A Small Remnant of the Parent Township-Original Owners-Conveyances-Ezekiel Lewis and other Pioneers-The Middlesex Presbyterian Church-St. Patrick�s Roman Catholic Church-The Donation Lands-Lutheran Church-Robert Orr, Sr.-Orrsville-Damages of the Tornado of 1860-Sugar Creek and Phillipsburg Ferry Company-Templeton Oilwell-Census and School Statistics-Geology.
The present township of Sugar Creek is a comparatively small remnant of the parent one, left after organizing from what was its original territory, besides the portions of it included in East and West Franklin, 4 townships, 2 boroughs and 1 city.
In the southeastern part is the tract, nearly a square, 356 acres and 147 perches, which appears from the Gapen map to have been claimed by Samuel Kincaide, but the other map shows it to have been the Michael Red tract, about one-half of which is in what is now Washington Township. Red probably settled on it the latter part of the last century. He was assessed, in 1805, with 400 acres, 1 horse and 2 cows, at $142, and the next year, with 300 acres and 4 cattle, at $122, and with 2 distilleries in 1812. Red�s heirs conveyed it as containing 356 acres to Thomas R. McMillen, September 23, 1840, for $100, of which 130 acres were then cleared, and on which were a stone dwelling-house, a square log barn, stillhouse [sic] and other buildings, a meadow, and apple and peach-orchards. McMillen conveyed it to Patrick Red, December 3, 1851, for $5, who by his will dated March 15, and registered June 6, 1854, devised it to his son Charles, the present owner.
Adjoining that Red tract on the north is a tract, a rectangular parallelogram, 386 acres and 136 perches, partly in Washington township, to which Robert Beaty once had a claim, and on which David Henry settled about 1797, with 300 acres of which, 2 horses and 2 cows, he was assessed in 1805 and 1806 at $212, and which was surveyed to him by Ross, deputy surveyor, March 5, 1805. He agreed to convey 162 acres and 136 perches of the northwestern portion of which were surveyed in his lifetime to his son, Stewart Henry, to whom Alexander and Nathaniel Henry, Mrs. Margaret Colwell and the other heirs released that parcel October 8, 1838. He and his son-in-law, James Hutchison, entered into a written agreement march 27, 1850, for the sale and purchase of 100 acres in consideration of the vendor�s proper maintenance during the rest of his live, in pursuance of which the vendee removed thither and entered upon the due performance of his part of the agreement May 6, having given his bond in the penal sum of $2,400 conditioned on such performance. In six weeks and four days thereafter, the vendor died. The vendee subsequently presented his petition to the orphan�s court of this county for the specific performance of that contract, which was the first case of the kind in which the writer was concerned after his admission to the bar. On due proof of the contract and compliance therewith on the part of the vendee, the court ordered and decreed the specific performance thereof April 3, 1851, and the vendor�s administrator accordingly executed a deed tot he vendee. The latter conveyed 50 acres, reserving a strip of the Summit coal-vein in the northeast corner to Sarah Buyers and John E. Gilchrist, June 12, 1858, for $700, 120 acres and the above-mentioned strip of coal to Catherine Olkus, February 6, 1865, for $3,250, and all his interest in that strip of coal to Joseph Sutton, March 1, for $75. The vendor�s administrator, Stewart Henry, Jr., by order of the proper court, conveyed the remaining 68 acres of his father�s land to Hutchison, September 15, 1851, for $619.65.
The other portion of the David Henry tract, 200 acres, was conveyed by James Mechling, sheriff, in proceedings in partition, to Alexander Colwell, Alexander Henry, and Philip Mechling, June 18, 1829, for $420, which they conveyed to Samuel Templeton, Jr., March 9, 1830, for $600.
Adjoining the Beaty-Henry tract on the north is a rectangular one, extending north to the line between the depreciation and donation lands, the major portion of which is in what is now Washington township, where it will be further noticed. Adjoining it on the west and the last-mentioned line on the north is a hexagonal one, 296 � acres, on which John Crawford was the first settler, and with 100 acres of which he was assessed in 1805, at $40, and the next year with the same and 1 horse and 1 cow at $66; to whom the patent for the entire tract was granted December 15, 1826, which he conveyed thus: To Robert G. Crawford, 169 acres and 146 perches, October 20, 1828, for $100, of which the latter conveyed 20 acres and 25 perches to Joseph Thomas, July 13, 1857, for $320; to Andrew Shriver, 129 acres, same day as to Robert G. Crawford, for $---, which Shriver conveyed to Josiah Woodroe [sic], April 13, 1839, which Woodroe conveyed to Sylvanus S. White, April 5, 1841, and which White conveyed to Solomon Wolf, November 8, 1853, for $1,300.
West of the northern and north and northwest of the southern part of that Crawford tract is an irregularly shaped one, 390 acres and 97 perches, at one time claimed by John Blain, on which Ezekiel Lewis made an improvement in March, 1793, and a settlement in April, 1797, surveyed by Ross, April 23, 1802, to whom the warrant was granted March 18, 1805, and the patent September 5, 1809, in which it is called �Lewisburgh [sic],� for $71.78. He was assessed with 200 acres, 3 horses and 1 cow, in 1805, at $176, and the next year with the same, less 1 horse, at $156.
Lewis conveyed �Lewisburgh [sic]� thus: To Andrew Blair, 190 acres and 97 perches of the eastern part, December 8, 1810, for $1, 187 acres of which Joseph Brown, sheriff, sold on judgement in favor of Andrew Kelly against Blair - debt $118, costs $24 - to William Ayres, and conveyed the same to him, September 17, 1816, for $167, who conveyed the same to George and William Byers, December 29, 1819, for $400, Blair having agreed to sell it to George Byers, in April, 1811, for $760. Adam A. Byers conveyed 90 acres and 114 perches to Joseph Thomas, February 11, 1850, for $1,050. George Byers having died intestate, William Dickey, his administrator, by order of the orphan�s court, in proceedings in partition, conveyed 108 acres of this parcel of �Lewisburgh� to John Moore, August 28, 1856, for $1,730.16, which the latter conveyed to Richard Meldrun, September 6, 1864, for $2,160. Lewis conveyed 200 acres, the western part of �Lewisburgh,� to William Lewis, his son, and Peter Pence, his son-in-law, April 17, 1832, for $400 and �natural love and affection,� which they reconveyed to him, March 6, 1833; 125 or 130 acres of which the latter conveyed to Pence, April 5, 1837, for $800. Pence agreed to convey 3 acres, �a rectangular triangle,� one the southwest side of the Kittanning and Fairview road, to James Witherow, September 7, 1846, which the latter agreed to sell to Samuel Caldwell, March 13, 1847, for $175, which, with four more acres, was included in Pence�s deed to Caldwell for $25. Pence conveyed 86 � acres to Platt Sutton for $2,600, and 33 � acres to Joseph Thomas, March 3, 1865, for $1,000.
There was a schoolhouse as early as 1829 in the northeastern portion of �Lewisburgh,� near the intersection of the old Butler and Watterson Ferry road and the one branching northerly from the Kittanning and Brady�s Bend road, about 1 � miles from the town of Middlesex, among the earliest teachers in which were Matthew Brown and Cyrus Kilgore.
Ezekiel Lewis was a citizen of Westmoreland county, and, in the early part of the summer of 1781, volunteered to serve in Captain Campbell�s company of calvary, which constituted a part of Captain Robert Orr�s command, which participated in Col. Archibald Lochery�s disastrous expedition down the Ohio to aid Gen. George Rogers Clark.
Lewis was, among others, captured by the Indians at the mouth of an inlet, since called Lochery�s creek, about ten miles below the mouth of the Miami river. He and his comrades, with their horses, were about landing from their boats to cook their breakfasts on shore, when they encountered a shower of bullets from a large force of Indians lying in ambush. The men shielded themselves as far as they could by placing themselves behind their horses, which were shot down. A number of the men were killed and others wounded, so they were forced to surrender. After being removed to the river-bank, several were killed. Lewis may have avoided the fate by the dark color of his hair, for the Indians spared none with red hair. He ran the gantlet [sic] so swiftly that the Indians could not hit him. They were then taken to Montreal, Canada, and taken over in squads and sold to the English. They suffered so severely from hunger while on their way, that when the Indians killed and dressed a deer and cooked the venison with pieces of its unwashed entrails, they relished the meal thus prepared. The squaws, when the Indians were intoxicated with whisky, hid the prisoners to prevent their being killed, After Lewis was sold to the English, he was clothed and well fed. He and his comrades became weary, so he and four of them escaped, crossed the St. Lawrence and landed near a camp where the Indians were jolly, dancing around their fire. Lewis and his companions having discovered a young bull which the Indians had tied to a tree, intending, no doubt, to feast on him the next day, dispatched him, cut out the best of the meat, took it with them and concealed themselves all the next day, and after traveling all night they were surprised to find themselves in the morning at the point whence they had started. It so happened because clouds obscured the star which they had learned to follow as a guide. After seventeen days� weary traveling they reached a settlement and finally their homes. It is not probable that Lewis subsequently rendered other military services during the Indian troubles. In March, 1793, he came west of the Allegheny, made an extensive examination of the timber-land in what is now East Franklin township, especially near that part of �Hop Yard� now owned by John Brown, and slept, one night, under a white oak which stood west of the present Kittanning and Butler turnpike road, with a rock for his pillow; but not liking what he deemed the scantiness of timber, he traveled northward and selected the tract afterward called �Lewisburgh.� He was very active until his death, which occurred in April, 1850, aged 95 years and 2 months, not long before which the writer saw him at Kittanning, looking quite hale and hearty.
Adjoining the above-mentioned John Crawford tract on the south and the David Henry one on the west, is one, a rectangular parallelogram, length-wise from north to south, but partly defined on the Gapen map, but having the name of John Craig inscribed on it, but which was settled by Philip Templeton in March, 1796, to whom it was surveyed as containing 391 acres and 100 perches by Ross, deputy surveyor, April 23, 1802, and to whom the patent was granted January 30, 1805, in which year he was assessed with this tract, 2 horses and 5 cattle at $258, and the next year with an additional cow at $264. He erected his dwelling-house on the eastern part of the tract, where he resided when he was elected county commissioner in 1818, and until his death, which occurred January 28, 1826. By his will, dated October 24, 1825, and registered February 20, then next, he devised the half of the tract on which he then lived to his wife until the arrival of his son Philip at the age of 21 years, directing the tract to be divided by a straight line, beginning at the Patrick Graham�s line; thence to the big road; thence to the foot of a ten-acre field; thence to where the line crossed, and thence straight to the Crawford line. The eastern half he devised to his son Philip, but if he should die without legal heirs as he did, September, 1876, he directed to be sold and the proceeds to be equally divided between his sons and daughters. To his son John he devised the western part on which the new house was, but if he should die without lawful heirs, as he did not, he directed it to be sold and the proceeds to be divided as in the other case. John conveyed his purpart, 194 acres and 80 perches, to his brother Philip, who had been a successful merchant, May 18, 1864, for $4,000, and removed to Illinois where he afterward died, and which Philip conveyed to the present owner, William Richardson, August 19, 1865, for $5,400.
Adjoining the Templeton tract on the south is, on the Gapen map, a nearly square one, surveyed by Gapen, deputy surveyor, to Patrick Harvey, as containing 402 acres, the central part being traversed southwardly by Long run, and a southern strip of which is in what is now East Franklin township. The records do not show to whom Harvey conveyed his interest. This entire tract was surveyed as containing 394 acres and 148 perches to John Johnston by Ross, deputy surveyor, March 6, 1805, against whom Absalom Woodward had a judgement for �69 14s 7d debt, 9d costs on transcripts, and 3s 9d �damages by occasion of detention of debt.� By virtue of an execution on that judgement, Jonathan King, sheriff, sold Johnston�s interest in 250 acres of this tract to Woodward for $120, and which he conveyed, October 14, 1811, which the later conveyed to Philip Templeton, December 17, for �a stud horse and $50,� and which he conveyed to David Johnston, August 25, 1812, for $225. The records do not show when and for what consideration the latter conveyed this parcel to Patrick Graham. David Johnston obtained a patent for 153 acres and 60 perches of the eastern part of it, February 4, 1815, and conveyed 101 acres and 140 perches of the southern part to Rev. John Dickey, December 6, for $335, to whose estate most of it still belongs.* Johnston conveyed 51 acres and 80 perches of the northern part to John P. Quigley, December 20, 1815, for $100, which the latter conveyed to James C. Porterfield, March 14, 1816, for $160, 50 acres of which he agreed to sell to Samuel Swartzlander, August 31, 1837, for $300, on which he soon after erected his blacksmith shop. Patrick Graham was first assessed with the other part of it, 250 acres, 1 horse and 2 cows in 1818 at $157. By his will, dated May 22, and registered May 31, 1831, he did not devise it, but his widow, Margaret Graham, by her will, dated May 8, 1833, and registered January 24, 1838, devised 50 acres to her son-in-law, Edward McKinney, and 150 acres to her daughter Polly, with 125 acres of which Leander and William Graham are assessed in 1876 at $1,750.
Adjoining that Harvey-Graham-Johnston tract on the west is a rectangular hexagonal one, surveyed by Gapen, deputy surveyor, as containing 421 acres to Nathan Williams, on which Robert Nelson, blacksmith, was an early settler, with 400 acres of which, 1 horse and 2 cows he was assessed in 1805, at $155, and in 1807 with the addition of 1 more cow and a yoke of oxen at $186. By his will, made in 1826, and registered December 20, 1827, he devised this tract, his title to which he had acquired by improvement and settlement, to his niece, Sarah Nelson, who was wooed and won by William Campbell, to whom she conveyed it, February 20, 1827, for $5, and in consideration of the solemnization of their marriage, which by their mutual agreement was soon to occur, with which he and his son John are still assessed-in 1876, at $4,400.
