until 1855. He then embarked in mercantile pursuits, and later also in the manufacture of lumber, in both of which branches he is still engaged. In 1865 he associated with himself, in the mercantile business, Mr. Robert V. Kime, which firm was widely known under the firm name of Powell & Kime during the succeeding twenty-two years, Mr. Kime then retiring from the firm, but still continuing as active manager of the business. Mr. Edgar C. Powell, son of the senior member of the firm, then entered as partner, and the business is now conducted in their large three-story double brick store, on the same spot of ground, under the firm name of J. & E. C. Powell. In politics Mr. Powell is a Republican. Although in no sense an office seeker, preferring his own private business instead, he has held several local offices of some importance. In 1854 he married Miss Amanda E. Horton, who died in 1888, leaving two sons, named, respectively, Edgar C. and Robert 4. Powell, both of whom are now living in Ridgway. The name of Mrs. Powell's father was Isaac Horton; her mother's maiden name was Lucy Warner.
H. M. POWERS, attorney at law and insurance agent, Ridgway, Penn., was born April 20, 1842, in Sweden, Oxford Co., Me., and is a son of Jacob S. and Charlotte (Kimball) Powers, the former a native of Sweden, Me., and the latter of Bridgeton, Cumberland county, same State. He received his early education in Sweden, and completed it at Fryeburg, same county, to which place the family removed in 1854. In 1862 he commenced the study of law at Portland, Me., in the office of Hon. Josiah Drummond, then attorney-general for the State, and in the fall of 1864 he was admitted to practice at the bar at Portland. Late in the year 1865, Mr. Powers came to Ridgway, where he remained during the following winter, being here admitted to the practice, and in April, 1866, he removed to Springfield, Ohio, where, in 1867, he was admitted to the bar. In March, 1870, we again find Mr. Powers in Elk county, whither he had returned, this time engaged in lumbering in Spring Creek township, where he built a saw-mill. In this he continued about a year, and then located in Ridgway, where he has been connected with the Ridgway bank and in the law and insurance business since 1873. Mr. Powers was united in marriage December 29, 1869, with Mary A., daughter of John S. Webster, of Fryeburg, Me., and they have one child, Blanche Webster. The subject of our sketch is a member of Pythagorean Lodge, No. 11, F. & A. MI., of Frye-burg, Me. He is a Republican in politics, has been chairman of the Republican county committee several terms, and in 1884, was a Republican candidate for member of the assembly. In educational matters he takes an active part, having been, ever since Ridgway became a borough, a member of the school board, of which he was president several years.
GEORGE A. RATHBUN, attorney at law, Ridgway, is a native of LeRoy, N. Y., born in 1837, and was reared and educated in his native town, attending the public schools, and also a private academy. In his youth he began the study of surveying, with the intention of making it his life-work, and in 1859 was employed as civil engineer and surveyor on the Sunbury & Erie (now Philadelphia & Erie) Railroad. Before that he had determined to study law for a profession, and in 1856 commenced reading under the instruction of C. F. Bissell, of Le Roy. In 1863 Mr. Rathbun was admitted to the bar, and began his practice at Le Roy, but in December, 1864, he returned to Ridgway, Penn. Here, in 1865, he was appointed deputy recorder, which position he held until 1866, when he was elected prothonotary and recorder, without a dissenting vote, holding the office three years. On December 1, 1869, Mr. Rathbun became associated in the practice of his profession with the Hon. Henry Souther, which partnership continued until February, 1871, at which date Mr. Souther was appointed to the bench by Gov. Geary, Mr. Rathbun being left to continue practice alone. In March, 1869, he was admitted to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, and in October, 1885, to the United States Supreme Court. Mr. Rathbun is a lawyer of much ability, and has met with well-merited success. He has never sought political preferment, his main interest being a successful practice; and he has achieved his early ambition to an enviable degree, as he now stands at the head of his profession. He is public-spirited, and favors all projects that will materially improve his city and county. Mr. Rathbun is president of the Elk County Bar Association, and is chairman of the examining committee. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Olive Branch Lodge, No. 39, and of Le Roy Chapter, No. 183, at Le Roy, N. Y. He received the Templar degrees in Knapp Commandery, K. T., at Ridgway in 1871. Mr. Rathbun was married in December, 1866. He and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church; in politics he is an old-time Democrat.
A. S. ROSS, merchant tailor, Ridgway, son of James H., Sr., and Martha Ross, was born in McVeytown, Muffin Co., Penn., in 1858. In 1870 his parents moved to York, Penn., where he completed his education. After leaving school, he worked for his father, who was proprietor of the National Hotel at York, and after the death of his father succeeded him in business. In 1877 he came to Ridgway and entered the employ of J. S. & W. H. Hyde, and for a time had charge of their mercantile interests at Brockport, and later at Ridgway. He then began the manufacture of brick, and made the brick placed on the market in Elk county. In 1879 he embarked in the general mercantile business at Ridgway, and now has one of the best stores in that place. He is a supporter of Democratic principles, was elected justice of the peace in March, 1882, and served four years, resigning the office in 1886. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge, No. 379; Elk Chapter, No. 240, and Knapp Commandery, No. 40. January 27, 1880, Mr. Ross married Jennie Stout, of Lock Haven, a daughter of Parley Stout.
A. G. ROUNSEVILLE, druggist, Johnsonburg, Quay P. O., was born in Coudersport, Penn., June 17, 1868, and is a son of A. and M. (Holland) Rounseville, who were among the first settlers in Potter county. They were the parents of seven children, of whom A. G. is the third son. He was educated in Coudersport, and entered the drug store of M. S. Thompson when quite young, where he remained one year; then for six months had charge of a drug store for Drs. Breisneck & Hastings, at Costello, Penn., afterward going to Austin, and working for N. H. Hastings. In 1886 he went to Kansas City, Mo., where he entered the laboratory of the medical college, and in 1887 he was appointed president of his class, under the name of Bifer. The same year he engaged with Park, Davis & Co., of Kansas City, Mo., as general manager of their wholesale and retail drug store, remaining there for some time, when he returned to Coudersport, Penn., and studied medicine a short time with Dr. Mattison. In 1888 he came to Johnsonburg, to work for M. A. Lillibridge & Co., in the drug business; they failed, and July 16, 1889, he bought the stock, and is now conducting a prosperous business.
PHILIP SCHIRK, harness-maker, Ridgway, a son of Jacob and Catherine (Schuler) Schirk; natives of Germany, was born in. Warren county, Penn., January 4, 1845, and remained at home with his parents until February 2, 1864. when he entered the United States service, and was assigned to Company D, One Hundred and Eleventh Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, serving until July 19, 1865. He then returned to Warren, where he learned the harness-maker's trade. He married, November 15, 1870, Miss Amelia Reig, of Warren, and they are the parents of four children: Hattie L., Alice A., Leona C. and Katie M. Mr. Schirk came to Ridgway in 1879, where he worked for Jacob Butterfuss, and in 1886 established the shop he now owns. He is a member of Ridgway Post, No. 370, G. A. B.
W. H. SCHRAM, proprietor of the "Hyde House," Ridgway, is a native of Belfast, Allegany Co., N. Y., born June 1, 1826, and is a son of John Schram, a wheelwright by trade. The subject of these lines received his education at the district schools of Cuba, in Allegany county, to which town the family had removed. In the spring of 1834 his father came to Ridgway, where he built the Dickinson mill, and the following winter he brought his family to the place. At this time the number of families in Ridgway did not exceed twelve, and of the members of these families, besides the Schrams, there are now living here only two, Mrs. Houk and Mrs. Dill. John Schram died in 1837. His son, W. H., commenced life for himself at the early age of eleven years, and for some time followed various occupations in New York and Pennsylvania, eventually moving to Jefferson county, Penn., where, until the spring of 1869, he was engaged in the hotel business. In April of the latter year he returned to Ridgway, and took possession of the Hyde House, of which he has since been the genial and courteous landlord. To this hotel he built an addition in the summer of 1885. In February, 1852, Mr. Schram married H. A. Clark, daughter of Dr. A. M. Clark, of Brockwayville, Penn., and they have had four children - two sons and two daughters: J. M., in the hardware business with P. B. Day (firm name Schram & Day), Lucy A. (now Mrs. Dr. D. B. Day, of Ridgway), Nellie (now Mrs. E. J. Miller, of North Carolina) and W. M. (who learned the trade of jeweler, married May G. Gordon, and died five months later). Mr. Schram is a member of Elk Lodge, No. 379, F. & A. MI.; of Elk Chapter, No. 230; of Knapp Commandery, No. 40, and of Caldwell Consistory, Bloomsburg. Politically he was brought up in the ranks of the Democratic party, but since the war of the Rebellion he has given his suffrage to the Republicans.
W. H. STACKPOLE, collector for the Ridgway Light & Heat Company, Ridgway, was born in McVeytown, Penn., July 27, 1864, the third son in a family of eleven children born to E. H. H. and Margaret (Glasglow) Stackpole, natives of Muffin county, Penn. W. H. Stackpole received an education such as the common schools of his county afforded, and when fourteen years of age was employed in a blacksmith shop as an apprentice. In March, 1883, he came to Ridgway, and worked at his trade for the contractors who built the B. R. & P. R. B. The same year he was employed as clerk in the real estate office of Dr. C. B. Earley, remaining one year, when he engaged with Hyde, Murphy & Co., as book-keeper. Since November 15, 1885, he has been employed by the Ridgway Light & Heat Company, as book-keeper and collector. In June, 1889, he, in company with his brother, W. W. Stackpole, started a steam laundry in Ridgway.