Adjoining the Nelson-Campbell tract on the south is one, a rectangular parallelogram, surveyed by Gapen, deputy surveyor, to Joseph Irwin as containing 396 acres and 18 perches, who perhaps conveyed his interest to McCall. James and William Blain made an improvement and settlement on it in August, 1797, and to whom it was surveyed by Ross, deputy surveyor, as containing 410 acres and 20 perches, November 17, 1803. The whole of the Blain interest seems to have become vested in James, for McCall, to whom the patent was granted October 2, 1828, conveyed 200 acres to him, June 22, 1829, for $1, and Blain by his will, dated March 27, and registered December 6, 1815, devised his purpart equally to his sons, James, John and William. The two last-named conveyed their interests to their brother James, March 3, 1839, for $150 each.
Adjoining the western part of that Irwin-McCall-Blain tract on the north and �Lewisburgh� on the west, its northern boundary being the dividing line between the depreciation and donation lands, is an incompletely defined one, nearly a rectangular parallelogram, on the Gapen map, to which on it Edward McKee appears to have had a claim. John Davis had a subsequent interest in it, against whom Thomas Collins had a judgement for $300 of debt, and $5.20 of costs. By virtue of a vend. ex. Thereon, Alexander Johnston, sheriff of Westmoreland county, sold it to Nicholas Day as containing 200 acres more or less, for $403, and conveyed it to him June 30, 1808, which the latter conveyed to James Fulton, October 31, for $500. On the other map it appears as belonging to Fulton�s heirs, to whom it still chiefly belongs, and as containing 182 acres. Nicholas Snow was first assessed as a blacksmith on this tract, in 1810, who is said to have been the first one within the present limits of Sugar Creek township.
Adjoining the northern part of the Fulton tract on the west and lengthwise along the depreciation and donation line on the north is one on the Gapen map, a rectangular parallelogram, on which is inscribed the name of �John Denniston,� a part of which became vested in John Brown, thus: The patent for it was granted to Charles Campbell and Elisha Wick. Campbell and Denniston, before the latter�s death, became �jointly and severally seized of 250 acres� of it. They entered into and agreement, February 7, 1804, with Brown, who then resided at Salem, Westmoreland county, to sell those 250 acres on which Wick then resided, at 19 shillings an acre. Brown paid the latter in his lifetime $353.14. But the deed not having been executed before his death, the agreement having been proven as provided by the act of March 31, 1792, the court ordered Denniston�s administrators to join with Campbell in the conveyance, which they did, September 21, 1826, in the payment of the balance of the purchase-money, $512, with which , as containing 250 acres, 2 horses and 1 cow, he was first assessed, in 1806, at $146, where he resided when he was commissioned by Governor McKean as a justice of the peace, �for district No. 2, called Buffalo district,� January 1, 1807, and he took his oath of office February 9. He resided on this tract until his death, which by his will, dated February 18 and registered September 22, 1835, he devised to his sons, Matthew and Robert. The latter convened 80 perches on the south side of his purpart, where a schoolhouse had been erected, to the school directors of this township, October 31, 1848, for $1. In 1874-5 a new and larger frame schoolhouse was erected about 125 rods northwesterly from the site of the old one where Joseph McElroy�s blacksmith shop formerly was, at a slight western bend in the Kittanning and Brady�s Bend road, on the Robert Brown purpart, which is adapted to both school and church purposes, and is used for the latter by the Midway Presbyterian church, which was organized by a committee of the Kittanning Presbytery, September 4, 1875, with 46 members*, and the present pastor, Rev. W. J. Wilson**, entered into his pastoral duties April 1, 1876. Members 49; Sabbath-school scholars, 50. John Adams and Daniel Rankin were the first elders.
*The membership has increased to 65. Five adults and fifteen infants have been baptized.
Adjoining the eastern portion of that Brown tract on the south is an octagonal one not fully defined on the Gapen map, bearing the name of �John Barron,� but on the other map that of �John Orr,� and �400a.� What became of Orr�s interest in it is not manifest from the records. Adam Moyers obtained a patent for about 107 acres of the northern part of it, April 13, 1838, which he conveyed to James Hutchison, who conveyed 66 acres and 128 perches, January 20, 1839, who conveyed 13 acres to Harmon Vasbinder, January 16, 1847, for $65, and 57 acres to Matthew Brown, February 29, 1848, for $400. A patent for the other portion of it and some vacant land, an irregularly shaped and comparatively narrow strip or tongue standing from the southwestern part of the tract beyond the Little Buffalo, aggregating 400 acres and 52 perches, was granted to Elijah Davis, June 28, 1838, surveyed June 3, 1837, in pursuance of a warrant granted to Thomas Barr, March 5, 1794. Davis conveyed 230 acres and 47 perches to Joseph Blain, September 1, 1848, for $1,100, 10 acres of which Blain conveyed to Thos. H. Foster August 11, 1855, which the latter conveyed to George Pence, April 3, 1860, for $120. Blain conveyed 145 acres and 103 perches to Foster, June 28, 1838 for $1,747.50. The rest of the Blain purchase has been subsequently owned by Thomas Patton and D. C. Mobley. Davis conveyed 150 acres and 80 perches, including the above-mentioned tongue, and 25 acres and 26 perches of the 150 acres conveyed to McCall to Ebenezer Davis� executors, August 7, 1828, to which their testator had acquired title by previous settlement, to John Cowan, June 29, 1852, for $2,400. Ebenezer Davis was first assessed with a gristmill in 1809, and Elijah Davis with a sawmill in 1815 and a gristmill in 11817, which were situated on the northeastern tributary of Little Buffalo, whose head branches rise respectively in the southwestern part of �Lewisburg� and the southeastern of the Brown tract. These mills were rebuilt by Cowan after his purchase from Davis. Cowan conveyed the two parcels and the mills sold to him by Davis, to John Burford, April 3, 1856, for $5,000, which the latter conveyed to Christopher, James and Thomas H. Foster, April 1, 1859, for $4,400, since known as Foster�s mills, which have been remodeled by them, and their store opened soon after. The postoffice [sic], James Y. Foster, postmaster, was established here May 5, 1862. About 100 rods northeasterly from the mill is the site, 80 perches, �on the road from William Campbell�s to Cowan�s mills,� which John Cowan conveyed to the school directors, February 2, 1849, on which they erected a schoolhouse, which has been recently substituted by a new one on another site, about 50 rods to the north.
Adjoining the Barron-Orr-Davis-et al. Tract on the south and the Williams-Nelson-Campbell one on the west is one, a rectangular parallelogram, on the Gapen map, bearing the name of �John Bell, Sr.,� and �403a.24,� as surveyed to him by Gapen, deputy surveyor, but on the other map is the name of �Samuel Templeton,� and �403a, [sic], about one-sixth of which is in what is now West Franklin township. Bell probably conveyed his inchoate interest in it to Alexander Campbell, which the latter transferred to Archibald McCall in February, 1800, who claimed an undivided interest, to whom the patent was granted, October 2, 1828. He conveyed 150 acres and 38 perches to Samuel Templeton, October 24, 1832, for $1 and certain notes and bonds. Philip Templeton, Sr.,[sic] claimed a part of it as settler�s right. It was his intention to convey the other portion of it to his son, William, but inadvertently omitted to do so in his lifetime, and doubts having been likely to arise as to his intention to make that devise, his other heirs released their respective interests to William, July 10, 1836, who conveyed it to McCall, July 15,, for $250, and which was included in his heirs� conveyance to William F. Johnston, of which he conveyed 20 acres to John Cowan, Sr., August 9, 1853, for $300, and 115 acres and 96 perches to Harmon Vasbinder, October 9, 1886, for $1,600. Twenty acres of this tract having become vested in James C. Burford, he conveyed the same to Christopher Foster April 1, 1859, which he conveyed to James and Thomas H. Foster, March 28, 1865 for $220, being the 20 acres conveyed by Johnston to Cowan. Immediately west of the last-mentioned tract is a hexagonal one, nearly square, on the Gapen map, with �Dan�l Morrison, 432 �� on its face, and traversed southwesterly by the Little Buffalo, but on the other map �Ab�m Lennington & A. McCall, 400,� and in the northern part �Eben�r Davis, 60a.� Lennington and Davis, May 18, 1809, made this trade: Lennington sold Davis the gristmill which he had recently erected and 75 acres of land, in consideration of which Davis sold him his interest in 125 acres of this tract, on which he then lived, and obtained a clear patent therefor as soon as it could be conveniently obtained from McCall, and to pay him $400, thus: �25 March 1, 1810, in rye, at 3 shillings a bushel; �25 in cash, May 1, 1811; �16 13s 4d, March 1, 1812 , in rye, at 3 shillings a bushel, and the last-mentioned annually thereafter until the whole amount of boot money should be paid. Lennington agreed to sell 125 acres adjoining Samuel Templeton, April 12, 1817, for $700. The patent was granted to McCall November 22, 1827, and he conveyed 150 acres to Davis� executors. Davis had agreed in his lifetime to sell those 125 acres to Jacob Schless, but did not execute a deed. Their agreement having been duly proven and the court of common pleas of this county having already judged the same to be sufficient, March 22, 1827, Davis� executors conveyed this parcel to Schless, who conveyed it to Thomas Stewart, April 1, 1830, for $500. His heirs, after his death, released their interests in it to Mary Stewart, who conveyed it to Thomas McKee, April 5, 1847, for $900, which, and seven acres and 98 perches adjoining, he conveyed to his son, William W. McKee, January 17, 1855, for the last-mentioned amount, and he conveyed 125 acres to Jehu and John B. Fulton, April 2, 1868, for $3,475, with which, and 15 more acres, Mrs. Maria Fulton is now assessed. Between this parcel and the other parcel of this tract, 247 acres and 146 perches, which was included in the sale by McCall�s heirs to Johnston, is a narrow strip, 45 acres, belonging to George Elsor, as is seen on J. E. Meredith�s connected draft of several contiguous parcels, and extending a few rods south into what is now West Franklin township. Elsor also occupied a considerable portion of this tract west of that strip, and conveyed 225 acres of it to Benjamin Shaffer, June 28, 1862, for $500, 110 acres of which Shaffer conveyed to George Forster, November 17, 1875, for $300. Elsor�s title to which was acquired by his �living on it for near 30 years,� the southeastern part of which being in what is now West Franklin township.
Adjoining that Morrison-Davis-Lennington-McCall tract on the north is the above-mentioned tongue of land included in the patent to Elijah Davis, immediately north of which on the Gapen map is a partially bounded tract bearing on its face, �Alex�r Craig,� but on the other two tracts, one of which, a pentagon, 112 acres and 13 perches, with the name of �R. McDonald,� which was included in the patent granted to Christian Hockey, November 2, 1807, which he and Abraham Hockey conveyed to John Patton, September 5, 1817, for $100, which Patton conveyed to Robert Orr, Sr., for $300, which he conveyed to John Orr, September 10, 1817, for $800, who conveyed it to James Monteith and Philip Templeton, as guardians and executors in trust for the heirs of McDonald, September 17, for $800. This tract subsequently became vested in James Monteith, and descended to his daughters Mary and Nancy who, with their husbands, William F. Johnston and Dr. John Gilpin, conveyed it to Samuel Dinsmore, April 7, 1840, who conveyed it to Elizabeth Dinsmore, September 26, 1845, and she to Matthew Wilson, to whose estate it belongs, March 12, 1856, for $1,905. It looks on the map as if it had been, though it was not, carved out of the southeastern part of a larger tract adjoining it on the north and west.
That last-mentioned one, 391� acres, a heptagon, with which John Patton was first assessed in 1809, at $145, and to whom the patent was granted February 20, 1810, in the northwestern part of which he built his mansion-house, where he resided when he was elected county commissioner in 1825, near which he established his tannery in 1824. About one-third of this tract is west of the Little Buffalo. By his will, dated April 4, and registered May 8, 1849, he devised to his son James H. a part, including the tannery and its stock and tools, to his son John the other part of his land east, except the sawmill which his three sons were to enjoy equally, and to his son Robert, who was first assessed as a wheelwright in 1826, all west of Little Buffalo creek.
The third schoolhouse in this township was erected in 1821, near John Patton�s mansion-house, some vestiges of which were recently visible.
Adjoining that Patton tract on the north is an incomplete rectangular parallelogram, lengthwise east and west, with the name of �Wm. Denniston.� On the other map it appears in to purparts, with the name of �Thos. Foster,� �250a,� [sic] on the eastern, and �Jno. Gillespie,� �150 a,� the western part of the entire tract. Foster was assessed with 200 acres, 1 horse, 2 cows, and 1 distillery in 1805, at $157. They probably purchased Denniston�s interest, for the patent was granted to Gillespie, May 12, 1818, and he conveyed 250 acres of it to foster June 12, for $1. Foster by his will, dated February 25, and registered December 16, 1839, devised the farm on which he then lived to his son Thomas H., his son James to have one-half the products until 21 years old, he to do one-half the work, and to his sons Christopher and William the farms on which they respectively lived, the three farms to be valued and made equal. Thos. H. is assessed with 242 acres of this tract in 1876 at $1,356.
The first schoolhouse, a primitive log one, erected in 1812, within the present limits of Sugar Creek township, was situated on that part of the Foster Purpart of this tract, near the Painter spring on the farm now owned and occupied by Thomas H. Foster, the first teacher in which was Hugh Rogers of Kittanning.
Gillespie by his will, dated April 5, 1850, and registered January 3, 1856, devised his purpart to his son Henry, who conveyed it thus: 2 acres and 80 perches to I. R. Wick, May 10, 1862, for $75, and 157 acres to William Devinney, April 6, 1872, for $3,950.
Between the Barron-Orr, the Gillespie-Foster tracts and the division line between the depreciation and donation lands is one, a rectangular parallelogram, lengthwise east and west, bearing the name of �John Denniston� on the Gapen, but of �J. Wick� on the other map, on which Elisha and John Wick appear to have been early settlers. Elisha, Sr. Was assessed with 150 acres, 1 horse and 3 cattle in 1805, at $151, and the next year with an additional horse and cow at $171. John was assessed in both these years and in 1807 with the same quantity of land, 1 horse and 2 cattle, at $82, after which his name does not appear on the assessment list.
Elisha Wick, by his will, dated July 17, and registered August 17, 1807, devised 75 acres of the west end to his son Jeremiah, and the rest, about 220 acres, to his son Elisha, whose heirs released their interests in 99 acres to Chambers Wick, September 28, 1854, for $100, and in 121 acres to John R. Wick, January 6, 1855, for the same consideration. Chambers Wick conveyed 99 acres and 71 perches to Thomas Foster, March 16, 1856, for $2,000.
West of that Wick tract is one partly of the same width, which part is nearly a rectangular parallelogram, but the other part is a long narrow strip, extending along line [sic] dividing the depreciation and donation lands, vacant on the Gapen, but with the name of Reuben Burford on the other map, on which he probably settled before 1800, for he was assessed with 300 acres, 1 horse and 5 cattle in 1805, at $183, and with 2 cattle less the next year, at $160. He acquired title thereto by improvement, settlement and residence. By his will, dated August 12, 1847, and registered October 28, 1852, he directed his farm on which he then lived to be divided into three parcels, the eastern one of which he devised to his son Reuben, the western one to his son David, having previously given the central one to his son George, with which parcels they are still respectively assessed.
Adjoining the narrow portion of the Burford tract on the south is a quadrilateral, nearly a triangular one, having two right angles, one acute, and one obtuse angle, contiguous to which on the southeast is a pentagonal one, lengthwise from northeast to southwest, having three right and two obtuse angles, across which on the Gapen map are inscribed, �Daniel Brodhead, Esq. - two tracts.� The records of this county do not show how he disposed of his interest in them. The former consists , on the other map, of two parcels, the smaller of which being a quadri but not an equi lateral [sic] one, in the northwestern part with the inscription, �Widow Gallagher, 100a,� and the larger parcel of similar shape, with the inscription, �John Gillespie & A. McCall, 310a,� the latter of whom probably purchased Brodhead�s interest, and the former was the settler who probably commenced occupying it about 1797, and was assessed with 400 acres and 1 horse in 1805, at $200, and the next year with the land only at $100. The first patent was granted to Gillespie, January 8, 1829, who conveyed 215 acres to McCall, June 20, for 21 [sic], and a second one to McCall, September 9, 1837. Gillespie conveyed the above-mentioned �100a� parcel to Mary Riley, formerly widow Gallagher, March 23, 1844, which she conveyed to Henry Gallagher the same day for $60, to whom the heirs of Adam Gallagher released their respective interests, April 9, for $102.
McCall�s heirs conveyed 55 acres and 40 perches to Daniel Black, June 29, 1846, for $386, and another portion to William F. Johnston, who conveyed 108 acres and 42 perches to Michael Maley, July 2, 1849, for $920.12, and 100 acres and 94 perches to Patrick Lacey, October 5, 1854, for $995.30.
On the other Brodhead tract is this inscription on the other map, �Griffith & heirs of Quin [sic], 410 �a.� The warrant for this tract was granted to James McCoy, February 3, 1794, and the patent to A. McCall, May 22, 1835. It was settled and improved by John Griffin, who was first assessed with 300 acres, 1 horse and 2 cows in 1814, at $182. Partition having been made between him and McCall, the latter conveyed to him 100 acres and 80 perches, June 25, 1837, as settler�s part, who by his will dated February 17, 1840, and registered June 2, 1842, devised this purpart to his son Andrew, who by his will dated November 17, 1853, devised to his son John A., which he conveyed to Theresa and Stephen McCue April 2, 1860, for $1,220. McCall�s heirs conveyed 169 acres and 48 perches to William B. Clymer, January 20, 1852, which the latter by A. N. Mylert, his attorney-in-fact, conveyed to Patrick Red, December 23, 1856, for $1,470.65, in pursuance of an agreement between McCall and Red, June 1, 1852, with 165 acres of which Red was first assessed in 1843, He conveyed 70 perches, including the schoolhouse then erected on it, of this parcel to the school directors of this township, November 24, 1847, for $1. Red conveyed 164 acres to William Robbett, June 10, 1861, for $3,000.
A. McCall conveyed 100 acres and 30 perches of this tract to John McBride, October 22, 1841, for $1,000, which he conveyed to John M. Gillespie, March 3, 1871, and which, with other [sic] 3 acres, the latter conveyed to Francis Miller, April 25, for $3,500.
An early warrant was granted to James Rankin for 385 acres and 86 perches hereabouts, whose interest therein Nicholas Day, as Rankin�s legal representative, conveyed to John Gillespie, February 17, 1813, for $100. Another somewhat later transaction shows the value of personal property in early times in this part of Sugar Creek township. Richard Price sold �1 mare and colt, 3 cows, 3 calves, 5 year-old steers, 1 two-year-old heifer, 10 sheep, 4 lambs, 3 beehives, all the grain in the ground (on the land occupied by Price), oats and flax, all goods and household stuff, and implements of household and husbandry� to Gillespie, June 25, 1817, for $135.18.
West of the narrow portion of the Reuben Burford tract and of the Broadhead [sic]-McCall-Gillespie one is vacant land to the county line on the Gapen map, except narrow strips of the eastern ends of tracts surveyed by Gapen to �Peter Cardan,� �Jonathan Craig,� �Wm. Craig� and �Martha Craig.� on the other map, in the angle formed by the intersection of the line between the depreciation and donation lands with the eastern line of the �Peter Cardan� tract is a nearly square tract, �340a.� Was it �Burns� Surplus� mentioned in George and Thomas Stewardson�s conveyance of 35 acres to John Doulatty, October 23, 1863, for $100?
Patrick Boyle settled 150 acres of the vacant land next below or south of the last above-mentioned tract in 1807, with which he was then assessed at $22.50, 76 acres and 47 perches of which he conveyed to Hugh Boyle, May 23, 1846, for $214.93.
Adjoining the before-mentioned Broadhead-McCall-McCall-Griffin-Quin tract on the southeast is an undefined one on the Gapen map, claimed by �John Denniston,� the patent for which, 400 acres, called "Duncannon," was granted to Samuel Denniston for himself and in trust for the heirs of John Denniston, June 25, 1807. The latter had agreed, March 11, 1797, to convey 150 acres of it to Andrew Bullman, part of the tract on which he had made a settlement, for 1 penny, and making the improvement, settlement, and continuing the actual residence required by law. The deed not having been made before John Dennisiton�s death, the proper court, on due proof of the performance by Bullman of his part of the agreement, ordered decedent�s [sic] administrator to execute to him a deed for that quantity of land, which they accordingly did, June 8, 1809. He, by his will, dated July 18, and registered August 5, 1833, devised his purpart equally to his sons Andrew and Joseph. The former conveyed his interest to the latter, December 24, 1838, for $400, 100 acres of which the latter conveyed to Robert Dickey, June 17, 1839, for $875, who died intestate in 1841, leaving one daughter, whose guardian, George F. Keener, by order of the orphan�s court of this county, sold it to Connell Boyle and Philip Lowe, on Monday, September 1, 1851, for $1,215, 34 acres and 95 perches of which they conveyed to Daniel Boyle, March 15, 1854, for $245, on which he opened his store, and 14 acres and 30 perches to Stephen McCue, the next day, for $125, which he conveyed to his wife, June 29, 1874, for $1,000, which she had received from the estate of her brother, Michael Maloney. Boyle and Lowe subsequently made partition, and Lowe released 54 acres and 132 perches to Boyle on the last-mentioned day, which the latter conveyed to James Forquer, August 13, 1855, which he conveyed to Patrick McBride, March 12, 1859, for $1,000, and which parcel was included in the 90 acres which McBride conveyed to Martin Wick.
Joseph Bullman continued to occupy the rest of this purpart until shortly after he was elected register of wills, recorder of deeds and clerk of the orphans� court of this county in October, 1845. He conveyed 56 acres to Jacob Hepler, Sr., July 27, 1846, for $675, who by his will, dated June 21, 1859, and registered June 17, 1864, devised it equally to his sons Isaac, Jacob, Moses, and Tobias, which they conveyed to Archibald Black, December 18, 1866, and which, with other [sic] 12 acres and 88 perches, a part of the McBride parcel of "Duncannon", he conveyed to Christopher Malone, April 17, 1869, for $1,600.
Samuel Denniston and Nicholas Day, administrators, conveyed 250 acres, the Denniston purpart of "Duncannon", to Hugh Milligan and Robert Wallace, September 11, 1811, for $150, the unpaid balance of $500, in pursuance of an agreement between John Denniston and them, October 21, 1803, 150 acres of which they conveyed to Neil McBride, November 19, 1811, for $560, who by his will, dated April 30, and registered May 9, 1827, devised this parcel equally to his sons John and Miles. The latter conveyed 77 acres and 119 perches to the former, May 22, 1847, for $600, who conveyed 24 acres to Enos McBride, February 1, 1850, for $192, 2 acres and 150 perches to Enos McBride, January 2, 1858, for $50.
Milligan and Wallace conveyed 100 acres of the eastern part of �"Duncannon"� to Robert Boyd, November 19, 1811, for the express consideration of $1, who, by his will, dated February 16, and registered March 22, 1813, devised this parcel to his heirs equally, except Elizabeth, after the death of his wife, whom, and his son John, he appointed his executors. It continued to be occupied by Mrs. Boyd, to whom it was assessed until 1849, when it was transferred to Thomas Burns.
It may be remarked in passing that Burns was a stanch opponent of the county superintendency until the winter of 1859, because he thought the superintendent�s salary was paid out of the school or county tax. Then he happened to be present when that officer visited the school in the Quinn schoolhouse, and remarked to another citizen of this township, that if necessary he would �willingly pay a dollar more of tax to keep the superintendency.
This tract was named after "Duncannon", a maritime village on Waterford harbor, in Leinster, county of Wexford, Ireland.
Immediately east of "Duncannon" is vacant land on the Gapen map, but on the other it appears to have been Abraham Hockey�s. He settled on it quite early, and built a gristmill on a western tributary of Little Buffalo, it is said, in 1800, with which, 100 acres, 2 horses and 4 cattle he was assessed in 1805, at $142, and the next year with one cow less, at $136. Anthony Cravenor having obtained judgement against him for $492.43, exclusive of costs and interest, a writ of fi. fa. was issued, by virtue of which Jacob Mechling, sheriff, levied on 110 acres, on which he returned, there appeared to be �no cleared land,� but �with a shingle-roofed house, cabin-house and gristmill thereon erected.� A writ of vend. ex. was issued to No. 86, December term, 1830, on which it was sold by James Douglass, then sheriff of this county, to Cravenor, the plaintiff, for $450. This property afterward became vested - the records do not show how - in Rev. R. P. O�Neal, who, by William Gallagher, his attorney-in-fact, conveying 110 acres to Stephen McCue, January 20, 1862, for $20. It was occupied several years by Francis O�Neal, noted for his singularities.
The vacant land south of that Hockey-O�Neal tract and �"Duncannon"� was settled very early by Christian Hockey, to whom 300 acres were assessed in 1805-6, at $140. He was some years afterward assessed with only 100 acres - the last time in 1827. Peter Hockey was afterward assessed with 30 and John Hockey with 73 acres, who is still assessed with 75 acres, at $975.
Adjoining the last-mentioned parcel on the east or southeast is vacant land on which Nathaniel Patterson made an improvement and settlement in or about 1820. (See West Franklin township.)
There is a considerable scope of country west and southwest of "Duncannon" which appears on both maps to be vacant. It, however, embraces 97 acres and 35 perches of the Thomas Hindman tract, (See West Franklin township.) which his sole lineal heir, John Hindman, conveyed to Daniel Boyle, June 6, 1843, for $900. About 320 acres, perhaps more, were vacant. Stephen McCue obtained a patent for about 120 acres adjoining "Duncannon" on the east, which George Smith, sheriff, sold to Alexander Colwell, on a judgement in favor of William Crow, and conveyed the same to him December 18, 1844, which Colwell conveyed to McCue, November 20, 1851, for $611, on which he erected his distillery, with which he was first assessed in 1864. (He conveyed this tract to his son Stephen, June 21, 1877, for $7,500. )
North of that tract was one of 117 acres, to which Owen Quinn acquired title by early improvement, settlement and residence, with which and 83 more acres and 4 cattle he was assessed, in 1805, at $112. Having died intestate without obtaining a patent, it was granted to his son Henry in trust for Owen�s heirs, September 30, 1847. The interests of the other heirs - Owen left eight children - were transferred by releases of all but James, who devised his interest to James McElroy, to Mary Bromfield, James McElroy and Henry Quinn [sic], who conveyed 39 acres to Stephen McCue, February 15, 1858, for $1,287. By an amicable partition Mrs. Bromfield became possessed in severalty of 39 acres, which by article of agreement April 4, 1868, she agreed to sell to William Robbitt [sic] for $1,000, and which she afterward, March 31, 1874, conveyed to Stephen McCue for $1,000. The claims of these two vendees of course clashed, which were adjusted by an agreement between them that McCue should pay Robbitt $950 out of the money he expected to receive from John Graham, Jr., to whom he had sold this and some other parcels of land, and if the latter neglected to pay, McCue was to pay Robbitt. Hence arose litigation on that agreement, namely: Robbitt vs. McCue, No. 292, June tern, 1875, in the common pleas of this county. (The verdict was rendered March 12, 1877, in favor of the plaintiff for $1,064.)
McCue conveyed 130 acres and 91 perches, including the last-mentioned parcel, which he had purchased form Mrs. Bromfield, to John Graham, Jr., April 17, 1875, for $6,000.
ST. PATRICK�S CHURCH
The above-mentioned church is located in Sugar Creek township, and its congregation is composed of people of this and Butler counties. The Catholic settlers of 1796 mainly located in Butler county. The first priest who visited the settlement was Father Lanigan, who performed baptisms here in 1801. The first visit was made by Rev. P. Heilbron, in 1803, who also performed baptismal services at Sugar Creek and Slippery Rock. In 1805,* Rev. Lawrence Sylvester Phelau- [sic] also known as Father Whelen or Whalen - came to Sugar Creek, and located where the church was subsequently built. The Catholic people were greatly pleased with the thought of having a priest among them, and, soon after Father Phelan�s [sic] arrival, held a meeting to devise measures for securing him a home and building a church. It was decided to send men among all the Catholics to solicit donations. The territory to be canvassed was at least fifteen miles square. Four collectors were chosen and districts assigned to them as follows: Casper W. Easly took the southern district, near Slate Lick; James Sheridan the southwestern, or Clearfield township; Neil Sweeney took Butler and vicinity, and C. Rodgers McCue the north and northwestern, or Donegal township. These solicitors were successful in their mission, although they received no subscription larger than the sum of $2.