H. S. THAYER, lumberman, Ridgway, is a native of Ridgway, Elk Co., Penn., born in 1847, a son of David and Sarah Thayer, former a native of New York, latter of Ireland. They were married in Steuben county, N. Y., and in 1836 located in Ridgway, where the father was engaged in the lumber business, and also kept a hotel and carried the mail in an early day. His first hotel was kept in a primitive way, but as the demands for good accommodations grew in Ridgway he advanced with them, and for several years was proprietor of one of the best houses in the borough, retiring in 1870. He died in 1884, mourned by all who knew him, his widow surviving him but six weeks. They had a family of three children: Esther J. (widow of Hon. George Dickinson), Albina (wife of J. H. Hagerty) and H. S. David Thayer was one of the first sheriffs of Elk county, and a prominent citizen. H. S. Thayer has spent his life in Ridgway, and was given good educational advantages, attending school at Alfred Centre, N. Y., and Adrian, Mich. When he started out for himself he engaged in mercantile business, and has also for some years been largely interested in the manufacture of lumber. He casts his suffrage with the Democratic party, hut is in no sense an office seeker. He married Miss Mary E., daughter of B. F. Ely, and they have two children, Harry and Helen E.
ALBERT THOMPSON, manufacturer of and dealer in lumber, Ridgway, is a native of the town of Berlin, N. H., born February 28, 1839, and is a son of Benjamin and Sarah (Wheeler) Thompson, both natives of the State of Maine, the former of whom died in 1881. Mr. Thompson was brought up on the farm, attending the common schools until the age of eighteen, at which time he entered Gould's Academy at Bethel, Me., remaining one year. On returning from school he studied dentistry with Dr. Josiah Heald, of Portland, Me., and then located at Norway, Me., where he followed his profession four years. In 1865 he came to Ridgway and became a partner with G. T. Wheeler in the lumber business, which copartnership continued four years. Mr. Thompson then removed to his old home in New Hampshire, and there resided engaged in the lumber business with his father until 1881, in which year he returned to Ridgway, and immediately embarked in the lumber business in Elk county, which he is still conducting. His extensive establishment manufactures on an average 6,000,000 feet of lumber per annum. In 1887 Mr. Thompson made a tour through West Virginia, where he purchased some valuable timber lands, and in the following spring organized the Blackwater Boom & Lumber Company, of Davis, W. Va., with himself as manager. This company has a cash capital of $100,000, owns 20,000 acres of land in West Virginia, gives employment to 200 men, and manufactures 12,000,000 feet of lumber per annum. In June, 1861, the subject of our sketch married Miss Mary E. Blake, a native of Norway, Me., and daughter of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Crockett) Blake, by which union there is - one son, Frank E., and one daughter, Sarah Maud. The son graduated from Dartmouth College, New Hampshire, in 1882, and came directly to Ridgway, Penn., where he has since been engaged in the lumber business. He is a young man of considerable business ability, and assumes entire charge of his father's lumbering interests at Ridgwav. At the age of twenty-one, Mr. Albert Thompson was made a F. & A. M., in Oxford Lodge, No. 18, at Norway, Me., and subsequently became a member of King Hiram Royal Arch Chapter of Lewiston, Me., and of Port -land Commandery, Knights Templar, of Portland, Me. In politics he is a stanch Republican; was elected to the State legislature of New Hampshire in 1873, and re-elected in 1875, serving two terms.
MRS. MARY VAUGHAN was born in Ireland in 1847, a daughter of John Healy, and came with her parents to America about 1850. They located in Schuylkill county, Penn., where they lived several years, a part of the time keeping a hotel. The mother is now deceased, and the father lives with his daughter.
Mary Healy was married, in 1865, to John Vaughan, and with him engaged in keeping a hotel, and in 1880 took charge of the Clarion House. Mr. Vaughan died in 1877, and Mrs. Vaughan continues the business, in which she is very successful. She is a woman of fine business ability, and conducts her house with great credit, her table being furnished with the best the market affords, the Clarion House being a favorite resort for the traveling public. Mrs. Vaughan has three children. She is a member of the Catholic Church.