The present farm, consisting of nearly 200 acres, was purchased and a small log cabin was built for the priest. Then, upon a certain day, each of the four who had solicited subscriptions was required to meet at the farm, bringing with him as many men as would be required to cut and hew logs enough for one side of the church. Patrick McElroy was assigned the work of making shingles and obtaining and driving the nails. The building was erected the fall after Father Phelan�s arrival, but, as nails could not be secured, it was not roofed until next spring. It was then put under the invocation of the Apostle of Ireland. The building is still standing. It is 22 V 35 feet, with a gallery and altar standing against the end wall. Each side contains three small windows, and each end of the gallery one. This is the oldest Catholic church now standing in the entire western part of the state. It was attended by people from all the surrounding country for ten miles or more. People often walked ten or twelve miles, fasting, to be present at the services. The stations which the priest was obliged to visit were so numerous, and so far apart, that mass was not celebrated more than once a month, and, in some instances, one in two months. There was then but one priest in the whole district west of the Allegheny river from Erie to Beaver.
Father Phelan withdrew in 1810. From 1810 to 1820 the congregation was visited occasionally by Fathers O�Brien and McGuire, from Pittsburgh, and by Father McGirr, from Sportsman�s Hill. In 1821, Rev. Charles Ferry came to the church and resided here. He visited all the surrounding district, a territory at least thirty miles square, which was then estimated to contain about 140 families. He remained until 1827, when he was succeeded by Rev. Patrick O�Neil, the first resident priest at St, Patrick�s, who also performed missionary work in Butler, Armstrong and adjacent counties. He remained until 1834, and subsequently was engaged in missionary labors in the West. He died in 1879, in the 84th year of his age, and the 58th of his ministry.
In the summer of 1834, Rev. Patrick Rafferty was placed in charge of the mission and resided at Freeport, visiting St. Patrick�s one Sunday in a month. He remained in charge about two years, then withdrew. He was the pastor of St. Francis church, Fairmount, Philadelphia, and died in that position in 1863. He was a man of great learning and ability. St. Patrick�s remained without a pastor until the summer of 1837, when Rev. Joseph Cody was appointed to the pastorate and took up his residence at the church. Mass was celebrated here two Sundays in the month, the remainder of the pastor�s time being given to Freeport and Butler. By 1840, the congregation had become so large that a larger church was needed. A brick edifice, 45 V 80 feet, with a sacristy, a separate building against the rear of the church, was erected. It was dedicated July 29, 1842, by Very Rev. M. O�Connor, V. G. In 1844, the pastor�s field of labor was rendered somewhat smaller by the appointment of a pastor at Butler, who also had charge of Murrinsville and Mercer. Father Cody, however, visited Brady�s Bend occasionally, and a little later officiated at the newly established church at Donegal (now North Oakland). In 1847, Freeport and Brady�s Bend were assigned to another priest, and thenceforth Father Cody gave three-fourths of his time to St. Patrick�s and the remainder to North Oakland. In 1854, the log parsonage was replaced by a brick residence, After about the year 1861, Father Cody, on account of age and failing health, ministered only to St. Patrick�s congregation. At length he was obliged to cease from labor, and at the end of the year 1865, Rev. J. O. G. Scanlan [sic] was transferred from Kittanning to St. Patrick�s. Father Cody soon afterward went to the Mercy hospital, Pittsburgh, where he died August 7, 1871, in the 70th year of his age. He was buried from St. Patrick�s, and his remains repose in front of the church.
Father Scanlon [sic] set about improving the interior of the church, but before the work could be accomplished he was transferred to another congregation, and Rev. James P. Tahany became the pastor in October, 1868. He collected means and carried out the proposed improvements and the church became one of the most beautiful in the diocese. In November, 1871, Father Tahany was succeeded by Rev. S. P. Herman. On the night of January 1, 1872, the church was destroyed by an incendiary fire. It was a severe loss, as there was still a small debt and no insurance. The congregation then returned to the old log church as a place of worship. Rev. Thomas Fitzgerald became pastor and remained about a year. He was succeeded by Rev. P. M. Doyle, who remained in charge until the fall of 1875, when he was obliged to retire on account of ill health. He died in July, 1876, in the 47th year of his age and the 22d [sic] of his ministry.
On the 9th of January, 1876, Rev. P. J. Quilter became the pastor. He at once took measures to replace the church which had been destroyed, and succeeded well. The corner-stone of the structure was laid August 5, 1876, with ceremonies by the bishop. The church was finished the next summer and dedicated by Very Rev. R. Phelan, administrator of Allegheny, on the 3d [sic] of July. The building is of Gothic style, brick, 45 V 90 feet, with a basement. It is furnished with three altars and beautifully finished. Butts, of Pittsburgh, was the architect, and William Fiegel, of Butler, contractor. There was perfect harmony between Father Quilter and all concerned in building the church. It was only by a great effort that the congregation was able to erect so large and costly an edifice. The debt is now reduced to $1,800, The membership is about 100 families at present. Oil developments gave the church a temporary increase. Millerstown, a new parish, is under the care of St. Patrick�s.
HISTORY OF THE DONATION LANDS
Thus ends the sketch of that part of the present township of Sugar Creek south of the division line between the depreciation and donation lands.
Before commencing the sketch of its northern half, a brief account of those donation lands is here requisite. It was enacted by section 5 of the act of assembly of March 12, 1783, for the purpose of effectually complying with the letter and intention of their resolve of March 7, 1780, promising to the officers and privates belonging to this state, in the federal army, certain donations and quantities of land, according to their several ranks, to be surveyed and divided off to them severally at the end of the war, a donation district be appropriated thus: A certain tract of country, beginning at the mouth of �Mogulbughtiton� creek (now Mahoning); thence up the Allegheny river to the mouth of �Caguawaga� creek; thence due north to the north boundary of the state; thence west to the northwest corner of the state; thence south by the western boundary of the state to the northwest corner of the depreciation lands, and thence by these lands to the place of beginning; and was divided into ten districts, which were numbered 1, 2, 3, and so on, That portion of this county lying between the division line separating the depreciation and donation lands and a parallel line extending due west from a short distance below the foot of the bend in the Allegheny river, just above Hillville, to the Butler county line, constituted the first donation district. The act of March 12, 1783, further provided that former improvements on these donation lands should be null and void; that officers and privates entitled to land should make their applications within two years after peace, which by subsequent acts was extended, the last limitation ceasing April 1, 1810; and that they should not sell their shares of land before they were actually surveyed. By the act of March 16, 1785, such lands were exempted from taxation during the life of the officer or soldier, unless the same were aliened to another person or persons. The appointment of deputy surveyors to survey and lay off in lots the donation lands. [sic] It was provided by the same act, among other things, that all officers and soldiers of Pennsylvania regiments, or of independent corps, acknowledged by this state as of its quota in the Federal army, officers who were citizens of this state when they entered the service, not attached to the line of any state, who had served therein until the close of the war; such officers who had been �deranged by the regulations and arrangements of the army according to the act of Congress� of October, 1780, or at any subsequent period of the war; and the widows and children of those officers and privates who had been slain in battle, or died in the service, should be entitled to lands according to their pay and rank just before they left they service, except such rank as was obtained by brevet unless paid in accordance therewith by the United States; that the lots should be of four descriptions, one to contain 500 acres each, another 300 acres each, another 250 acres each, and another 200 acres each, with the usual allowances; that a quantity equal to what might be necessary for the major-generals, brigadier-generals, colonels, captains, and two-thirds of the lieutenant-colonels, should be laid off into lots of 500 acres each; a quantity equal to what might be necessary for the regimental surgeons and mates, chaplains, majors and ensigns, into lots of 300 acres each; a quantity equal to what might be necessary for one-third of the lieutenant-colonels for the sergeants, sergeant-majors, and quartermaster-sergeants, into lots of 250 acres each; and a quantity equal to what might be necessary for the lieutenants, corporals, drummers, fifers, drum-majors, fife-majors and privates, into lots of 200 acres each.
The surveyor-general and each of his deputies were required to be sworn or affirmed that in laying off those lots he would not select the best land, either as to quality or situation, to favor anyone of those four classes of lots to the prejudice or injury of the others, or of this state, and in running the boundary lines of the lots, each surveyor should cause them to be well defined, by marking the trees on the lines, at small distances, and particularly the angles, and on the northwestern corner-tree of each lot should be marked, in Roman figures, the number of the lot, but if there should be a post at any such corner, on the tree in the lot nearest to the post. When all the lots had been laid off, a draft of them should be made, which should be deposited in rolls-office after all the applications were satisfied. The supreme executive council was required to cause numbers, corresponding to each of the four classes, to be made on square pieces of white paper of uniform size, or as nearly so as might be, and in their presence to roll and bind well those numbers separately and carefully, with silken thread, as uniformly as possible, and deposit them in four wheels, �like unto lottery wheels,� which, before any applicant should be permitted to draw therefrom, should be repeatedly �well turned round.� Those wheels were to be safely kept and remain sealed, except when drawn from, under the direction of a committee of three members of the supreme executive council, who were to judge and determine on the right of each applicant to receive grants of land, with the right of appeal in all cases of doubt and difficulty to the supreme executive council, whose decision thereon was final and conclusive. The successful applicants were entitled to draw thus: A major-general, 4 tickets from the wheel containing the numbers on the 500-acre lots; a brigadier-general, 3 tickets; a colonel, 2 tickets; a lieutenant-colonel; 1 from that wheel and 1 from the wheel containing the numbers on the 250-acre lots; a surgeon, chaplain or major, each 2 tickets from the wheel containing the numbers on the 300-acre lots; a captain, 1 ticket from the wheel containing the numbers on the 500-acre lots; a lieutenant, 2 tickets from the wheel containing the numbers on the 200-acre lots; an ensign, or regimental surgeon�s mate, respectively, 1 ticket from the wheel containing the numbers on the 300-acre lots; a sergeant, sergeant-major or quartermaster-sergeant, respectively, 1 ticket from the wheel containing the numbers on the 250-acre lots; a drum-major, fife-major, drummer, fifer, corporal or private, respectively, 1 ticket from the wheel containing the numbers on the 200-acre lots. Before the boundary line between Pennsylvania and New York was definitely established, some of the donation lots were laid off on territory of the latter state. It was provided by acts of April 5, 1793, and February 23, 1801, that those who had drawn lots in that territory should be allowed, under prescribed regulations, to draw others in lieu of them from the undrawn ones in any of the donation districts within this state. After April 1, 1810, the undrawn donation lots reverted to the commonwealth, which were to be disposed of in such manner as the legislature should thereafter by law direct.
By the act of April 9, 1828, the secretary of the land office was authorized to extend the provisions of the act to encourage the warranting and patenting of lands north and west of the Ohio and Allegheny rivers and Conewango creek, passed March 1, 1811, to the settlers or owners of the undrawn donation lands.
As the Gapen map of surveys does not extent northwardly beyond the division line between the depreciation and donation lands, the other heretofore-mentioned map is the only one representing the early surveys in the west of Sugar Creek township, on which at the southwestern part of the donation lands in this township is one, a rectangular parallelogram, 400 acres, for which a warrant was granted to John Cox March 1, 1797, whose interest was probably purchased by Charles Campbell, to whom the patent was granted July 28, 1817. Robert McCutcheon settled on it first. He was assessed with it, with 2 horses and 2 cows, in 1805 and 1806, at $122. There was an early agreement between him and Campbell that he should have 200 acres and one-half of the excess of 400 acres that might be in the tract at the valuation made by two or three respectable freeholders, with such proof of settlement as would enable Campbell to obtain the patent. McCutcheon conveyed his interest in the major part on the depreciation and donation line, June 7, 1807. It appears from the map that 150 acres of the northern part were laid off to McCutcheon, who sold or agreed to sell 50 acres of the northern part to Dennis Quinn, and agreed to convey the other part, 100 acres, to William D. McCutcheon, June 15, 1809, for $500 in annual payments. That McCutcheon purpart, 150 acres, was sold by Robert Robinson, sheriff, on Vend. Ex. No 88, September term, 1823, in Philip Mechling, late sheriff, vs. Robert and William D. McCutcheon, to William Ayres and John Bredin for $230, 50 acres of which they conveyed to Dennis Quinn, February 5, 1842, for $100, having previously sold to him the other 100 acres, which last-mentioned parcel he conveyed to John Boyle, January 5, 1846, for $600, with which the latter is assessed in 1876 at $1,400. Quinn appears to have been in possession of the Campbell half of the excess over 400 acres, which Campbell had sold or agreed to sell to James Wilson, who instituted an ejectment for it against Quinn to No. 64, June term, 1843, in the common pleas of this county, which was tried and resulted in a verdict for Wilson for 48 acres to be released on payment of $140.67, in twelve months from September 15, 1844, which Wilson conveyed to Quinn, October 2, 1845. Quinn conveyed one-fourth of an acre on the eastern part of his land to the school directors of this township for school purposes about April 9, 1839, in which is what is known as the Quinn schoolhouse.
Adjoining the Campbell-McCutcheon tract on the north is one of the same shape, 439 acres and 101 perches, contiguous to which on the north, chiefly in what is now Brady�s Bend township, is another, 436 acres and 108 perches, for both of which patents were granted to Charles Campbell, and the two together were named �Campbelltown,� on which Nicholas Allimong and his family were early settlers, which Campbell, in Allimong�s lifetime, agreed to convey to him, and which he did convey to his executors, Jacob Allimong and Jonathan King, in trust for his legatees, August 19, 1809, and those executors the same day conveyed the southern tract, or southern half of �Campbelltown,� and part of the northern thus: 200 acres by King to Jacob Allimong, 100 acres to Elizabeth Shectley [sic], and 200 acres to Susannah Wiles. Mrs. Wiles, her husband, [sic] conveyed 118 acres and 158 perches of her purpart to Frederick Wiles, September 21, 1841, for $400, which he conveyed to William McCrea, May 14, 1842, for $1,250, and 117 acres and 40 perches to Samuel S. Sanderson, April 16, 1851, for $1,260.43, which by his will, dated January 15, and registered May 21, 1872, devised to his son James. Mrs. Shectley [sic] conveyed her purpart to David Sheakley, October 1, 1853, for $850.
There is a narrow strip of the northern tract of �Campbelltown� in this township, on which Harrison Miller resides, being a part of his purchase elsewhere mentioned, (Vide Brady's Bend) together with the southern part of the tract adjoining it on the east.
Jacob Allimong by his will, dated March 15, and registered April 12, 1823, devised and bequeathed all his property to his wife so long as she retained his name. He directed his real estate to be sold after her death for the best price that could be obtained, and the money arising from its sale to be divided among his son John and the latter�s four children, 151 acres of which Jacob Allimong�s grandchildren conveyed to James E. Brown, November 5, 1852, for $45.25, which he conveyed to Samuel Sanderson March 9, 1852, for $1,510, 15 acres and 74 perches of which Sanderson conveyed to James Patty, November 6, 1858, for $400, 8 acres and 44 perches of which Patty conveyed to John McSweeney, and which he conveyed to David Byers, April 4, 1865, for $325.
Adjoining South �Campbelltown� on the west is a tract which seems to have been originally a rectangular parallelogram that contained about 400 acres, the warrant for which was granted to James Buchanan, from the southeastern part of which a smaller parallelogram appears to have been laid off to John Boyers, but when it was the records do not show. It was first settled by Valentine Snyder, probably about 1797 or 1798, with 244 acres of which and 1 cow he was assessed in 1805-6, at $102.60. He transferred his interest in it to Samuel Sanderson in 1807, who was then assessed with 369 acres and one cow, at $169.60. This tract afterward was known as the �Sanderson tract.� The indication on the map is, that James Ramsey settled on it, who was first assessed in Sugar Creek township in 1809. The inchoate title to this tract became vested in Charles Campbell. James Campbell�s executors obtained a judgement against his executors for $3,436.95 debt, and for $3.50 costs, on which a writ of Vend. Ex. Was issued by virtue of which Jacob Mechling sold it and several other tracts to Daniel Stannard, of the borough of Indiana, and conveyed it and them to him, December 7, 1828, for $780. It was included among the three tracts which James Campbell agreed to convey to Dr. John Gilpin, December 12, 1838, and which three tracts Stannard, by Campbell�s direction, conveyed to Gilpin, January 29, 1840, for $4,650, the patent having been granted to the latter for 383 acres and 56 perches, January 9, 1839, which he conveyed thus: 2 acres to Peter Keemeser [sic] and Henry Wiles, April 9, 1840, for $40; 17 acres and 112 perches to William Morgan, August 9, 1847, for $255; and 100 acres and 1 perch to Thomas Rockett, January 30, 1848, for $2,400; 54 acres and 64 perches to William Reese, March 22, 1852, for $800; 19 acres and 120 perches to Catherine Byers, May 12, 1862, for $439.75; 126 acres and 32 perches, reserving 2 acres above mentioned, �sold to and occupied by a German churchyard and burial-place,� to Henry Bol., May 30, 1866, for $3,786, 28 perches of which he conveyed to Jacob Ellenberger, David L. and William Kemerer [sic], David King, William Millison, David Sheakley, and George Vensel and their successors, consisting of St. Paul�s Reformed church in the United States, August 19, 1871, for $25, and 126 acres and 32 perches with the reservation of the 2-acre church lot, 20 acres theretofore sold to Thomas W. George and the privilege of the spring of water southeast from the church edifice which had been granted by Bolz to St. Paul�s church, leaving 106 acres to Michael Myers, May 14, 1873, for $13,500.
About 1835 Rev. Sweitzerbort of Butler county commenced holding religious services among the Lutherans, who had settled here and hereabout [sic], and were members of the White church in that county, preaching at first to congregations in private houses, barns and the grove, which resulted in the organization of the Evangelical Lutheran church of Sugar Creek township. In the course of about four years the congregation erected a church edifice, frame, and about 40 � 50 feet, hight [sic] of ceiling 12 feet, which had not been completed and furnished when it was broken down by the weight of the heavy snow on New Year�s night, 1840. Its site was on the above-mentioned two-acre parcel, the legal title to which being in Henry Wiles and Peter Kemerer, they conveyed it to John Ellenberger, Joseph King, John Marchand, David Snyder and Barnhart Vensel, trustees of the Evangelical Lutheran church, and John Boyers, Adam and Daniel Kemerer, John Millison and Frederick Wiles, Jr., trustees of the Presbyterian (?) Church of Sugar Creek township, and their successors, April 20, 1841, for $40, the St. Paul�s having been organized about that time with Rev. Mr. Dale as pastor, and soon after erected their present church edifice, frame, 34 � 50 feet, hight [sic] of ceiling 16 feet, substantially built and painted white and neatly furnished. The next pastor was Rev. J. W. Alspach, who and several members of the church presented to the court of common pleas of this county a bill in equity, praying that the deed from Kemmerer and Wiles to the trustees of both the last-mentioned congregations might be reformed by striking out the word �Presbyterian� wherever it occurred [sic] in the deed, and inserting in lieu thereof the word �Reformed.� It having been duly proven that the former had by mistake been inserted instead of the latter, the court ordered and decreed, December 22, that the mistake be corrected as prayed for. The membership of this church is quite large, probably exceeding 150 members, with a Sabbath school of about 100 scholars. The writer regrets that he has not been able to obtain from the records of these churches more detailed statements of facts.
The above-mentioned 100-acre tract, which appears to have been surveyed off the �Sanderson Tract,� was settled by John Boyers - spelled Buyers for a few years on the assessment-list - in 1810, when he was first assessed with 100 acres at $100, to whom the patent was granted, May 5, 1818, which he conveyed to David Boyers, February 17, 1849, with certain reservations during his and his wife�s lives, on condition and in consideration of the grantee�s paying him annually certain quantities of grain and provisions, and which, as containing 113 acres and 84 perches, strict measure, he conveyed to Thomas Foster, Jr., February 27, 1868, for $4,600.
Contiguous to those Boyers and Sanderson tracts on the south is one, a rectangular parallelogram, 413 acres, 46 perches, adjoining the division line between depreciation and donation lands on the south, early settled by Josiah White, to whom the warrant was granted April 19, 1804, surveyed January 29, 1805, and the patent was issued to him March 25, 1818. He was assessed with 200 acres and 1 horse in 1805 and 1806, at $110. He conveyed 219 acres and 49 perches of the northern part to Daniel B. Heiner and John Mechling, March 7, 1839, for $3,000, which they conveyed to James Wilson, April 1, 1840, for $4,400. He, by his will dated November 19, 1870, and registered February 22, 1871, devised it to his wife during her life, and directed it to be sold as soon as convenient after her death, and the proceeds of the sale to be divided among his children, so that each one�s share after deducting his or her bequest be equal.
White conveyed 207 acres of the southern part to Andrew Schriver, April 7, 1845, for $1,700, who conveyed 50 acres and 12 perches to John McLaughlin, April 1, 1848, for $500; 105 acres to Thomas P. Jenkins, April 1, 1859, for $1,700, and 52 acres to David Bish, June 7, 1847, for $500, which the latter conveyed to John McLaughlin, April 4, 1857, for $714.
Adjoining the White tract on the east is one of the same shape and area, bounded by the division line between depreciation and donation lands on the south, the warrant for which was granted to John Chambers March 1, 1794, who probably conveyed his interest in it to Robert Cathcart, and he to Leonard Trees, who seems to have been the first settler. He was assessed with 100 acres, 1 horse and 3 cows, in 1805, and the next year with an additional head of cattle, at $126. The patent was granted to him January 24, 1809. He and his stepson, Charles Ellenberger, entered into a written agreement September 17, 1808, by which he agreed to sell Ellenberger the southern part of this tract, including the orchard, upland, meadow and pasture, and all his live stock, excepting a piece of meadow near the house and some of the live stock, in consideration of which Ellenberger agreed to pay Cathcart what was due on the land, all of Trees� debts, and deliver to him annually certain quantities of grain, provisions, and , if required, �ten gallons of good whisky [sic],� and do certain work in case of Trees� inability to do it. Thus continued that domestic arrangement respecting that portion of this tract until August 12, 1812, when Trees conveyed 100 acres to Ellenberger for $100, and 89 acres and 60 perches to Peter Hummon for $89. Ellenberger, by agreement, October 22, 1847, conveyed 200 acres to Tobias Hepler, in consideration of maintenance, etc., which the latter conveyed to Charles Seckler, April 15, 1869, for $6,500, which he conveyed to Joseph McElroy, May 15, 1874, for $10,500. Hummon having removed to Crawford county, Ohio, by William Green, his attorney-in-fact, conveyed his parcel to William Devinney, January 18, 1833, for $700, 14 acres and 38 perches of which he conveyed to Dr. Samuel S. Wallace, September 7, for $81.87, who was the first resident physician within the present limits of Sugar Creek township, and as such was first assessed in 1827. The site of one of the public schoolhouses, called the �Wallace schoolhouse,� was on the eastern part of this parcel. It appeared like quite and old building in 1855. An affluent farmer of this township accompanied the county superintendent in his visit to the school in that house, in the winter of 1860, during which it so happened that an arithmetical class recited. That officer, in the course of his questions and explanations, so elucidated some of the principles on which the rules of arithmetic are founded as on another occasion to elicit from that farmer the remark, "That even if the salary of the superintendent were paid by the people of the county, he had learned enough while in the school with the superintendent to pay him for what would be his share of it."
Adjoining that Trees-Ellenberger tract on the north was a 400-acre one, the inchoate title to which became vested in Nicholas Day, who agreed to convey it to Joseph Wiles, July 16, 1796, for �130, to be paid in installments, and obtain a patent to him �clear of all incumbrance,: which was granted to him Jule 27, 1818, 50 acres of which he conveyed to Peter Hummon, March 1, 1819, for $400, which the latter, with the 89 acres and 60 perches he had purchased from Trees, conveyed to William Devinney, January 18, 1833, for $700, 14 acres and 38 perches of which the latter conveyed to Dr, Samuel S. Wallace, September 7, for $81.87.
By the act of April 11, 1806, Joseph (written Jost) Wiles� house was designated as the place for holding elections in old Sugar Creek township. The portion of this tract which Joseph died seized descended to his son, Henry, at whose house the elections continued to be held until after the organization of Brady�s Bend township, where, says one of the writer�s correspondents, there was generally �plenty of Paddy�s eye-water,� meaning Patrick Reed�s whisky [sic], - and one or more fisticuffs before the voters left the election-ground.
A call was issued August 19, 1829, �for a meeting at Henry Wiles�, on Tuesday, September 1, to deliberate and advise, but not to dictate to the people, as the opinion was entertained, that there was too much intrigue and mystery involved in the management of political business in both state and county,� and requested the people of other townships to do so. That meeting was held, of which John Brown was chairman, and James Adams secretary, and resolutions were adopted in accord with the spirit of the call.
Henry Wiles conveyed 53 acres and 80 perches of this tract to Solomon Rumbaugh, January 3, 1850, for $1,000, and by his will, dated October 26, 1852, and registered May 27, 1854, he devised 68 acres and 89 perches to his son-in-law, David King, and 30 acres, on which the testator then resided, to his daughter Catherine. The 50 acres which he had in his lifetime surveyed to John F. Wiles, the latter�s heirs conveyed to Jabez Griffith September 26, 1874, for $10.
Adjoining the Joseph Wiles tract on the north was another similar one, a considerable portion of it being in what is now Brady�s Bend township, for which a warrant was granted to Samuel Buchanan, James C. Campbell and William McCoy, February 3, 1794, to whom it was surveyed April 19, 1795, on which John Wiles settled and made improvement in November, 1796, to whom it was surveyed by Ross, deputy surveyor, December 18, 1801, and was one of the tracts sold by Presley C. Lane, United States marshal of the western district of Pennsylvania, and conveyed by him to Thomas Stewardson, May 19, 1802, who conveyed it and three other similar tracts to Charles Campbell, February 23, 1807, for $398,14. John Wiles was the earliest permanent settler on this tract, with 400 acres of which, 1 horse and 3 cattle he was assessed in 1805, at $196, and which Campbell conveyed to him, March 14, 1818, for $280, to whom the patent was granted January 18, 1819. It appears on the map to have been divided by Wiles into five parcels, rectangular parallelograms, the two southern ones lengthwise east and west, 100 acres, and bearing his own name, and the other three lengthwise from north to south, the eastern one, 127 acres, bearing the name of Peter Wiles, the central one of the same area bearing the name of Jacob Wiles, and the western one, 50 acres, bearing the name of Benjamin Swaim, the major portion of all three being in what is now Brady�s Bend township. John Wiles conveyed 260 acres, mostly in what is now Sugar Creek township, to John Crawford, May 8, 1820, for $549, which the latter conveyed to Jonathan Mutimore, January 10, 1832, for $1,000. One hundred and forty-one acres and 40 perches of the Sugar Creek portion of this parcel became vested in David Boyers, which he conveyed to Samuel Sanderson - the last two conveyances are not on record - which he conveyed to Thomas F. Toule, August 30, 1849, for $2,030, and which the latter conveyed to William D. Watkins, April 27, 1860, for $3,300. The latter, by his will, dated May 14, and registered September 9, 1873, devised and bequeathed all his property to his wife and authorized her to sell it, and is she should marry, the property and its effects to be divided equally among his children.