J. T. WAID, M. D., Ridgway, was born at Randolph, Crawford Co., Penn., in 1844, and was there reared and received his elementary education, completing his classical course at Allegheny College, Meadville, Penn. He began the study of medicine with Dr. A. P. Waid, of Centreville, Penn., and took one course of lectures at the University of New York. He afterward took a course of lectures at the University of Buffalo, from which he graduated. He first located at Spartansburg, but in December, 1882, removed to Ridgway, where he now has a good practice. He is a member of the Elk County Medical Society, the Pennsylvania State Medical Society, American Medical Association, the Seventh International Medical Congress, and also the American Society of Microscopists. He is a hard student, and takes advantage of every opportunity offered to better acquaint himself with his profession. The Doctor is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge, No. 379; Elk Chapter, No. 230, and Knapp Commandery, No. 40. He is a member of the First Congregational Church, and takes an active interest in church and Sunday school work; and is also connected with the local and State associations of the Congregational Church. He was married, in 1869, to Miss Louie Eberman, who died in 1882. His present wife was formerly Mrs. C. S. Spencer. The Doctor is a Republican in politics.
WALTER LOWRIE WILLIAMS, M. D., Ridgway, the subject of this sketch, was born at Williamsburg, Clarion Co., Penn., on April 13, 1844, and is the son of Amos Williams, the first treasurer of Clarion county. On July 4, 1861, being then seventeen years of age, he enlisted in Company C, Sixty-second Pennsylvania Volunteers, and served three years, one year as a private and two years as chief bugler of the Second Brigade, First Division, Fifth Corps, under Gen. 3. B. Switzer. During this time he passed through all the Peninsular campaign, and was engaged in nearly all the battles fought by this notable division. After returning from the army, Mr. Williams completed his literary education at Reed Institute, Reedsburg, Penn., from which he graduated, and then commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Thomas, of Freeport, Penn. Later he attended lectures, and finally graduated from the University Medical College, of New York, in 1872. He began the practice of medicine at Fryburg, Penn., and from there removed to Strattonville, Penn. In 1879 he located at Ridgway, Penn., where he has since resided, and since which time he has given his undivided attention to the duties of his profession. Dr. Williams was elected coroner of Elk county in 1880, and held that position until January 1, 1890. He has been surgeon for the Buffalo, Rochester & Pittsburgh Railway Company since 1882, and for the Pennsylvania Railroad Company for a number of years. He is also United States examining surgeon for pensions for Elk county. He has been a member of the Ridgway borough school board since 1887, and in 1888 was elected president of the Elk County Medical Society. Dr. Williams was married on May 10, 1867, to Miss Belle Frampton, of Clarion, Penn. As the fruits of such marriage children are now living as follows: E. Blanche Williams, who has attended the Conservatory of Music at Boston for several terms, and is now teacher of music in Hall Institute, Sharon, Penn.; Samuel W. Williams, at present a student in Rensselaer College, Troy, N. Y.; Amos T. Williams and Mabel A. Williams, both students in the Ridgway high school.
THALIUS WINGFIELD, lumberman, was born in Jacksonville, Va., in 1846. He was reared and educated in his native city, remaining there until 1865, when he moved to Sheffield, Warren Co., Penn., where he was engaged in the lumber business and was also proprietor of a hotel for some time. In 1869 he moved to Ridgway, Elk county, and has since been one of the prominent business men. He is one of the leading lumbermen of the borough, and is also proprietor of the Thayer House, a first-class hotel, well patronized by the traveling public. Mr. Wingfield married Hannah Miller, and they have three children. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, Elk Lodge, No. 379; Elk Chapter, No. 240, B. A. II., and Knapp Commandery, No. 40, K. T. In politics Mr. Wingfield is a Democrat, and has served several years as justice of the peace.
W. E. ZIERDEN, merchant, Johnsonburg, Quay P. 0., was born in New Brunswick, March 1, 1864, the only son in a family of six children born to Nicholas and Rebecca S. (Spofford) Zierden, natives of Germany and New Brunswick, respectively. They came to Williamsport, Penn., from New Brunswick, and were among the early settlers, moving from there to Caledonia, Elk county, where they permanently located. W. E. Zierden completed his education in the Lock Haven State Normal School in 1881. In 1887 he started in mercantile business in Caledonia, and June 26, 1888, sold his store and stock to M. E. Taylor, coming to Johnsonburg in January, 1889, where he has erected a fine brick store and is conducting a prosperous mercantile business. Mr. Zierden married, January 17, 1888, Miss Ella E., daughter of W. E. and Sophia (Winslow) Johnson, who were among the first settlers in Benezette township. Mr. and Mrs. Zierden are the parents of one child, Cecelia A. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Johnsonburg.
Source: Page(s) 717-745, History of Counties of McKean, Elk and Forest, Pennsylvania. Chicago, J.H. Beers & Co., 1890.
Transcribed December 2006 by Nathan Zipfel for the Elk County Genealogy Project
Published 2006 by the Elk County Pennsylvania Genealogy Project
Return to the Elk County Home Page
(c) Elk County Genealogy Project