Adjoining the John Wiles tract on the east is one similar in shape and area, 421 acres and 92 perches, the warrant for which was granted to William McCoy, February 3, 1794, to whom it was surveyed April 19, 1795, and on which Conrad Moyers made a settlement and improvement, June 22, 1796, to whom it was surveyed by Ross, deputy surveyor, April 30, 1802. The northern half, or about that quantity, is in what is now Brady�s Bend township. Moyer was assessed with 400 acres if it and 1 cow in 1805, at $166, and afterward with 200 acres until 1808, when it was transferred to John Pontius. Samuel and William Crawford subsequently obtained all the interests in this tract, to whom the patent was granted January 9, 1839. They, having laid the northern part of it off into small lots or parcels, conveyed the whole tract, 425 acres and 12 perches to William F. Johnston, May 16, 1840, for $1,675. The records show conveyance from him to divers persons of about 205 acres, in lots and parts of lots and parcels, the largest one not exceeding 51 acres, from November 19, 1847, to June 16, 1865, for $4,608.05. The largest number of conveyances on any one day were made August 31, 1854. The town or hamlet of Greenville is situated on this tract along the Kittanning and Brady�s Bend road.
Adjoining that McCoy-Moyer tract on the south is one like it, for which the warrant was granted to Thomas Buchanan, February 3. 1794, on which it was surveyed to him April 19, 1795. And on which Adam Moyer made an improvement in April, and a settlement, June 23, 1796. Buchanan having leased it to another party who attempted to obtain possession, a surveyor was employed, either by Buchanan or his lessee, to trace the lines, June 1, 1797. Moyer threatened that he would cripple him if he did not desist, and, with a gun in his hand which he cocked, declared that he would shoot any one who would attempt to settle on this tract. Several persons were thus intimidated from going on this land to make a settlement. Ross, deputy surveyor, surveyed this tract as containing 437 acres and 24 perched to Adam Moyer, April 30, 1802. Buchanan�s lessee brought an ejectment suit against Moyer for the 400 acres of this land, then in Buffalo township, to Armstrong county, but still within the jurisdiction of Westmoreland county, November, 1803. The case was tried before Smith and Yeates, justices of the supreme court, who charged the jury that, there having been no actual settlement anterior to the plaintiff�s survey, the plaintiff�s title must prevail unless it had been avoided by his non-performance of the conditions of settlement and improvement. But, they asked, who prevented that performance? Who expected to derive a benefit from that improper conduct? The defendant. If they counted the period from which the settlement was to commence, from December 22, 1793, the ratification of the treaty at Fort Greenville, the defendant had, within the time allowed for making the settlement, obstructed the plaintiff or his agents from complying with the law, and, according to all their decisions, should reap no advantage therefrom, and, if the case were even dubious, the defendant�s lawless conduct should postpone him, on principles of general policy and safety. Verdict for the plaintiff in stanter. (See that case reported in Vol. II of Laws of Pennsylvania, ed. 1810, p. 224.)
Moyer remained in possession and was assessed with 400 acres and 5 cattle in 1805 and 1806, at $198, to whom, before his death, Charles Campbell had agreed to convey whatever title he had acquired, which he did to George Moyer in trust for Adam Moyer�s heirs, June 22, 1813 for $700, to whom the patent was granted March 15, 1816, Thomas Buchanan conveyed whatever interest he had therein to Philip Moyer, September 28, 1839. Adam Moyer, by his will, dated March 27, and registered June 16, 1812, devised �the old place of 200 acres� to his sons George and Philip, they to pat the legatees at the rate of $3.50 per acre, and to keep their mother the rest of her life, unless she should remarry. He directed that if Gen, Campbell should not make a title for the land they should make it themselves, and keep the expense out of the price of the land, either in two years after their mother�s death or in two years after they should obtain title; and that they should take a fatherly care of the little boys, clothe and school them until they should be sixteen years old, who should ne obedient to them, and then �go to trades.� So it continued to be occupied by these heirs until they sold it to others. George and Philip Moyer conveyed 200 acres of the southern part to David Rumbaugh, September 19, 1816, for $1, 300, who soon erected thereon a large two-story house, which he weatherboarded, and a capacious barn, which were then the best buildings in that neighborhood. He had the likeness of a clock painted on the gable end of his house next to the public road, being what is now the Kittanning and Brady�s Bend one, the hands representing the time to be 11:45 o�clock, and he was occasionally amused by travelers comparing the time indicated by their watches with and setting them by it. He agreed, April 14, 1841, to convey the 200 acres to his son Solomon, in consideration of the proper maintenance of him and his wife during the rest of their lives, which agreement must have been complied with, for the latter conveyed 212 acres to James A. Adams and William Varnum, April 2, 1856, for $5,500, 200 acres being assessed to Adams in 1876 at $3,000, having previously conveyed 1 acres and 26 perches to Dr. Wallace.
George and Philip Moyer conveyed, October 16, 1839, 115 acres and 30 perches of the northern part or �old place,� to William Hart for $1,380, and 34 acres and 26 perches to John Marchand for $155. Frederick Moyer conveyed 131 acres, which had become vested in him, reserving one acre for his own use, and the use of the spring, to Jacob Ellenberger, December 8, 1855, for a comfortable maintenance.
Next south of that �disputed territory� is a tract, a rectangular parallelogram, lengthwise east and west, 130 acres, on which is the name of Henry Moore, to whom the warrant was probably granted, and to whose heirs it was assessed in the unseated list in 1812, and for a few years thereafter. It appears to heave been subsequently occupied by James Adams, who was first assessed with 50 acres unseated in 1825, having previously purchased about that quantity from the next herein-after-mentioned tract. He was first assessed with 170 acres of seated land in this township in 1828, The interest of Moore�s heirs having become vested in him, he obtained a warrant for at least the greater part of this tract March 27, 1837, and the patent June 2, 1840, a portion of which he conveyed to Chambers and Robert Orr, and 35 acres and 49 perches of which he conveyed to William Cowan, October 8, 1841, for $1, which the latter conveyed to Dr. Samuel S. Wallace, the same day, for $215, which, with the 14 acres and 38 perched which the doctor had purchased from Devinney, and the 1 acre and 26 perched which he had purchased from Rumbaugh, Dr. Wallace�s heirs conveyed to Andrew McElroy, April 1, 1873, for $4,500.
James Adams was first assessed in this township as a single man, and with 1 horse, in 1815, at $20, and the next year as a �storekeeper,� the first one in this township, and 1 horse, at $50. His store, it is said, was at first kept in the loft of a springhouse [sic] on an adjoining tract, but was afterward removed to the southern part of this Moore-Adams tract, which point has been for many years know as �Adams.� Hay scales, not common in rural districts, were erected here soon after the Great Western or Brady�s Bend iron-works went into operation, and proved to be very convenient to the farmers of this section, who sold their hay and other products at these works. The postoffice was established here September 23, 1853, James Adams postmaster. This property still belongs to the Adams estate.
Next south of the Moore-Adams tract is a square one, 300 acres, on which Robert Orr, Sr., settled, and with 197 acres, 1 horse and 5 cattle, he was assessed in 1805 and 1806 at $146.80. The patent for the entire tract was granted to him February 16, 1815; 140 or more acres of the northern part he conveyed to John Conly [sic] July 4, 1816, who conveyed 100 acres, including the orchard and meadow, to William Brownfield, May 20, 1821, for his proper maintenance with and annual supply of �ten gallons of good whisky [sic], if required.� Conly [sic] also conveyed 50 acres and 62 perches, in three separate parcels, to James Adams, July 25, 1822, for $158, in whom the Brownfield parcel subsequently became vested.
Robert Orr, Sr.,[sic] continued in the occupancy of the southern half of this tract until he leased it to Solomon Rumbaugh about 1825, about which time he removed to Kittanning. He conveyed this parcel to his sons, Chambers and Robert, May 7, 1831. He died at Kittanning, September 4, 1833, in his 89th year.
Robert Orr, Sr., [sic] was a native of the county of Derry, Ireland, whence he emigrated to this country in 1766, resided in what is now Mifflin county, where he married Miss Culbertson, until 1773, when he and his wife removed to Hannastown, Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, where he resided until he settled in what is now this township. He espoused the colonial cause on the adoption of the declaration of independence, and was an earnest, active and devoted patriot, and readily volunteered his services and encouraged others to volunteer theirs, when needed, to protect the western frontier from the Indian incursions and attacks. Gen. George R. Clark, of Virginia, having communicated to Archibald Lochery, the lieutenant of Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, his determination to enter upon a campaign against the Indians down the Ohio river, in the summer of 1781, and having requested him to raise 100 volunteers and a company of cavalry in his county, and Lochery having intimated the same to Orr, the latter promptly raised a company of volunteer riflemen and furnished such of its members as were unable to furnish themselves with necessaries for that expedition, chiefly at his own expense, as he could not order the company of militia, of which he was captain, from home. The force consisted of two companies of rangers, commanded respectively, by Captains Shannon and Stokeley, and a company of horse, commanded by Captain Campbell, aggregating about 125 men, who rendezvoused at Carnahan�s blockhouse, eleven miles west of Hannastown, July 24, and moved the next day, via Pittsburgh, for Fort Henry, where Wheeling now is, where, according to a prearrangement, they were to join Clark�s army, which, they ascertained on their arrival, had advanced twelve miles down the river, having left some provisions and a boat for them. With an inadequate supply of ammunition and provisions, they proceeded down the river, expecting to meet Clark at the mouth of the Kanawha, but were again disappointed, as he was obliged to move his force before their arrival to prevent desertion. Their provisions and forage being nearly exhausted, there being no other source of supply than from what Clark had, and the stage of water in the river being low, Lochery, who was the only field officer in command, dispatched Captain Shannon with four men in a small boat, hoping that they might overtake the main army and secure supplies, who were soon captured by the Indians, together with letter to Clark, disclosing the destitute condition of Lochery�s force, from which, and the accounts given by the nineteen deserters from Clark�s army, whom Lochery had arrested, and who, on being released, joined the Indians, they thus learned that Clark and Lochery were not together, and ceasing to be awed by Clark�s artillery, they collected in force below the mouth of the Great Miami and placed their prisoners in a conspicuous position on the right bank of the river and promised to spare their lives if they would hail their comrades as they should pass down, and induce them to surrender. But they, being weary and despairing of meeting Clark�s army, landed about 10 o�clock A. M., August 25, at the mouth of an inlet, since called Lochery�s creek, where they landed their horses to feed on the grass. While preparing a repast of the meat of a buffalo which they had killed, they were assailed by a volley of rifle balls from an overhanging bluff, where the Indians had assembled in large force. The men, being thus surprised, seized their arms, and defended themselves until their ammunition was exhausted, and then attempted to escape in their boats, but, as they were unwieldy, as the water was low, and the men too weak to render them available, they only 106 strong, were obliged to surrender to more that 300 Indians, who hastily massacred Lochery and several of their prisoners, which Brandt, or whoever their chief commanding was, condemned. Forty-two of those prisoners were killed, and 64 were taken prisoners. Among the latter was Captain Orr, whose arm was broken in the engagement, who was taken to Sandusky, where he was retained for several months, when, his captors not being able to properly treat his fracture, he was removed to the hospital at Detroit, whence he was that winter removed to Montreal, and with his fellow prisoners was exchanged after the close of the revolutionary war, and returned to Westmoreland county in the summer of 1783, his house and property having been destroyed by the burning of Hannastown July 13, 1782. He was one of the few men who were in Lochery�s unfortunate expedition that ever reached their homes. Soon after his return he raised another company to serve two months in the defense of the frontier, which advanced to the mouth of Bull creek, on the right bank of the Allegheny river, where Tarentum now is, where, under his direction, a blockhouse was built. Having completed that term of service satisfactorily, he was elected the same fall (1783) sheriff of Westmoreland county, and was prompt and faithful in the discharge of his official duties. From the time of his settlement in what is now Sugar Creek township he resided on the heretofore-mentioned McDonald-Monteith-Dinsmore-Wilson tract until about 1812, when he removed to this tract, on which he remained until he rented his farm to Solomon Rumbaugh, about 1824, about which time he removed to Kittanning. When this county was organized for judicial purposes in 1805, he was appointed one of the three associate judges of its several courts, which position he creditably filled until his death. By the act of assembly of March 30, 1821, the state treasurer of Pennsylvania was authorized to pay him or his order, immediately thereafter, $750, in consideration of his services and losses during the revolutionary war, which was to be considered as a full compensation for those services and losses, including all his claims for military service.
In 1818 or 1819 he laid out north of his residence on this tract, and west of the present Kittanning and Brady�s Bend road, the town of Orrsville, the plan of which is not on record, and the writer has not been able to ascertain the exact number of the lots which it contained. Its first separate assessment list was in 1819, when Henry Torringer was assessed with Nos. 44 and 46, seated, at $25 each and William Shea, tailor, with lots Nos. 53 and 56, seated, and his occupation at $75. Robert Robinson, sheriff, sold Torringer�s two lots on a judgement in favor of J. E. Brown for $30.20�, of debt, and $6.74 of costs, on the premises, to Robert Orr, Sr., September 23, 1822, for $15 each and executed his deed therefor the next day, both of which the latter conveyed to James Adams, May 2, 1831, for $30. These last two conveyances are the only ones of lots in that town of Orrsville on record.
The assessment shows that these Torringer lots were "transferred to William Adams," and the Shea ones were "taxt to John McClatchey" in 1824. James Torringer had his blacksmith-shop on one of these lots about 1823-4.
Robert Orr, Sr., conveyed his interest in this tract to his sons Chambers and Robert, May 7, 1831, which, and the parcel of the Moore tract which Adams had sold to them, they conveyed to Christopher Foster (of Thomas), 199 acres, except all the Orrsville lots that had been sold by their father, and for which the purchase money had been paid.
The violent tornado that occurred on the 29th or 30th of May, 1860, began to move with or to gather its devastating force on the Kittanning and Brady�s Bend road on this tract, between Christopher Foster�s house and barn, where it swept in a course slightly south of east to David C. Porterfield�s and turned thence northeasterly to William A. Foster�s, tearing off the roof and upper story of his house. He was absent at the time. As he saw, returning from Middlesex, the storm moving toward his house, apprehensive for the safety of his two young children whom he had left there, he hastened thither with utmost speed. The little girl, when she saw the storm approaching, took the little boy with her from the house, and both, as they were just about to encounter it, lay down in a gutter, which proved to be a place of safety for them. It passed thence northeasterly through Washington township, crossed the Allegheny river a short distance above the mouth of Sugar Camp run, through Madison township with slight deflections to Red Bank creek nearly east of Owen now Thomas Meredith�s residence, moving everything in its course.
Lewis Bish said he was standing on a hillside of Red Bank creek, between the old Red Bank Furnace and William Shoemaker�s, while the tornado passed above him. It did not disturb anything where he then was, some sand fell on him while viewing it; the hillside is steep and the bench of the hill was 100 feet above; he saw the largest trees whirling in the air above him, and felt thankful that none of them fell on him. William Shoemaker�s house, near Anthony�s tunnel, except the sleepers and kitchen floor, was swept away. Two boards having been taken out of the floor, a small nursing child was dropped down through the opening thus made and was unhurt. Neither the cradle in which that child was, nor any part of the house or spring-house, was ever found, nor any part of the barn which was blown away. The orchard, except six stumps of apple-trees whose bark was stripped off, was uprooted and borne along in the irresistible current of the tornado. Pieces of stone were driven so deeply into these stumps that Lewis W. Corbett could not draw them out. The fences were strewn all over the farm, and Shoemaker was so seriously injured that he was disabled from work for several weeks. Passing with increased force through the southern part of Clarion county, it swept away everything in its track. Passing about half a mile north of New Bethlehem, it reached Charles Stewart�s place while the family were at dinner. Mrs. Stewart, as the door opened, exclaimed: �What a storm is coming!� which struck the house while she was attempting to close the door, and removed it some distance from its foundation. She was found lying between two rafters and beneath a heavy piece of oak timber, whose crushing weight caused her death in three hours. Her child was in the cradle, which dropped into the cellar, where it was found in the same position in which it had been in the room, with its occupant uninjured. The rest of the family were scattered over the meadow and more or less injured. Stewart�s barn was ignited by what appeared to Philip Huffman to be a stream of burning fluid, two feet thick, borne along by a dark cloud. The grass in some places was burned to the ground. Some of the timber, used two years afterward in building John Henry�s barn, was so imbedded with small stones that it could scarcely be worked. John Dougherty�s daughter, about sixteen, in attempting to escape from the house, was killed by a falling log, while those who remained about the chimney suffered no injury except a few light scratches. Valentine Miller, who resided across the hollow from Dougherty�s, his mother, wife and children were together in a log house which was struck by the tornado. The superstructure was blown away, but they, having huddled about the chimney, were not injured. It struck John Mohney�s house north of Millville in the absence of himself and wife. Their oldest son, when he saw it approaching, ordered all the children into the cellar; taking the youngest in his arms, he sprang to the foot of the cellar stairs, and before he had time to think of anything the house was blown away, but neither he nor any of the children were injured. The bank barn was nearly leveled to the ground, and a heavy new four-horse wagon standing back of the barn was found crushed within the foundation of the barn, and a new wheelbarrow at the other end of the barn was blown into the top of a maple tree about 75 rods distant, where it was found unbroken. John Shields and his horses were blown over and over through a large field about half a mile east of Mohney�s without serious harm.
When the tornado struck Maysville, Dr. Stramley was having his horses shod at the blacksmith shop, which was blown away and the blacksmith seriously injured; the horses were borne some distance, and when the storm ceased the doctor was found lying in the middle of the street beside a large dog; the latter, which was well enough before the storm, was dead. The doctor�s boots, coat and hat flew away, and were never again seen by him; he never afterward saw any part of his buggy but the seat, which was found a quarter of a mile up the creek. The bridge and every building in that town was swept away. There were three run of buhrs in the gristmill, ne set of which was turned upside down; another pair were carried up to the dam and left setting as they were in the mill; the third pair fell into the millpit; and the gearing was blown away, only pieces of the metal part having since been found. The book kept by the miller was afterward found 65 miles distant in Union county. Irvin McFarland�s hotel was borne diagonally across the street and precipitated down the bank of the creek above the bridge. His wife, who was in it, lived about two and a half hours after her removal. He, in searching for his little boy, four years old, thought he heard a noise like his voice, and, in endeavoring to follow the sound, he approached a pile of brick - the large brick chimney had tumbled into a pile where it stood - and, thinking he could hear the sound more distinctly, he began to throw the loose brick off the pile. About four feet of the foundation was still standing, at the side of the lower part of which he found his boy unharmed, with his right had extended as high as he could reach against the chimney. Adam Bachman was carried, with his own building, a short distance, and died of the injury which he received. All that was ever found of the three new wagons at the blacksmith shop, one finished, and two unfinished, were the rims of two wheels and a few spokes left on the ground where the wagons were.
The width of that tornado varied from 30 rods to half a mile. It carried everything before it where it was the widest, but its force was greatest where it was narrowest, plowing up the ground three feet deep and from three to five feet wide, swinging trees on the ground, large oaks around, as if on pivots, one-fourth in a circle, and pruning off all the branches within reach. It took a northeasterly course three miles south of Brookville, and, passing through Clearfield, Union and other counties in this state, struck the ocean between New York and Philadelphia.
Thus sped to the mighty deep that tornado which, wherever else it was generated, began its devastating career in a whirlwind in the public road on this Orr-Foster tract, reminding one of DeKay�s description of this destructive force of nature, which closes thus:
"And as in court-yard corners on the wind_______________________________________________________________
Sweep the loose straws, houses and stately trees
Whirl in a vortex. His unswerving tread
Winnows the isle bare as a thresher�s floor,
His eyes are fixed; he looks not once behind,
But at his back fall silence and the breeze. Scarce is he come, the lovely wraith is sped.
Ashamed the lightning shuts its purple door,
And heaven still knows the robes of gold and sun
While placid ruin gently greets the sun."*
*The church edifice of the Medway Presbyterian congregation, frame, one story, 36 V 54 feet, ceiling 18 feet, was erected in the summer of 1880, and its interior is very nearly finished and furnished. It was dedicated Friday, October 29, the services being conducted by Rev. David Hull, D. D. of Indiana, Pennsylvania.
Adjoining these Moore and Orr-Conly tracts on the east and the division line between the deprecation and donation lands, is one, a rectangular parallelogram, 356 acres and 37 perches, on which John Davis was an early settler, with 200 acres of which and 1 cow he was assessed, in 1805, at $126. Josiah White acquired an early interest in it. James Fulton having obtained a judgement against White, his interest was sold by John Orr, sheriff, to Robert Brown, for the use of Charles Campbell, for $450, to whom the deed was executed June 23, 1808, Campbell and Nicholas Day having agreed, the dat before, with Fulton, that Campbell should make him the sheriff�s deed, including all of Davis� interest in the 200 acres, and Campbell and Day agreed to pay one-half of the purchase money and of the fees on the patent, and Fulton agreed to make to them a deed in fee simple. That agreement was, however, to be void if the sheriff�s sale should ne set aside, unless the sale should be again made good, and Fulton also agreed to acknowledge satisfaction of the sum at which the land was struck down to Brown, in order that the sheriff�s deed might be acknowledged in court. All these preliminaries must have been satisfactorily adjusted, for Campbell conveyed the 200 acres to Fulton, October 31, for $454. The patent was granted to Campbell, January 19, 1819. After the latter�s death, July 5, 1819, Campbell conveyed to Robert Orr, Sr., and John Patton 100 acres and 36 perches, which he had agreed to sell to Fulton, in trust for the persons claiming under Fulton, which they conveyed to Andrew McKee, Sr., December 25, 1820, who had agreed to purchase, and had paid the purchase money for the same. One hundred and forty acres of this tract appears to have been vested in John Brown, for he conveyed that quantity to Andrew and Thomas McKee, October 25, 1819, for $775, which became vested in the latter, who conveyed 115 acres to his son, Thomas V. McKee, July 17, 1855, for $800, and which the latter conveyed to William H. Leard, October 20, 1866, for $3,300. Andrew McKee conveyed 100 acres and 36 perches to Andrew Rodgers, December 27, 1830, for $800, which, with another parcel, his heirs conveyed to Joseph and Samuel Rodgers, November 17, 1849, for $1 "as well as other good considerations."
Next north is a similar tract, 405 acres, on which are the names of Robert Buchanan and John Clark, to one or both of whom the warrant was probably granted in 1794, whose interests having become vested in John Orr, the patent was granted to him February 19, 1818. He conveyed 122 acres and 94 perches to Jacob Bish, Sr., April 17, 1818, for $366, which the latter conveyed to Jacob Bish, Jr., April 6, 1853, for $800. Orr conveyed 50 acres and 113 perches to Henry Buzzard, June 13, for $52, which the latter conveyed to Leonard Rumbaugh, April 1, 1828, for $125, which he conveyed to Jacob Hepler, Sr., September 9, 1837, for $150, who conveyed the same to William Hepler, September 2, 1847, for $800. Orr agreed to sell 24 acres to Joseph Blaine, October 15, 1819, for $54, to whom the deed for which was made by the grantor�s administrators November 12, 1826, by virtue of a decree of the proper court, and which parcel was included in Blaine�s conveyance of 134 acres to Robert Farley and others, trustees of the Brady�s Bend Iron Company, April 14, 1846, for $500. Orr agreed, August 28, 1820, to convey 70 acres and 87 perches, as surveyed by Robert Orr, Jr., September 25, 1819, to Peter Bish, to whom the former�s administrators, by virtue of a decree of the proper court, executed a deed November 12, 1826, 12 acres and 132 perches of which the latter agreed, October 20, 1865, to convey to James Bish, and which the latter conveyed to David Harmon, June 12, 1868, for $384. In the northwest corner of the map, and on Meredith�s more recent connected drafts, is a rectangular parcel of 40 acres bearing the name of Peter Harmon.
Adjoining the Buchanan-Clark-Orr tract on the north is a similar one, 416 acres 55 perches, in which James McCoy had an inchoate interest, on which Frederick Shoop was an early settler, with 100 acres of which, 2 horses and 2 cows, he was assessed, in 1805, at $102, and the next year with 1 cow and 1 horse less at $71.
On July 18, 1807, Shoop, by written article of agreement, agreed to convey to Peter Harmon, of Hempfield township, Westmoreland county, 100 acres of this tract, then adjoining Nicholas Pontious, Jacob Millison and Melchior Buzzard, on which Jacob Hepler was then living, for $550, and both parties were to occupy the cabin then erected thereon until they could erect one suitable for the habitation of Harmon and his family, which, 102 acres 90 perches, Shoop�s administrators conveyed to Harmon�s heirs, Catherine and John Harmon, and Hannah, wife of Barnabas Vensel.
Shoop agreed, October 29, 1813, to sell to James Blain [sic] 100 acres, for $300, in four annual payments, a part of each to consist of 1 cow, to be valued nu two neighbors, if the parties could not agree upon the price.
Shoop also agreed, November 15, 1813, to sell to John Linaberry (Linaberger) 100 acres adjoining Conrad Moyers, John read and Peter Harmon, for $100, of which $45 were to be �in good, lawful money,� and $55 �in trade or produce at market price.� Shoop received the same day $27 in cash and $16 in trade. The agreement and payment were duly proven in the court of common pleas of this county by the affidavit of Peter Wiles, September 23, 1818, and there ends the record.
The warrant for the entire tract, about one-third of which is what is now Brady�s Bend township, was granted to Scoop March 8, 1814, to whom it was surveyed, and the patent was granted to John Hepler, his administrator, and Margaret Shoop, his administratrix, September 8, 1819. Shoop�s administrators conveyed to Blain the parcel which Shoop had sold to him, to Deborah and Joseph Blain, executors of James Blain, which he had vested to Joseph Blain, and was included in his conveyance to the Brady�s Bend company.
Adjoining the McCoy-Shoop tract on the east is one, a rectangular parallelogram, 401 acres and 102 perches, lengthwise east and west, for which a warrant was probably granted to John Buchanan in 1793. This tract was conveyed by Presley C. Lane, United States marshal for the western district of Pennsylvania, to John Reynolds, May 19, 1802, who conveyed it to John Vensel (formerly written Wentzel), June 22, 1805, for �50 �lawful money of Pennsylvania.� Vensel was assessed with 300 acres of this tract and 3 cattle in 1805, at $142, and the next year, with an additional head of cattle, at $148, and on which he erected his sawmill in 1807. By virtue of a writ of Vend. Ex. No. 9, March term, 1814, on a judgement in favor of Samuel S. Harrison for the use of John Wells, it was sold by John McCormick, sheriff, to Jacob Hershey and Frederick Howard, June 20, 1814, for $505, and so much thereof as was needed was applied to the payment of a prior judgement in favor of John Reynolds against Vensil [sic]. Howard conveyed his 150 acres to David Snyder, March 10, 1825, for $250, to whose heirs this parcel still belongs, and from whom the run by which the tract is traversed has been called Snyder�s run. Hershey�s heirs released their interest in the other purpart of 150 acres to Andrew Hershey, February 17, 1845, for $100. It is probable that Jacob Hepler, whose name is on this tract on the map, occupied Howard�s portion of it until the latter�s sale to Snyder.
Adjoining the Moyer portion of that Buchanan-Reynolds-Vensel tract is a similarly-shaped one, 400 acres and 112 perches, lengthwise from north to south, the warrant for which was granted probably to William Buchanan in 1794, who conveyed his inchoate interest to Alexander Blair, who conveyed his interest therein to Josiah White, June 20, 1811, for $200 paid by Thomas Taylor, and $200 paid by White per Taylor, and empowered White to take the title-papers out of the land-office, to whom the patent was granted December 5, 1837, and who conveyed 216 acres of the southern part to Jacob Rumbaugh, January 23, 1840, 80 acres of which the latter conveyed to Samuel Phillips, July 1, 1845, for $480. White conveyed a parcel covered by his above-mentioned patent and his other one, granted November 13, 1839, to Thomas Leard, February 26, 1840, which he conveyed to Charles Wick, March 13, 1841, which he conveyed to James P. Wick, February 26, 1849, who conveyed the same, 133 acres, to John M. Gillespie and Charles McKeever, November 21, for $950, who and Manasses McKeever conveyed 20 acres and 6 perches to Samuel Phillips, January 10, 1856, for $250, and 41 acres and 106 perches to Nimrod Flick, same dat, for $500. Charles McKeever conveyed to Flick 4 acres and 105 perches, January 5, 1859, for $93, to whom also Charles McKeever�s administrator, Stephen McCue, conveyed 26 acres, June 15, 1860, for $384; Hugh McKeever committee of Manasses McKeever, conveyed to Joseph McElroy, June 8, 1861, for $300, who conveyed 22 acres to James Brownfield, April 5, 1863.
Next south of that Buchanan-Blair-White tract was one of a similar shape and of nearly the same area, the patent for which was granted to Charles Campbell, March 22, 1816, who conveyed 100 acres and 22 perches to William Blaney, June 24, 1819, for $250. Blaney by his will dated September 6, and registered September 16, 1842, devised that and another parcel mentioned below, being the farm on which he then lived, to his son John. Campbell conveyed the southern part of this tract, 200 acres, to James C. Porterfield, September 13, 1816, for $500, who occupied it for several years, and by his will dated November 8, and registered December 30, 1837, he devised it to his son, David C. The second schoolhouse in this township was built on this parcel about 1814, and the first teacher in it was David Cunningham, after whom that last-mentioned devise was named.
Adjoining the Campbell-Blaney-Porterfield tract on the east and the depreciation line on the south, is another of the same shape, 356 acres and 37 perches, March 1, 1794, which was conveyed to Charles Campbell, June 15, 1814, for $200. The early settler on it was Alexander Foster, who was assessed with 100 acres, 1 horse and 1 cow in 1805 at $91. Campbell conveyed to him 100 acres and 25 perches, June 14, 1821, for $10. Foster acquired title to the rest of this tract, except about 90 acres in the northwestern part, which constituted the farm on which he lived at the time of his death, and which by his will, dated April 17, 1828, and registered May 19, 1838, he devised to his sons, Christopher, Thomas and William, which he directed to be divided in three equal parts as to quantity, and allotted the part on which was the house, in which he then lived, to Christopher, the west end to Thomas, and the northeastern part to William.
William McKean acquired an interest in 93 acres in the northwestern part of this tract, which was conveyed by Philip Mechling, sheriff, to James Monteith, March 23, 1819, who devised it to his daughters. The legal title to this parcel having become vested temporarily in Thomas Foster and Robert Orr they conveyed it to Dr. John Gilpin and William Johnston, who, and their wives, Monteith�s daughters, conveyed it to William Blaney, November 13, 1843, for $500.
Adjoining the Shields-Foster tract on the north is a similar one, 405 acres and 112 perches, the warrant for which was granted to William Campbell and which was improved and settled by John Crawford, who was assessed with 220 acres and 3 cattle in 1805 and 1806, at $114. The warrantee�s interest having been transferred to �Judge James Wilson,� and vested in Charles Campbell, he and Crawford agreed March 25, 1825, on such a division as that Crawford�s 200 acres should include the settlement which he had made and for which he had paid taxes for the land, and Crawford agreed to prove his settlement on the tract, so as to enable Campbell to obtain the patent. Campbell and Crawford conveyed the entire tract to James Hart for the purpose of enabling him to procure the patent for them. Crawford, desiring him to make a deed for his purpart, brought an ejectment suit therefor to No. 41, December tern, 1837, in the common pleas of this county, which resulted in a verdict, September 20, 1838, for the plaintiff, on which judgement was rendered September 22. By consent of the parties the verdict was to be released on the defendant procuring a patent for the whole tract in the name of William Campbell, and executing a conveyance to the plaintiff for one-half of the whole tract, which was to be delivered within six months, and the plaintiff was to furnish the necessary proof of settlement and conveyances to enable the defendant to procure the patent, which was granted January 9, 1839. Crawford conveyed his entire interest in his purpart to his son John, April 20, 1839, for $1 �and natural love and affection,� 67 acres and 73 perches of which he conveyed to Alexander Crawford, February 16, 1861, for $22.50.
The Campbell purpart was included in the conveyance of Jacob Mechling, sheriff, to Daniel Stannard, December 7, 1828, who conveyed 200 acres to James Hart, June 5, 1855, for $1,000, who conveyed 67 acres and 44 perches to Thomas Templeton, May 20, 1841, for $326.
Adjoining the eastern part of that Campbell-Crawford tract on the north and the Buchanan-Vensil [sic] tract on the east is a hexagonal one, 448 acres and 89 perches, the southern part of which extends, like the short blade of a carpenter�s square, eastward into what is now Washington township. The map indicates that the warrantee was James Buchanan, The warrant was granted to him February 3, 1794, but in one of the conveyances, Charles Thompson, is mentioned as the warrantee. Its earliest settler was Archibald Thompson, who made his improvement in February, and settlement on it April 9, 1801, surveyed by Ross, deputy surveyor, November 3, 1802, and who was assessed with 400 acres of it and 1 horse, in 1804 and 1806, at $120. It was sold for taxes, and Robert Brown, county treasurer, conveyed it to William Brown, September 17, 1816, for $9, who assigned his interest in it to James Monteith, December 11, for $13. It is in that treasurer�s deed that Charles Thompson is mentioned as the warrantee. Monteith obtained a judgement against Archibald Thompson for $56 of debt, on which it was sold, and was conveyed by Joseph Brown, sheriff, to Monteith, September 17, 1816, for $20, who conveyed it to Philip Templeton, Sr. He, by his will heretofore mentioned, devised it to his sons Samuel and Thomas, the former of whom transferred his undivided half to the latter in 1829, and conveyed it, July 14, 1836, for $200, to whom the patent was granted, June 26, 1838, he having been first assessed with 200 acres if it, and 1 cow, in 1824, at $76. He erected his sawmill near the mouth of Snyder�s run, in 1843, which was then assessed at $150. T. Templeton & Co. Were first assessed with 2 mills, in 1849, at $300, and 1 factory, at $150; T. Templeton with a furnace in 1852, and with a distillery, in 1854, at $50. His last assessment with mills was in 1856, at $100. Thomas Templeton conveyed 120 perches to the school directors of this township, October 31, 1850, which parcel was to revert to him if it should cease to be used for school-purposes for a period of three years; and, May 13, 1855, 111 acres and 158 perches, nearly all off [sic] this tract, to his son James S., for $600 �and natural love and affection;� and 106 acres and 56 perches, small portions of which were taken off the parcels which he had purchased from James Hart and Thomas McKee, to his son John, for the same consideration, James conveyed his parcel to his uncle, Philip Templeton, October 14, 1864, for $1,800; and as administrator, by virtue of an order of the orphans� court of this county, he conveyed the residue of his father�s real estate, about 332 acres, to the same, June 6, for $4,500; 22 acres of which he conveyed to David Hepler, April 12, 1873, for $1,100.
In 1865 the Templeton Oil Company was organized and drilled a well about 1,500 feet deep, near the mouth of Snyder�s run, on this tract, at a cost of about $6,000. There was in the course of the drilling a slight but not remunerative show of oil, the �smelling� for which was not of course successful.
The Sugar Creek and Phillipsburgh Ferry Company, with a capital stock of $300, each share, $10, was organized in 1878, for the purpose of transporting passengers, animals, vehicles and freight across the Allegheny river, with its principal place of business at this point, named Ferryton in the charter. John Templeton was chosen president, Henry C. Pritner secretary and treasurer, John E., Thomas and William B. Templeton, directors of the company for the first year. The letters patent were granted by Governor Hartranft, January 2, 1879.
Adjoining that Buchanan-Thompson tract on the east and north is a trapezoidal one, 390 acres, the warrant for which was granted to Adam Maxwell, and the patent to James Watterson, February 8, 1820 who, in pursuance of a previous agreement, conveyed it to Archibald McCall and Samuel A. Gilmore, August 9, 1836, for $1, who conveyed it to Joseph White, July 9, 1839, for $300, and which he conveyed to Joseph Hicks, March 31, 1846, for $1,400, to whose heirs it now belongs, being partly in Washington township.
Contiguous to the Buchanan-Thompson tract n the south is one, 447 acres and 116 perches, a rectangular parallelogram, partly in what is now Washington township, the warrant for which was granted to James Campbell, in 1794, on which John Elder was the early settler, with 400 acres of which and 1 horse he was assessed, in 1805, at $185, and the next year, with the same and 1 cow, at $190, when it was transferred to Andrew Blair, to whom it was assessed until 1812, after which it was occupied by James Elder, to whom 100 acres of it, 1 horse and 1 cow were assessed, in 1813, at $76. The patent for the entire tract was granted to Charles Campbell, June 2, 1828, who conveyed it the same year, to Thomas Foster, who conveyed 150 acres if it to James Elder for $1 and the settler�s right, which he conveyed to Robert Thorn, shoemaker, March 9, 1833, for $300, which the latter conveyed to Joseph Thorn, August 15, 1844, for $500, 75 acres of which he conveyed to David Hays, August 20, 1844, for $750, and 83 acres to David W. Burk [sic], six days later, for $800, which he conveyed to David hays, April 26, 1847, for $550. Hays conveyed 186 acres to Robert Hays, May 19, 1852, for $625, and 12 acres and 82 perches to Henry Coffman, February 6, 1861, which the latter conveyed to Robert Hays, February 16, 1862, for $191.
Foster conveyed 265 acres and 135 perches of his purpart to Thomas McKee, September 15, 1831, for $450, 5 acres and 2 perches of which he conveyed to Thomas Templeton, April 28, 1832, for $14. McKee resided on this tract until his decease, where he opened his store prior to 1860. He died intestate, and in proceedings in partition the inquest valued the residue of this parcel, 264 acres, as surveyed by J. E. Meredith, February 2, 1867, at $8,470, which was not taken by any of the heirs at the appraisement, but all of them except one having conveyed their interests to Thomas V. McKee, the court decreed, June 3, 1867, that this land be awarded to him.
Between the Campbell-Elder tract and the depreciation line is a similar one, 367 acres and 52 perches, the warrant for which was granted to Samuel Dixon, March 1, 1794, who conveyed his interest in it to Charles Campbell, June 19, 1814, for $400, to whom the patent was granted, June 16, 1816, on which Samuel Elder was the early settler, to whom it was surveyed by Ross, deputy surveyor, March 6, 1805, and with 200 acres of which, 1 horse and 2 cows he was assessed in 1805, at $117, and the next year, with 1 cow less, at $111. His widow remained in the tenure of it several years after his death, who was succeeded by Abraham Swartzlander in 1827, who was assessed in 1834, as a shoemaker. This tract was included in the conveyance of Jacob Mechling, sheriff, to Daniel Stannard, December 7, 1828, and in the agreement between James Campbell and Dr. Gilpin, and in Stannard�s conveyance to the latter, January 29, 1840. McCall claimed an interest in it, which Charles Campbell in his lifetime agreed to purchase. George A. McCall, then of Memphis, Tennessee, having brought an ejectment against Abraham Swartzlander and other occupants in the circuit court of the United States to recover it, Gilpin purchased his interest, which was conveyed to him, October 26, 1839, for $500. Gilpin conveyed 100 acres to Jacob Hepler, Jr., August 25, 1845, for $650, and 135 acres and 118 perches to George Kenworthy, June 21, 1834, for $1,357.77, which Kenworthy conveyed to William B. Srader, September 27, for $2,443,27, and which the latter conveyed to Isaac C. Steele, August 9, 1871, for $6,400. Those two parcels are chiefly, if not wholly, in what is now Washington township. Elder, widow Elder and Swartzlander probably occupied the western part of the tract. The records are obscure respecting the disposition of the settler�s purpart. It is noted on the assessment list for 1837, which was made in the fall of 1836, that the 256 acres that had been assessed to Swartzlander for several years were �transferred to Alexander Foster, Sr.,� of whose farm the western part of this tract was a portion included in his devises to his sons Christopher and William.
The first census taken after Sugar Creek was reduced to its present area was that of 1860, when its population was 1, 101/ in 1870, it was: Native, 969; foreign, 54. Its number of taxables in 1876 is 287. The assessment list made in the last-mentioned year shows the occupations of the inhabitants exclusive of the agricultural portion to have been: Laborers, 25; carpenters, 6; blacksmiths, 3; merchant, 1 - there were at least 3; miller, 1; shoemakers, 2.
1860. Number schools, 9; average number months taught, 4; male teachers, 9; average salaries per month, $20; male scholars, 196; female scholars, 163; average number attending school, 204; amount levied for school purposes, $884,88; cost of teaching each scholar per month, 56 cents; received from state appropriation, $143,35; from collectors, $520; cost of instruction, $720; fuel, etc., $90; cost of schoolhouse, $20.
1876. Number schools, 9; average number of months taught, 5; make teachers, 5; female teachers, 4; average number of salaries per month, both male and female, $30; male scholars, 143; female scholars, 129; average number attending school, 200; cost per month, $1.06; tax levied, $1,860; received from state appropriation, $227.85; from taxes, etc., $2,327.90; paid teachers, $1,350; fuel, etc., $771.75.
The people of this township voted on the license question, February 28, 1873, thus: Against granting licenses, 63; for licenses, 39.
Geological. The surface rocks in this township consist largely of the Lower Barrens. This is evident from the smooth condition of its upland farms. The lower productive rocks skirt the eastern edge of the township, and in the northeast corner, where the river touches the ferriferous limestone, are also above water-level for a short distance on Little Buffalo creek near Foster�s mills. The upper Freeport coal is small and unimportant in this section. Further west below the Catholic church it expands to four feet thick, and has its limestone underneath it.
Structure An anticlinal axis extends across the southeast corner of the township, so that, westward from this past Adams, the dip is to the northwest, which explains the absence of coal and the presence here of the Lower Barrens.
Source: Page(s) 201-213, History of Armstrong County, Pennsylvania by Robert Walker Smith, Esq. Chicago: Waterman, Watkins & Co., 1883.
Transcribed December 2000 by Linda Mockenhaupt for the Armstrong County Smith Project.
Contributed by Linda Mockenhaupt for use by the Armstrong County Genealogy Project (http://www.pa-roots.com/armstrong/)
Armstrong County Genealogy Project Notice:
These electronic pages cannot be reproduced in any format, for any presentation, without prior written permission.
Return to the Historical Index
Return to the Smith Project
Return to the Armstrong County Genealogy Project
(c) Armstrong County Genealogy Project
Return to the Armstrong County Genealogy Project
(c) Armstrong County Genealogy Project